The Dog Whisperer Would Not Approve

Sometimes I feel like a bad dog owner.  This isn’t because I abuse them or ignore them.  This is because they still pee and poop in the house.

We adopted our dogs through the Dachshund Rescue of North America almost 4 years ago (and would do so again because we strongly support animal rescues).  When we adopted them, they were about 4 and 9 years old.  They were mostly potty trained but had some difficulty for the first few months (and I totally understood… they were in a completely new environment).

They’ve gotten much better but every so often, they’ll sneak off into a different room and pee or poop.  And they do it on the carpet!  We only have 2 carpeted rooms in the house (not including the basement) and they ALWAYS go on the carpet.  It drives me bonkers.

Anywho – the other night little Emily snuck out of the bed in the middle of the night.  And yes, we let them sleep in bed with us and I’m sure the Dog Whisperer wouldn’t approve of that but we just can’t help it.  So – she snuck off and being the ridiculously light sleeper that I am, I heard her.  I listened carefully to hear if she went down the stairs for a drink of water but she didn’t.  I got up and walked into the guest room and turned on the lights. 

Emily was crapping on the carpet.  I screamed, “EMILY!” to which she responded with one last squeeze of poop and then she scampered out of the room.  I was mad.  Not mad enough to grab her and rub her face in it (I don’t understand owners that do that) but mad enough that I wasn’t going to let her sleep in the comfort of MY bed!

I cleaned up the poop then scooped her out of bed and promptly put her in her kennel for the evening.

I was then plagued with dreams of her limbs falling off.  yes, HER LIMBS WERE FALLING OFF.  My dream was of her walking through a field and just randomly losing a leg.  Plop.  Leg on ground.  No blood.  Just a detached leg.  Then another.  Then another.  Clearly I felt guilty for not letting her sleep in bed even though she shit on my carpet.

When I woke up and went into the kitchen where the kennel is, she didn’t pop out of the covers in her kennel so I figured she was mad.  Jeremy called me at work to tell me that she had diarrhea in her kennel and was probably hiding from me in fear that I would yell (I hardly ever yell at the dogs).  He pointed out that I cruelly put her in her kennel to lay in her own shit when she was obviously sick.  UGH.  I still feel guilty even though I’m sure she has long forgotten.

Cesar Milan would definitely not approve.

6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

6 responses to “The Dog Whisperer Would Not Approve

  1. Nicole

    Ohhh Kim, this broke my heart! It’s amazing the guilt that these little guys can inspire in us… even when they don’t deserve it.

    My rescue Chihuahua mix, Bodie, was previously trained on a pee pad which has proved to be the absolute bane of my existence. It’s better than him going on the floor, I suppose, but I’d rather not have him go in the house anywhere – even if it’s on a pad. And in the almost 2 years since I found him, I CANNOT BREAK HIM OF THIS HABIT. If I pick up the pad, he’ll just go to the bathroom where it used to be or (worse) on a similar item – bathmat, welcome mat, etc.

    Moreover, those pads are expensive!!!

    And Buca (who I’ve had since she was a puppy – can’t blame this on anyone else) does what I call “I’ll show you – peeing”… ie – if she’s mad at me (short walk, long day at the office, being dog sat for a few days, too much rain for her liking) she’s walk up to me, look up at me, and pee right in front of me. Like she’s all “HERE’S WHAT I THINK ABOUT THAT, MOM…”

    Kills me.

    Anyway, when I have flashes of feeling like a bad dog owner, I try to remember that I love and care for these dogs with my whole heart, and that even though none of us are perfect in our roles, they are in much better circumstances than they’d been previously!

    We did the pee pad thing for awhile and had the same issues (and realized the problem right around Christmas when they were using the tree skirt as a pee pad). It’s tough! When I see other dogs that don’t have this problem, I feel like a bit of a failure.

    But you’re right! I try to keep things in perspective and focus on the fact that I love and care for them.

    P.S. that bit about your dog peeing in front of you made my day. I hate to say it because I’m sure it’s not fun but it just supports my theory that dogs can be very spiteful! :-)

  2. Can’t tell you how much better this post made me feel! I have a 3 year old Pug who I swear KNOWS where she’s supposed to go potty but in the middle of the night, she gets up and sneaks out to go somewhere in the house. Drives me absolutely out of my mind, and even worse, makes me feel like a total failure at raising dogs.

    I know it doesn’t make that much of a difference in my own ability to raise a dog, but it certainly makes me feel better knowing someone else who loves the crap out of their dogs (haha) goes through the same thing!

    And I’m with you – I know Cesar probably wouldn’t approve of most of what I do – but he also can’t see the face of my dog! Even she’d break Cesar (or at least that’s what I tell myself!)

    I feel better knowing other people have these same issues with their dogs! I’m feeling less like a failure. Thank you!

  3. Argo isn’t a rescue and Stella is, and it’s a whole different ball game. Stella has some major issues with being left alone or left out. She’s fine if we crate her and put Argo in the same room with her and leave, but we really can’t leave her at home by herself. She has to have Argo there. It’s hard to constantly put their needs and neuroses above our own frustrations and I don’t think anyone does a perfect job with it. I hope you don’t beat yourself up about it!

    I’m trying not to but it can get tough especially when I encounter really well behaved dogs. But like your dog, our dogs can’t be separated! There was a time when we needed to take just one to the vet and the other one FREAKED OUT. We now have to take both everywhere.

  4. So, it’s Sunday night, right? And Kyle and I are in the living room, and we’re getting a little frisky. And as we burst into our bedroom, butt-ass naked, ready to have some “Stephanie-Kyle Fun Time,” we were met with the pungent, and all-too familiar smell of a cat-piss soaked mattress. Yeah, that’s right, we were cock-blocked by our cat. Bitch.
    I guess what I’m trying to say is that I feel for you, and totally understand why you might want to dropkick a pet across the room.

    Ouch! And on the mattress too?! Not cool.

  5. Dude. Better that she have diarrhea in her kennel than on your carpet. Just sayin.

    That’s actually a very good point. It’s much easier to clean up the kennel than to scrub cream colored carpet.

  6. Kt

    My previous dog before Tessa was 12 years old and still would pee occasionally – it’s something to do with smaller dogs I think. When I moved to my own place and took her, I basically went back to the basics and took her out about every 1.5 hours when I was home to get her used to going outside. I did it for about 2 weeks and she never had a problem after that. OH – and I made sure to crate her when I wasn’t home – typically they won’t go potty in their beds (unless it was an emergency). I would just do a week or two of going back to the basics. But don’t beat yourself up! Our pups all have their own issues!

    Thanks! I’ll try it but now that the weather has gotten warmer, our neighbors all hang out in their backyards and TAUNT our dogs. I want to punch them.

Leave a Reply

