Switching it Up

So I’ve briefly mentioned that I’ve started the p90x “extreme home fitness” system.   Anybody that happens to catch infomercials ridiculously early in the morning may be familiar with this workout system.

Jeremy actually did this last year with good results.  I thought it was a bit ridiculous but I couldn’t deny the change in his soccer game.  He was faster, he had more endurance and he just seemed to have more energy altogether.

Since I’ve decided to make this year about physically punishing myself with a race every month, a couple of 10ks, a potential 10-mile race, a triathlon, a half marathon and maybe even a full marathon (this will all be for another post) – I thought it was time I changed my routine.

Holy hell.

I’m in Day 3 of this workout and I’m already sore, grumpy and may have hurt myself.  WTF?

The grumpiness is due to this diet.  It’s tough to go for a no-junk diet when you’re surrounded by magnificent Valentine’s day treats.  Stupid office with their stupid treats…

My daily diet now consists of:

Breakfast – 8am

  • 8 oz of soy milk
  • 8 oz of V8
  • 8 oz of egg whites (this was super tough on me… I hadn’t eaten eggs in quite some time)
  • 1 banana
  • coffee (okay – this technically isn’t allowed but I will fight someone if I don’t have my morning coffee.  I think for the sake of our marriage, Jeremy said I could have it.)

Snack – 10am

  • 1 scoop of whey protein powder in water.  Yuck.  Yum.

Lunch – 12pm

  • 1 veggie burger patty
  • 1 whole wheat bagel
  • 1 slice of vegan cheese
  • 1 apple
  • 1 orange

Snack – 3pm

  • protein bar (I went for a vegan/organic protein bar because I’m a yuppie.)

Dinner – 6pm

  • 6 oz tempeh or tofu.  I’m going with tempeh this week.
  • 2 cups of tightly packed spinach
  • 2 tbsp fat-free/light dressing (a delicious and organic dressing.  Seriously – can I be any more of a yuppie?)
  • 8 oz of plain soy yogurt

Snack – 8pm

  • 1 tbsp natural peanut butter with celery
  • or 2 oz of soy nuts

This is a lot of frickin’ food.  Not only that… the between times kill me.  I sit in a cube.  Surrounded by junk.  And I’m eating lots of liquidy fruit and drinking a ton of juice.

You figure it out.

So… I’m a wee bit grumpy.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Switching it Up

  1. eatsandtreats

    So are you eating the same meal everyday? That would blow. I would die.

    I can actually switch if up if I want. I just need to make sure I can a specific amount of protein, carbs and calories. But takes too much thought! This sucks.

  2. Yeah, I would be totally grumpy too! My friend’s cousin just put together a “meal plan” for her – and we’re both going to start it next week. It basically removes carbs from your diet for the first week or so, and I am NOT looking forward to that.

    I can’t wait to read about your adventures! We can commiserate together. :-)

  3. Dude I don’t know how you do it. i didn’t see a single thing on that list that I would ingest. Yuck.

    This isn’t fun. I better get some amazing results from this!

  4. Wow, that is a stringent plan! I just can’t seem to feel full unless I have a carb or starch in my meal. It’s bad, I know, but I don’t have the discipline!

    I’m struggling a bit with the low-carb aspect of this but it’s only for 30 days (the really low-carb part). This is starting to turn into a challenge of “can I survive?” :-)

  5. Wow. That’s impressive. I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    I was doing the 30-Day Shred and loving it until the intense ankle pain started. Now I’m backpacking on the treadmill instead and it seems to be helping. I think I’m going to start adding in the strength exercises from the Shred and use the treadmill as cardio. Jumping jacks suck monkey butt.

    I got some crazy ankle pain too… and maybe it was from the 30-day shred! I couldn’t figure out where it came from since it started slightly before the p90x workout. I thought I did something running! Now I think maybe it was from trying the 30-day shred…

  6. Meredith

    You are so hardcore. I didn’t even know what tempeh was and had to google it! I’m assuming this program also cuts out alcohol?

    Ha! I got familiar with tempeh when I went vegetarian. As for the program – technically I’m not supposed to have caffeine or alcohol. To that I say pfffffft. While I doubt I’ll be partying like its 1999, I will have a glass of wine if I want gosh darnit! :-)

  7. Beth

    Hey Kim, not to be “Johnny One-Upper”, but I beat you! My new diet is
    9 am- protein shake (all made with WATER-ew)
    11 am- protein shake
    1 pm- protein shake
    3 pm- protein shake
    5 pm- protein shake
    7 pm- 4 oz baked chicken and a low carb veggie “of choice” Like I would choose veggies!
    Stupid wedding!

    I totally want to eat a whole bag of Oreos. Should we sneak off together and chow down?!?!

    Holy crap, Beth – you really do have me beat! But just think of how frickin’ fabulous all of your wedding pictures will be. After your wedding, let’s totally pig out on Oreos. I’m not even joking! :-)

  8. Wow, that’s amazing. The thing I find when I eat better is that I crave the junk, but then when I cave and eat it, it’s never as good as I thought it was. And I always feel sick afterward.
    Coffee is good for you. It’s proven. Drink up, baby!

    That is so true about caving in… its never as good as you thought it would be and then you end up feeling guilty.
    And heck yeah about the coffee!

  9. Oh my god, that infomercial is fucking hilarious.

    I know! The actual DVDs are just as funny… but sadly, it seems to work. Next up for me and my new workout venture? Tony Little’s Gazelle.

  10. Can I just tell you how impressive this is? I’ve been telling myself I’ll do a triathalon for a couple of years…and my workout plans fail after one trip to the gym. Go ahead with your bad self. (I was going to say “You go, girl!”, but I’m pretty sure I can’t pull that off.)

    You can totally do it! I’m not kidding… if I can do it (or at least try to), ANYONE can do it! What is motivating me is the fact that Oprah Winfrey ran a marathon…

Leave a Reply

