Daily Archives: March 9, 2009

Week 4 of p90x and other things

I’m in week 4 of the p90x workout.  This means I’m in the “rest” week.  I’ve always associated rest with actually RESTING (call me crazy) but according to p90x, it means I’m doing a lot of stretching and cardio… just no strength workouts for the week. 

This morning was yoga.  Doing yoga in my living room vs. a room full of yogis is quite different.  Actually – doing yoga with Jeremy in our house vs. a room full of serious yogis is different in that we’re comfortable enough to fart (a lot) and I don’t really push myself as hard as I would with the serious yogis only because I don’t feel the need to impress Jeremy with my flexibility.  I mean – he already married me.  I’m done impressing.

Also – I asked Jeremy if my diet was going to change and he pointed out that I’m actually eating more carbs than I’m supposed to (because I’m still running outside of the p90x workout) so it looks like I’m sticking with it for another 30 days.  Yum.  [sarcasm]

I’ve actually gotten very used to it though.  Like I said – not having to worry about what I’m going to eat is kind of relieving.  But I still allow myself to stray on the weekends (in that I’m eating other things for dinner but am trying to stay within the guidelines of the diet).

I even displayed some amazing willpower at my nephew’s 1st birthday party.  I snacked on fruit & veggies for the most part.  The several rice krispie squares and handfuls of chex mix don’t count.  Hey – I was at a birthday party.

Side note – if you’re ever teetering on the idea of having a baby but are just not sure, attend a 1-year old’s birthday party.  Jeremy and I kind of stayed away from the swarms of children because quite frankly – they’re scary.  And they put a lot of things into their mouths.  Toy truck?  Yeah – it’s getting taste-tested.  Soccer ball?  Sure – it’s getting licked.  Babies and kids are cute – but I don’t think I can handle the idea of my kid licking everything on the ground just yet.  I’m pretty sure my head would explode.   I mean… I won’t even touch the door handles to a fast food restaurant.  Do you think I can handle the germ love-fest of kids’ toys?

Anywho – now that it’s March and the triathlon is a mere 5 months away, I’ve decided that I need to get over my fear of looking like an idiot in the pool and start swimming.  Smack linked to a fabulous blog of a girl training for the same triathlon and holy hell… I’m so far behind in training.  My thought was that I’d use the p90x workout to give me a baseline of strength and I’d go from there… as though this workout is going to transform me into a Lance Armstrong/Michael Phelps hybrid.  Don’t ask me about my thought process.  It made sense at the time.

The pool thing is a big issue for me.  I’m not really a swimmer.  I can swim but I’m not a swimmer.  I don’t want to doggie paddle or breast stroke for 0.62 miles but I don’t know how to “front crawl”  (apparently its the fastest style of swimming).  I can’t really afford to take lessons nor can I really afford to join a pool.

My graduate school has an indoor pool and lucky for me, access to this pool comes with the bajillion dollars I pay in tuition fees.  My problem?  I feel like a super turd.  Not being a swimmer makes the idea of going to an indoor pool where there are swimmers very very scary.  I need a crutch (a friend willing to look like a food with me) but sadly – I’m not really pals with anyone in my classes enough for me to say, “hey – wanna take a dip in the pool sometime?”  Kristin works at a gym with a pool and she said she can get me guest passes but I don’t want to abuse it.  Ugh.  How do I get over this fear?

Plus I need to get a swimmer’s bathing suit.  That means I’m going to look like a Chinese gymnast.  Why don’t they make those Speedo one-pieces with padding?  So not only will I look like a turd trying to swim, I’m going to look like an underaged asian olympian.  Oy.

Okay – I will get over this.  I am an adult.  I am in training.  I can do this… I can do this… I can do this.

So um… anyone wanna meet up with me and take a dip in the pool sometime?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized