Daily Archives: June 17, 2009

Blue Moon Cafe – A Review

As a reward (or motivator) for my 8-mile run on Saturday, Jeremy and I had breakfast at the famed Blue Moon Café in Fell’s Point.

bluemoon

I’m not sure if they were always ridiculously popular or if the fact that they were on an episode of Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives helped to catapult them to super stardom but cheese-n-rice, it’s really difficult to get a table here.

Off topic – does Guy Fieri annoy anyone else?  What is with that guy?  I just want to punch him. 

I think it’s his hair.  Or the fact that he sometimes wears his sunglasses on the back of his head.  Or that he eats with his hands when he’s in other people’s kitchens on the show and it just seems rude… and gross.  Oh and he has man jewelry… most notably a PINKY RING.

Back on topic – they were featured on the Food Network for the Cap’n Crunch french toast which looked like a heart attack mcfatty breakfast to me.  Still – I wanted to try this place because a lot of friends have dined here and loved it.  Plus – I wanted to say that I’ve eaten here!  I’ve driven by this place on countless Saturday mornings only to see large crowds waiting outside for a table.  I wanted to say that I’m one of the people that managed to eat here on a Saturday morning.

We thought that getting there around 9am would be okay.  I mean – it’s Saturday morning in Baltimore City.  Who the hell gets up that early? 

Plenty of people.

There wasn’t a huge crowd outside like I typically see but we still had to wait about 20 minutes for a table.  I used this time to stretch and change shirts because sweat was pouring off of me to the point where when I bent over slightly to stretch my hamstrings, I was BLINDED by the mixture of sweat and sunblock. 

They serve Bluebird Coffee  and it’s delicious.  I thought the waitstaff was friendly and they always refilled my coffee.  I actually lost track of the amount of coffee I was drinking after 3 refills.

We started off with a fresh fruit plate.  I forgot to take a picture but the plate consisted of blueberries, grapes, sliced cantaloupe, sliced oranges and some sliced ruby red grapefruit.

Jeremy contemplated getting a cinnamon roll but the fact that I wouldn’t split it with him swayed his decision.  Isn’t it amazing how we always feel a little less guilty in indulging if we split it with someone?  If Jeremy won’t split a dessert with me, I won’t get one.

I ordered the oatmeal & brown sugar pancakes.  I really wanted pancakes (I hadn’t had a pancake since starting the p90x back in February) and the idea of an oatmeal pancake intrigued me.

oatmealbrownsugarpancakes 

The pancakes were really good.  I’m not sure if it was because the pancakes themselves were just that amazing or the fact that I was craving pancakes and was finally eating them just made them that much more magical.  The “oatmeal & brown sugar” part of the pancake was just a topping.  Still good. 

I also got a side of their hashbrowns.  Their hashbrowns must be laced with crack-cocaine or meth because holy crap, they are f’n amazing.  I’m craving them now!  So creamy… and yet the top layer had a fantastic crunch.

Jeremy got the Heuvos Rancheros Santa Fe.  It was some meat (chorizo) and cheese concoction.  I don’t know.  He ate the whole thing though and that’s always a good sign.  He liked it a lot.  His farts smelled terrible afterwards.

HeuvosRancherosSanteFe

I would recommend this place to anyone but it’s about the size of a shoebox with poor air circulation.  We were lucky enough to be seated directly in front of the window a/c unit (perhaps that was done on purpose since I was sweating so profusely).  They offer a lot of offbeat breakfast menu items.  I think we’ll definitely be back but will be sure to get there at 7:30am.

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Eats