I Miss Childhood

Since I’m on a roll with complaining about turning 30 next year, it shouldn’t surprise anyone that this movie trailer got me choked up:

Where the Wild Things Are

I *loved* this book so much and there was something about seeing this on screen that just hit me a little too hard. I’m old. I will never feel this sort of magic and wonderment ever again.

It also helped a great deal that the music is from Arcade Fire and they just give me goosebumps everytime I hear their music.

Man – I’m really having a hard time accepting the fact that I’m about to turn 29… my last year in my twenties. I promise to pick up these posts. I’m starting to depress myself.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “I Miss Childhood

  1. Meredith

    30 only sounds scary but it’s actually quite a nice age. Don’t let it scare you so much, esp since you haven’t even hit 29. Just enjoy it!

    From a girl ‘in her 30’s’!!

    I know… I know… I’ll get over it… but I have a feeling that it’s going to take a LOOONG time for me to accept it.

  2. They’re making a movie about that book? Wow, not sure how I feel about that. I think it could be really cool… I just hope it is.

    I’m going to be 29 this year too. I’m actually more ok with 30 than 29. Something about even numbers I guess.

    I am a little worried about the movie adaptation of the book as well. I’m hoping for cool! I love the trailer but that doesn’t really mean much.

    You know – I agree that there is something about 29 that sounds terrible…

  3. Bill

    I cant wait to see your post when you turn 40… I am 42… remember how fast 29 years went? 40 years goes faster…

    Ack! I can’t think that far ahead. :-)

  4. If you don’t stop complaining about getting old I’m going to throw my bottle of Centrum Silver at you!

    Haha! Can you even throw a bottle that far, old man? :-)

  5. This looks like it is going to be a fantastic movie.

    It could be good… or very very very bad. I’m hoping for good.

  6. I finally watched the trailer. It TOTALLY choked me up. It looks awesome! I bet it won’t be bad. . . it’s Dave Eggers and Spike Jonze and Maurice Sendak’s book and Mark Ruffalo and Catherine Keener. . .

    I know what you mean about missing that sense of wonderment and imagination. It’s easy to get caught in the daily grind.

    Those are my thoughts about the movie (about it’s potential for being really good). And yes – I think if our 5 year old selves could see us now (or at least ME)…

  7. Awww I love that book! I am so looking forward to the movie… hope they don’t mess it up.

    I hope they don’t either! I’ll be writing a very mean letter to Spike Jonze.

Leave a Reply

