Buzz Words

You know… with the increase in financial woes amongst the nation, I’m getting really irritated with slew of buzz words that have erupted.  You know the ones…

Staycation

Staying at home during your vacation instead of traveling to a pleasure destination. This can be caused by high gas prices, or just a shortage of money

And the one I loathe most…

Recessionista

A person who is able to remain stylish during times of economic hardship. A recessionista can shop on a limited budget and still manage to be up to date on the most current fashions. A recessionista does not let a bad economy, inflation, or a strong recession damage his or her wardrobe and opts to search for sales and shop at thrifty discount stores instead.

I’m not sure why “recessionista” irritates me so much… I think the straw that broke the camel’s back was a story featured on CNN this morning dubbing women “recessionistas” for opting to NOT spend $900 on a frickin’ haircut.  Really?

I hung out with Juli and Martin on Friday and one of the topics of conversation was the whole economic downturn and how it’s impacting us all.  One of the things that Juli noted (she’s a resident of Scotland) was that she was surprised by how little Americans save. 

It’s true!  The fact that high-end salons were even a NEWS STORY on CNN is ridiculous.  I don’t think it’s rocket science that if you’ve lost your job (or had a spouse lose their job) that you should cut back on spending.  While Jeremy and I are pretty frivolous at times, we’ve really reigned in our spending.  We’re not going out much.  We’re not eating out much.  And we put money away in savings as much as possible.  We’re trying to prep for the worst.

But seriously – recessionista?  A CNN news story?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Buzz Words

  1. Meredith

    I can’t even watch CNN anymore…they drive me crazy. Recessionista is just the dumbest term ever…and who the hell pays $900 for a haircut? If the media would stop all of their ‘doom and gloom’ reporting we might have a fighting chance of climbing out of this hole but they have everyone running scared and stuffing their money under their mattresses! I am constantly amazed at the number of adults with good jobs who live paycheck-to-paycheck and have no savings or retirement. It would make me entirely too nervous to live like that.

    It’s a vicious cycle… the media reports that we’re falling into a deep hole and people panic… only causing the deep hole to become deeper.

  2. Factor

    Don’t let fear grip you.

    It’s the fear of giving up my $900 haircut that is the hardest to let go. :-)

  3. Ugh! I hate “news” coined terms. Those two are particularly vile.

    I wonder what will be next? I’m trying to think of some clever ones but am coming up with nada.

  4. Ben

    The most annoying is “shovel-ready projects” that the “stimulus” is supposed to help. I find the parlance of our time to be quite obnoxious, by and large.

    You know, if CNN has time to think of words like “recessionista” and “staycation,” that must be great news because it means that the wars in Iraq, Afghanistan, and Israel/Gaza Strip are done being fought; they’ve quelled the warlord-driven violence and starvation in Somalia; the Russian rouble has stabilized as a currency; the USA is not in too much debt; and nobody will go to bed in the streets tonight anywhere in the world.

    Maybe mainstream news should focus more on how we’re being screwed under the monicker of “hope” and “change” and how our rights as American citizens are way more under siege now than the oft-loathed PATRIOT Act ever would have afforded.

    But no, let’s go for the vapid buzzwords and hopefully some story about whatever Hollywood starlet is banging the dudes from Good Charlotte this week.

    How do you really feel, Ben? :-)

  5. Wow – this is the first time I’ve ever heard “recessionista!” What an awful term!

    I’ve been trying to save more, but then, I’ve always tried to save. I get serious anxiety about having no money.

    Before getting married, I was a complete nut about keeping track of my finances but now I leave it all to Jeremy. However, I keep freaking out about not having enough income to last a few months if we get the ax at work. Money stresses me out!

  6. I HATE recessionista too. Also, I hate this economy. Even if the media exaggerates its terribleness, I’m sayin’ it’s pretty awful and stupid and worrisome.

    Ugh – I know! And I don’t see it getting better anytime soon.

  7. To say that Americans do not save is really misleading. Americans do not save a lot of money in the bank. However, Americans put a ton of money into IRA’s, 401(k)’s, and mutual funds. This is not included as savings by most economic calculations, but it’s certainly like putting money away for later.

    Second point – the ironic thing about everyone not spending money is that not spending money what is straining the economy. With no one buying anything, companies have to lay off workers because sales are way down. Nice little Catch-22.

    Eludius, I think you need to hang out with some of my friends. :-) But you’re right about the Catch-22. I can’t help but think of Fat Bastard… “I eat because I’m depressed… and I’m depressed because I eat.”

  8. [hanging head in shame] I like “staycation.” ;)

    Haha – I won’t hold it against you. :-)

Leave a Reply

