Daily Archives: July 15, 2009

Indian Giver?

Sorry for the racial slur but I couldn’t think of a better title for this post since it is about potentially taking back an offer I had given.

Faithful readers, I need your opinion.  Here’s the scoop.

One of my 101 in 1001 items is to donate my wedding dress.  I never planned on preserving it or turning it into something different (I’ve heard everything from a christening gown to crib sheets).

I found a charity (Brides Against Breast Cancer) and thought it was a great organization (especially since my Grandmother passed away from Breast Cancer a few years ago).  I printed off all of the information and forms I’d need to fill out and then…

I didn’t do anything.

The dress has been hanging on a closet door for the last 2 years.  I did get a chance to wear it again for a Trash the Dress session so technically I took it off the closet door at least once in that 2 year timespan.  I’d also like to note that I’ve never had it cleaned (even after jumping in a water fountain). 

My good friend’s younger brother is getting married next year.  He and his fiancee are footing the bill for their wedding (and I can totally relate) so they’re trying to do everything on the cheap.

The fiancee is my height and approximately my build although I think she is probably thinner than I was at the time of my wedding.  So – I offered her my wedding dress.  I mentioned that I was planning on donating it and if she’s interested, she could come try it on and have it.

She’s coming over on Friday to try it on.

Now here’s the situation.  After telling this to my old roommate (and nicest person in the world) – she was astonished that I’d just give my dress to someone.  I told her about my tiny home and how Jeremy is getting more annoyed than ever that it’s been hanging around our house like a ghost.  But then she pointed out a very important factor. 

This dress was NOT cheap.  Now I’m not trying to get all, “I spent a lot of money on my dress” on you guys but I’m just telling the truth.  I had a few splurges with my wedding and the dress was one of them.  If I was planning on donating it to a recognized charity – I’d get a tax break.  If I give it to someone else, I won’t get that tax break.

Now my question is – how crappy would it be if I asked for my dress back?  I’d still let the fiancee wear it for her wedding but I would ask that she return it once she is done with it.

Crappy?  I’m getting some mixed responses but mostly in the, “it’s not crappy at all.  You are letting her wear your dress!” but Jeremy thinks it is a little crappy of me to ask for it back (although he did note that the tax break would be very helpful and needed).

What do you think?

10 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles