Cousin It

I haven’t cut my hair since December 2007.  You are reading that correctly.  It’s been almost a year and a half.  That’s just bananas.

Reasons for not cutting my hair:

1) I’m lazy.  Going to a salon takes time and effort.  Taking the time to “style” my hair every morning takes time and effort.  I love the freedom of pulling my hair into a clip, ponytail or bun.

2) I’m cheap.  Going to a salon costs moolah.

But I’ve reached a breaking point.  I was vacuuming the other day and noticed that the vacuum stopped working.  I flipped it over and saw so much hair stuck in the bristles of the vacuum that I think Cousin It would be envious.

I’m finding so much hair all over the house that I feel like it’s committing suicide.  Even it can’t stand to be this long.

So now what?  I’ve always gone between long hair and a short bob since high school.  I was thinking about going for the short bob but then realized that I know way too many girls with that haircut these days that I just can’t bring myself to do it (and to you gals reading this post now, your hair looks fab.  I just can’t have the same haircut as you).

I started googling hairstyles.  Thoughts?

Short-ish.  Cute.  I have long, side-swept bangs that I’d like to keep so this could work.

Okay, this is a bob but it’s a bob with bangs.  I’m almost embarrassed to admit I love Katie Holmes’ hair but it is so cute.  But would cutting my hair like Katie require me to become a scientologist?  Yikes.

I also love Nicole Ritchie’s hair.  And yes, this is almost exactly like the first picture – just styled differently.

Nicole – with shorter bangs!  Okay, clearly I’m sticking to a specific style of short-ish hair with long side-swept bangs. 

Jeremy pointed out that all of the hairstyles I’m drawn to are like the haircut I had when I was little:

meage3

mewithmom

I’m between 2-4 in the pictures above.  What can I say, it was a good haircut.

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

7 responses to “Cousin It

  1. I haven’t had my hair cut in almost a year. I had the shorter in the back, long in the front for a while and then everyone and their mother had it and I couldn’t cope. Can I just tell you that describing that cut made me want to type “business in the front, party in the back.” No, I did not have a mullet.

    I love the Nicole Richie do. Go for it. Is your hair long enough to donate it?

    I am totally cheap too. A girl in my office pays over $100 just for a cut. Seriously? I don’t pay more than $30.

    I think my hair could potentially be long enough to donate if I went with the Katie Holmes bob. I’m on the fence.
    And $100… for a haircut?!

  2. M

    Shortish cute one!

    I’m so torn!

  3. OH MY GOSH. I thought my vacuum was the only one that got stopped up with my hair!!! EVERY time I vacuum there are all these hairs of mine slowing it down and I have to clean it out. It’s so gross! AND, we have a “pet hair” vacuum – clearly there is an issue with this, as it does nothing to pick up my hair.

    Thing is – I get my hair cut rather frequently, so I’m not sure that’s why you’re finding it everywhere.

    I like the bob look. I think few people can pull it off, but you’re one of them!

    I pulled out the most monster hairball from my vacuum… it was insane! It looked like a small animal!!
    I love the bob – I just hate the maintenance. Oh what to do…

  4. Oh holy ass crackers, make your way to the nearest salon NOW! Nothing feels better than walking out of the salon with a fabulous new haircut. I just got mine cut on Thursday, and I’m loving it.
    I’d go with the Katie Holmes look. But for the love of god, stay the HELL away from Tom Cruise!

    Do you think the Katie bob will attract Tom Cruise-like guys? Ack!

  5. You only need 10-12 inches to donate. You could probably do so without going too short.

    I love the Katie Holmes do. So cute! What I would say is to make sure you can still get it in a ponytail. That’s the major haircut problem I had when I went super short.

    I hate getting my haircut too, but since I went blonde on impulse last year, I have to do something about the roots. But I put it off until I don’t want to leave the house. Seriously. It’s bad.

    And that’s why I don’t color my hair! I’m too lazy to keep up with the maintenance. :-)

  6. Go with the bob. I don’t think many people can pull that look off, and since you’re one of them, you kind of own it the rest of us.

    More people are telling me to go for the bob! I might have to…

  7. i vote for the bob, too. you have the face for it.

    and that last pic of you and your mama is so adorable…it made my heart melt :)

    Aw – thanks! It’s one of my absolute favorite pictures. As for the bob – lots of people want to go for it but I’m totally chickening out.

Leave a Reply

