I Thought We Weren’t Exchanging Gifts

I think every year Jeremy and I kind of tip toe around what we’re doing for Valentine’s Day.  Sometimes I think he fails to realize that all I really want is a heartfelt card.  However, every year he switches between getting me a really nice gift to nothing at all.  It can be tough to keep up.

This year, I really thought we weren’t exchanging gifts.  I was proven wrong when he had a package sent to my parents’ house.  I went back and forth trying to determine if he had spent a lot or just got something silly.  I figured it was something silly because of the current economic crisis everyone is in… so, I thought I’d just make a cake.  A vegan cake. 

Theresa sent me this recipe awhile ago when she saw an interesting article in the Baltimore Sun about favorite cake recipes.  This one not only appealed to me because it happened to be vegan, but the origin of the cake was pretty interesting as well.

It is commonly believed Wacky Cake may have been created as the result of rationing during World War II, when milk and eggs were scarce.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1/3 cup cooking oil
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup cold water
  • Mix dry ingredients in 9 x 9-inch pan. Make 3 holes; pour oil, vinegar and vanilla in separate holes. Pour water over all. Mix well with fork or hand mixer. Do not beat. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

    Now a picture montage:

    Valentine’s Day is the perfect excuse to use this ridiculously cheesy but super cute cake pan that I had to have.

    Mixing stuff in a strangely shaped and kind of shallow cake pan is not very easy.

    The instructions called for 3 different holes.  Hello, creepy face!  I was afraid that this cake was going to produce Rosemary’s Baby…

    Yum.

    While the cake baked, I looked in Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World cookbook for a good frosting.  I was going to use the Vegan Fluffy Buttercream frosting that I always use but thought this was a good opportunity to try something new.  I went for the Peanut Butter Frosting because seriously – who doesn’t love Peanut Butter & Chocolate?  If you don’t, you have no soul.

    So frickin’ good.  The downside?  I started the stupid p90x workout/diet so I can’t eat the rest of this cake!

    And if you’re wondering what Jeremy got me.  Let’s just say it was a lot nicer than the frickin’ wacky cake I baked him.

    4 Comments

    Filed under Uncategorized

    4 responses to “I Thought We Weren’t Exchanging Gifts

    1. That is a cute cake! I used V-day as an excuse to buy tiny heart cookie cutters.

      I love those types of things. I have heart shaped cookie cutters as well and never use them. But I always want stuff like that!

    2. Theresa

      we will gladly eat the remainder of your cake : )

      Please do! I will happily drop it off at your house.

    3. Oooh, Jeremy did good! The earrings are gorgeous. Your cake looks delicious so I’m sure he loved it :)

      Thank you! Yes, Jeremy did a really good job. I felt kind of bad although he keeps telling me I shouldn’t. Sometimes I love being a girl!

    4. Meredith

      Love the Tiffany earrings. I got the braclet last year for Christmas and the necklace this year…maybe we can swap so we can have the whole set…you can take the even days and I’ll have the odd.

      The pre-cooked cake is creepy looking but the end result looks fantastic!

      I like your idea of swapping so we can have the whole set. What days are good for you? :-)

    Leave a Reply

    