The Crazies

I’m in a bit of a funk.  Between hating work, procrastinating hardcore in school (despite having less than a week left in the semester) and just an overall feeling of poopiness… I still manage to take comfort in the crazies.

The crazies.  They are everywhere.  It never ceases to amaze me that crazy people surround me.  At work, at school, on TV (because my life is engrossed in TV) and in the news.  I just want to take a minute to talk about some of the crazies that highlighted my week.

1.  The crazy woman that was on my team project for my class.  This lady was truly bonkers.  Aside from taking a backseat to doing ANY of the project work by claiming to not be “technical” (I don’t think I need to point out the fact that we are pursuing a Masters in INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY.  While I cannot program shit, I do have a level of expertise that affords me the ability to get through the Masters IT program.  Crazy woman, perhaps you need to rethink your career), she tried to turn in what read like a Jerry Springer show recap to our professor as our “final project assessment”.  My favorite lines included, “We have some very strong and outspoken members in our group, who tended to monopolize the conversation and then there were others who spoke little” and “We deliberated as a group over the proper way to describe certain cuisine without offending anyone.  Apparently to some folks this can be a huge issue.”  That last line is directed to me because I thought it was “offensive” to have the song “Where has my little dog gone?” play when refencing a Chinese restaurant.  Man – I’m so uptight, aren’t I?

2.  Kelly on The Real Housewives of New York City.  A couple of episodes ago, there was a snippet of Kelly talking about how much she loved running while showing scenes of Kelly lightly jogging through the streets of NYC with her hair down and IN FRONT OF TAXIS.  Um, what?  I’m sure the taxis love you.  And let’s not pretend that you run.  Even so – that’s not even the craziest moment.   This scene made me want to punch her in the neck.  I am team Bethanny all the way.  I honestly think Kelly is insane. 

3.  Isaac Mizrahi.  I love him, I really do but he’s delusional to pretend that his new show (The Fashion Show) on Bravo is not a complete knock off of Project Runway.  I DVR’ed his appearance on Martha Stewart the other day (I told you that I love him) and was almost appalled that he tried to sell his show as though it was a new concept.  You could clearly see the elephant in the room!  Here’s the description of the show:

The Fashion Show premieres on Bravo on Thursday, May 7, 2009 at 10 p.m. ET/PT. Fifteen professional designers will compete in this fashion creative competition series for a chance to have their designs sold in the retail market and win a $125,000 prize.

Each week the designers will be put to the test and will have to face off in two challenges – the Harper’s Bazaar Mini Challenge, judged by the magazine’s Special Projects Director Laura Brown, and the elimination challenge. In the end, America will choose which contestant will have a clothing line available for retail and win the $125,000 prize.

You mean aspiring designers will all compete in weekly design challenges and then be eliminated one by one?  You don’t say!  What a novel concept. 

I’m still DVRing the show though.  This might be a total knockoff but I still love competition shows about fashion and Isaac Mizrahi.  Too bad Kelly Rowland was the best they could do.  She’s no Heidi!

4.  The a-hole at Whole Foods who copped a ‘tude with me when I tried to HELP HIM politely by telling him that he needed to hit the payment method on the touch screen in the checkout line for his credit card to register.  He stood in front of the card swiper huffing and puffing as though the machine would sense his annoyance instead of looking 2 inches to the left to see that he hadn’t selected the payment method.  God I’m such a bitch for pointing that out.

5.  My co-worker, whom I really really like, for thinking that I’m going to call a manager that was recently laid off.  What the hell do I have to say?  I didn’t know her well at all and I hardly call my own mother as it is.  Really?

That’s it for now… but oh there are so many more…

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

7 responses to “The Crazies

  1. OH, my god, thank you. You just reassured me that I am not myself crazy. Kelly is a crazy-ass bitch; thinks just because she was married to Gilles Bensimon that makes her someone important. And I was if anyone else had noticed that Bravo is now just recycling shows. It’s like they’re not even trying anymore.

    Bravo is definitely slipping with new show concepts. Hopefully they won’t start doing bachelor-type shows for washed up celebs a la Flavor of Love, Rock of Love, etc.

  2. Kelly is krazy! Love Bethany. :)

    I almost feel like crazy doesn’t even do her justice. She is clinically insane! Lock that woman up! I want the season finale to consist of Bethanny punching her!

  3. Meredith

    Any woman who invites you out and then proceeds to tell you how much they dislike you and how you are not friends is totally crazy! My whole motivation for going to the gym is to watch the housewives because I never watch at home!

    Haha! Watching that show is like watching a train wreck!

  4. I’ve never watched the Housewives show… sounds like I’m missing out on some great crazy!

    I hate people sometimes.

    You are missing out… although that is probably a GOOD thing! I think I may have actually gotten dumber just watching the show.

  5. Oh, and I think the dog song over the Chinese food is a bit inappropriate, too.

    THANK YOU!! I was accused of being “hypersensitive” when I said it to the group.

  6. I was at the store the other day and a woman barked. Like, actually barked. Like a dog. And I was the only one who seemed to notice. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels surrounded by crazies. :)

    Ha! It sounds like you’re surrounded by the fun crazies. :-)

  7. i can’t even talk about kelly without cringing. that scene of her running in NYC was ridiculous.

    She is crazy… batshit crazy.

Leave a Reply

