Getting in Touch with my Roots

One of my 101 items was to make a Korean dish.  I completely forgot about this item until Jeremy pointed out that I could cross a few things off.

I didn’t really plan this week’s meals very well since none of my CSA items matched up with what I was going to make.  So now I have a lot of random vegetables in my fridge.  And I’m going to Chicago.  And I know Jeremy won’t eat anything but pizza and chips while I’m away.  Would it be weird to pack them all as snacks for my plane ride?

Anywho – for those of you familiar with korean dishes, I made the oh so popular yachae mandoo (vegetarian dumplings).  I remembered helping my mom and aunt make these when I was a kid so I figured it wouldn’t be difficult.

Yeah, about that?

It’s not difficult per se, but it’s kind of labor intensive… and messy.  And when you’re trying to make other things to go along with said dumplings, it can lead to a mini emotional breakdown.  Just saying.


I hate using my bare hands to mix squishy things.  The mixture in yachae mandoo consists of tofu, onions, napa cabbage, bean sprouts, sweet potato noodles garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil and love.

Let me take a quick step back and chat about the trip to the asian market… the first trip I’ve ever taken sans mom so it was tough.  I think I looped the store 10 times to locate everything.  The good thing is that items such as napa cabbage (seriously – what the f?), bean sprouts and sweet potato noodles are all readily available at an asian grocery store.

So – mixing everything together was a snap.  Assembling it in the delicate mandoo wrappers was a pain in my ass.  The noodles were not chopped very well so they were to contain.  I was starving.  My hands were messy and the mixture was too watery since I didn’t drain anything before putting it together.

But the end result?  Delicious.

I also made some sauteed veggies with sesame oil and white rice (and by “I made” I really mean, “Jeremy made” because I was on the brink of a nervous breakdown).

Now I just need to expand my korean vocabulary beyond these words:
Hello
I Love You
Mom
Dad
Aunt
uncle
Grandmother
Thank You
Fat
Stupid
Son of a bitch
Let’s get out of here

While I think most of them are useful… it would probably make my mom really happy if I could actually string together a nice sentence or two.

**Update** As I was driving, I realized that there were a few more words that I know and I couldn’t rest without posting them.

Fart
Shit
Vagina

9 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Eats

9 responses to “Getting in Touch with my Roots

  1. Looks yummy! And congrats on diving into another new experience head-first and coming out victorious. Seriously, here’s your cape.

    Thanks! Although I’m pretty sure if I would have given them to my mom, she would have told me I did everything wrong.

  2. Meredith

    You can say, “I love you Mom”. Full sentence…lol.

    dumplings look yummy!

    I pull out “I love you Mom” quite often actually. :-)

  3. Theresa

    you forgot one of the words you know — pon goo (i think that’s how one would spell it)

    As I was driving, I realized that I forgot to mention that word and the word for vagina. I’ll update my post!

  4. It LOOKS delicious and yummy and totally worth it!

    Thanks!

  5. I laughed until I had a little coughing fit over here over your vocab list. :) I particularly liked that you know “I love you” and “son of a bitch”.

    Dude. That food looks amazing. I might show up at your door tomorrow. I hope you have leftovers.

    I think using the phrase, “I love you, son of a bitch” may come in handy one day.

    And yes, I do have some leftovers!

  6. That looks so delicious! And what is it with Asian dishes and them being so tedious to make? My mom and I make Vietnamese spring rolls and they take freaking forever but they are so worth the effort.

    Thanks! and tell me about it. I think it has to do with their tiny little hands or something. :-)

  7. You are so funny!

    The dumplings look so good. But I totally know that nervous breakdown feeling that goes along with complicated recipes (especially when you go into it w/o realizing how complicated its going to be).

    My childhood memory of assembling the dumplings vs actually doing them as an adult definitely did not coincide. :-)

  8. Lindsay

    I can teach you how to say buttface and butt nostril. very useful.
    now just master bebimbap and kimchi and i’ll come over every night for dinner!! :)

    Butt face and butt nostil? Haha!

  9. maria

    haha! i know how to say the 3 updated words in tagalog (filipino), too! oh, and i also know how to say armpit. i love that “let’s get out of here” is the only full sentence you know. so awesome.

    That sentence is VERY helpful sometimes… well, only if you know what I’m saying! :-)

Leave a Reply

