Romper Room

Remember that romper I purchased back in April?  The one I just HAD to have for the summer?

Well, it is now mid-July and I have yet to get the balls to wear it.  After discussing my love of this romper and my wimpiness about wearing it, I’ve decided to just go for it.  I think it took reassurance from some friends (and chatting with other fabulously chic romper-wearers) that I won’t look like a complete idiot.

This weekend is Artscape in Baltimore.  I love Artscape.   It is a very cool,  free festival showcasing local artists, crafters and musicians.  They usually have a few headliners performing.  On Saturday, Cake will be there (the band not the food, although I’m sure cake will be available somewhere).  I don’t remember the last time they had a hit so I hope their performance consists of my favorites and not a bunch of “new” stuff that people don’t really know.  I hate when musicians do that.  Just play the stuff I like.  Geez. 

And did I mention that there is funnel cake?  I’d go to the ends of the world for funnel cake.  And this time I’m talking about the food and not some new musical act.  Although that would be a brilliant band name.

Now back the point of this post…

I think I’ll wear my romper at Artscape.  My debut in my summer must-have outfit amongst the artsy fartsy bunch seems a bit more appropriate than the grocery store because how can I be looked down upon when there is an art car parade?

I originally purchased the black romper with a cute pair of black wedge sandals.

But then I saw these and fell in love:

The black wedge sandals are about 4 inches in height.  I’m already 5’8″.  I’d sort of feel like a giant Lolita. 

The shoes pictured above are flat… and cute (or hideous depending upon your taste). 

However, do I really need another pair of shoes?  I just threw out several pairs of Jeremy’s shoes so I could make room for MY shoes.

What to do.

I’m also on a mission to complete as many items on my 101 list that I can since my 1001 days are up in April. 

I managed to scrapbook ONE page of my wedding album yesterday.  I’ve decided that I’m not a great crafter and that what I really just need to do is glue pictures onto paper. 

I’m going golfing on my birthday.  Don’t laugh.  It is either going to go really well or it will end with Jeremy vowing to never go golfing with me again. 

I’m going to try to purchase a reasonably priced piece of art at Artscape.

That is 3 in one week.  Now does someone want to take me out in their helicopter?  Thanks.

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Plays, Charm City Kim Shops

4 responses to “Romper Room

  1. Meredith

    Dionne Warwick is also at Artscape. Such an eclectic line up! I want to go see Cake tomorrow barring any torrential downpour.

    As for the sandals, not my thing but for twenty bucks I think you can justify the purchase. And anyways, don’t guys only need three pairs of shoes…a pair of sneakers, brown dress shoes and black dress shoes? I guess you could allow him a pair of flip flops as well…they don’t take up much space!

    How could I neglect to mention Dionne! Maybe she’ll bring some of her psychic friends!

    That’s what I figured about the shoes. $20 for a super trendy thing isn’t terrible. As for Jeremy – you’d be surprised by the number of shoes he has (although nowhere near the amount that I have). :-)

  2. I really like those sandals. For you. I have an ankle/calf proportion situation that would make a mockery of those sandals.

    I think I’m going to take the plunge and buy them.

    And I think everyone has an issue from their body that prevents them from certain trends. I have to avoid wrap dresses (most of them time) because my top never balances with my bottom. Yarg!

  3. smack

    wear your damn romper. You have the body for it. I put rompers on and I look like pear in a tiny tiny sausage casing. I’m saying, put. it. on.

    and pictures.

    Point taken! Done but I didn’t take pics.

  4. Balls to the wall, darlin’, balls to the wall! Keep your head high, and feel free to look down your nose for good measure.

    Haha – I did!

Leave a Reply

