Week 4 of p90x and other things

I’m in week 4 of the p90x workout.  This means I’m in the “rest” week.  I’ve always associated rest with actually RESTING (call me crazy) but according to p90x, it means I’m doing a lot of stretching and cardio… just no strength workouts for the week. 

This morning was yoga.  Doing yoga in my living room vs. a room full of yogis is quite different.  Actually – doing yoga with Jeremy in our house vs. a room full of serious yogis is different in that we’re comfortable enough to fart (a lot) and I don’t really push myself as hard as I would with the serious yogis only because I don’t feel the need to impress Jeremy with my flexibility.  I mean – he already married me.  I’m done impressing.

Also – I asked Jeremy if my diet was going to change and he pointed out that I’m actually eating more carbs than I’m supposed to (because I’m still running outside of the p90x workout) so it looks like I’m sticking with it for another 30 days.  Yum.  [sarcasm]

I’ve actually gotten very used to it though.  Like I said – not having to worry about what I’m going to eat is kind of relieving.  But I still allow myself to stray on the weekends (in that I’m eating other things for dinner but am trying to stay within the guidelines of the diet).

I even displayed some amazing willpower at my nephew’s 1st birthday party.  I snacked on fruit & veggies for the most part.  The several rice krispie squares and handfuls of chex mix don’t count.  Hey – I was at a birthday party.

Side note – if you’re ever teetering on the idea of having a baby but are just not sure, attend a 1-year old’s birthday party.  Jeremy and I kind of stayed away from the swarms of children because quite frankly – they’re scary.  And they put a lot of things into their mouths.  Toy truck?  Yeah – it’s getting taste-tested.  Soccer ball?  Sure – it’s getting licked.  Babies and kids are cute – but I don’t think I can handle the idea of my kid licking everything on the ground just yet.  I’m pretty sure my head would explode.   I mean… I won’t even touch the door handles to a fast food restaurant.  Do you think I can handle the germ love-fest of kids’ toys?

Anywho – now that it’s March and the triathlon is a mere 5 months away, I’ve decided that I need to get over my fear of looking like an idiot in the pool and start swimming.  Smack linked to a fabulous blog of a girl training for the same triathlon and holy hell… I’m so far behind in training.  My thought was that I’d use the p90x workout to give me a baseline of strength and I’d go from there… as though this workout is going to transform me into a Lance Armstrong/Michael Phelps hybrid.  Don’t ask me about my thought process.  It made sense at the time.

The pool thing is a big issue for me.  I’m not really a swimmer.  I can swim but I’m not a swimmer.  I don’t want to doggie paddle or breast stroke for 0.62 miles but I don’t know how to “front crawl”  (apparently its the fastest style of swimming).  I can’t really afford to take lessons nor can I really afford to join a pool.

My graduate school has an indoor pool and lucky for me, access to this pool comes with the bajillion dollars I pay in tuition fees.  My problem?  I feel like a super turd.  Not being a swimmer makes the idea of going to an indoor pool where there are swimmers very very scary.  I need a crutch (a friend willing to look like a food with me) but sadly – I’m not really pals with anyone in my classes enough for me to say, “hey – wanna take a dip in the pool sometime?”  Kristin works at a gym with a pool and she said she can get me guest passes but I don’t want to abuse it.  Ugh.  How do I get over this fear?

Plus I need to get a swimmer’s bathing suit.  That means I’m going to look like a Chinese gymnast.  Why don’t they make those Speedo one-pieces with padding?  So not only will I look like a turd trying to swim, I’m going to look like an underaged asian olympian.  Oy.

Okay – I will get over this.  I am an adult.  I am in training.  I can do this… I can do this… I can do this.

So um… anyone wanna meet up with me and take a dip in the pool sometime?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Week 4 of p90x and other things

  1. WWJD

    I was reading this while standing in line for lunch and burst out laughing…I love that you’re not ashamed of your gas, so many women bottle it up…I’m glad you can let loose :)

    Sorry I missed you guys Sat…I was POLLUTED!!!
    I was in bed by 11:00 :(

    I think if I bottled it up, I’d die. I’d honestly burst!! And I am very sorry I missed you on Saturday! You’re a party boy. I can’t keep up with you. :-)

  2. I have the same pool issues as you. Only, I never really learned how to swim, so I’m never 100% comfortable in the water. And I have this awful tendency of sucking water in through my nose and then nearly choking to death.

    Good luck!

    Your pool issues seem much more justified than mine. :-)

  3. I would totally meet you at the pool, but alas, I’m not in any shape to start serious training, and I’m also on the other side of the country. Kinda. But, I love to swim.

    Not interested in road-tripping it out to Baltimore just to hold my hand through this process? :-)

  4. Meredith

    Really I have nothing interesting to add…just wanted to say that you crack me up…esp the Chinese gymnast part. I almost had diet Pepsi coming out of my nose.

    It’s true, Meredith! Just take a gander at me in my running gear and you’ll get a pretty good idea of what I mean. See you Sunday!

  5. I would totally go with you if I lived nearby. I am not a good swimmer (although, I love love love to swim) and I have an orange patterned swimmer’s bathing suit that is so ugly, it would make anything you wore look like a million bucks in comparison. :) I say go for a really ugly one. They are all pretty bad, but if you go purposely ugly, you can just rock it b/c you’re cool like that.

    That’s a brilliant idea! Maybe some neon colors will distract others from my flat-chest!

  6. OMG! I want to do P90x too! I seriously almost bought it the other night….so…how many minutes a day does it take? Is it an hour? And how are you going to incorporate into triathlon training? This is my dilemma. I want to do both. I’m afraid my body won’t let me!

    I enjoy the p90x but I don’t know how it’s going to help me with the triathlon. My initial thought was that it would make me stronger. My husband did it last year and I noticed a change in his strength and endurance. However – I’m starting to question it. It’s only an hour a day. There is one workout (yoga) that is 90 minutes but it’s pretty easy to fit it into your day. I will say that keeping up cardio workouts (running) and the p90x workouts is wearing on my body…

  7. Theresa

    can i go to the pool if i don’t go to school there? i will go swimming with you — running is just too dangerous for me it seems ; )

    I’m sure you can go and maybe just pay a fee? Although I think it’s just manned by students and they probably don’t care. If you’re serious – I’m taking you up on your offer!!

  8. fragileworld

    I absolutely love your blog! and it looks like we have a couple of things in common…I’m doing both the mission 101 and P90X…but you are much further ahead on both of those than I am….I love your writing and humour! I hope you don’t mind if I link to your blog??? I’d love to keep checking in here.
    Tammy http://onmymission.wordpress.com/

    Not a prob. Thanks for the compliments! I will definitely be reading your blog to see how p90x is working out for you!

Leave a Reply

