Blah Yarg Phlthhhh

That’s about how I’m feeling these days.  Tomorrow is my birthday.  This is the first birthday where I just don’t give a crap and would like to spend the day hiding in a hole with my phone shut off.  Instead I’ll be golfing (weather permitting) and running around feeling sorry for myself for turning 29 and complaining about my aches, my checking account and how everything around me keeps breaking.

Some fun examples of annoying things that have broken in the last 2 days:

- My contact lens.  I’m down to my last one and it’s already got a small knick in it.  For anyone that wears contacts, you will understand that this means my contact is not sitting flush against my eye so everything is slightly blurred.  Now I need to figure out when I’m going to make it to the eye doc before my vacation.  It looks like I’ll be going on my birthday.  Whoo.

- My bathroom drawer.  The bottom of the drawer fell out.  This means my boxes of tampons, cotton balls, random bathroom products and junk are all on my bathroom floor.  I did not clean it up this morning which means I’ll get to come home after a long day of work to crap on my bathroom floor.

- My computer.  Is it possible to hate my computer?  It has had some issues for the past year but it just keeps getting worse.  God forbid I try to upload pictures while also looking at something on the internet or plug in my iPod simultaneously to charge.  It just freezes.  So I have pictures.  Lots of them.  Pictures of home projects, deliciously cooked food and Artscape.  Notice that I’m not posting any of said pictures.

- My beloved purse.  Holes abound.  No money for a new equally awesome replacement purse.

- My shoes.  The heel broke on my shoes yesterday.  Fun.

Maybe if I were in a better mood, I wouldn’t even notice this crap.

Also in an unrelated (but perhaps related) topic, I find myself often wondering how I am related to my family.  Seriously.  Did I not just go through the pains of planning a wedding (yeah yeah – it was over 2 years ago but I still feel the pain!)?  My constant cries to my mom of frustrations with family members NOT RSVPing or RSVPing and then NOT EVEN BOTHERING TO SHOW UP DESPITE THE FACT THAT I HAD ALREADY PAID FOR THEIR STUPID FOOD?  You’d think she’d have this etiquette crap burned into her brain.

So why is it that my mom thinks it is appropriate to cancel at the last minute on my friend’s wedding this Saturday? 

How are we related? 

Onto another unrelated (and really unrelated) topic, my friend (whose wedding is on Saturday)’s grandmother passed away last week.  The funeral service was last night.  My friend’s grandmother was 92 years old and I have nothing but fond memories of her that include playing Cranium at Christmas and sleeping over her house and digging through her deep freezer to locate the oldest food product (she had things that had expired 10 years prior).  The service was nice but the best part came in the form of friends sharing their memories of Eleanor.  A few made me cry but one man had me scratching my head and then cringing when he rambled on about his granddaughter crawling and then quickly tried to bring it back to the topic by saying, “I guess what I’m trying to say is that when God takes away our friends, he replaces them with something better.”  Ouch.

It was also great to see a lot of people I hadn’t seen in a number of years but this only brought out the social awkwardness that is me and seeing people I don’t keep in touch with.  Conversations feel forced and I find myself asking questions that I know the answers to, repeating things like, “You’re a mom!” and just saying things that have nothing to do with what we’re talking about such as this lovely exchange:

Person: Kim – you look great!
Me:  Thanks!  You do too.  I don’t know why I have my purse with me.

Awkward.

At least Jeremy got a good laugh.

5 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

5 responses to “Blah Yarg Phlthhhh

  1. Meredith

    Screw golfing tomorrow…I think you need to go out and get stupid drunk…it will help you forget about all the stuff that’s broken and your checking account balance and remind you of the good ‘ole days when you were footloose and carefree. That is until the next morning when you wake up and remember you can’t drink like you did back then. :-)

    Seriously, it’s just a number. Don’t let it stress you out like this. You can still pass for 23 any day of the week!

    Haha – thanks Meredith. I wish I could go out and drink and be carefree but I’m pretty sure it would take me SEVERAL days to recover! It sucks getting old! :-)

  2. I’ve had the knick in the contact thing happen to me as I was heading out the door to go on vacation. I called my eye doc and they had me stop into the office. They gave me one that they would give you to try and send you home in to see how they work for you to tide me over until I returned from vaca.

    But man, wearing it with a nick in it…OUCH!

    Glad the dress thing turned out to be an easy transaction. I figure if a person is borrowing a dress or buying someone else’s dress, it isn’t something they will treasure and keep forever anyway.

    That’s what I’m hoping for with the eye doc. I just need a trial pair to get me through vacation!

  3. Happy birthday! I’ll be 29 in about five months, so you’ll have to tell me how it is.

    Thanks! And so far it is pretty blah.

  4. Happy birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I hate that contact lens thing. Sounds like you’re just having an off week – maybe your birthday will make it all better!

    So far the birthday isn’t really changing the week for me. :-(

  5. I think you’ve touched on something here. When I was a kid, I always thought that since my birthday is in a spring month, (March,) my birthday should be a lovely, warm spring day. Usually, it snowed. We always hope that special days will be nice and magical, when really it’s just another day in the world that we’ve placed our own significance on.
    But happy birthday, anyway.

    That is so true! My birthday was spent running errands.

Leave a Reply

