An Uphill Battle

Last week was my first “official” week in my marathon training plan.   The 3 mile runs are pretty easy and it makes me feel great to know that I have reached a point in my life where running 3 consecutive miles doesn’t make me want to die.

However, that 6 mile run last Saturday?  It was a bit tough.  It was ridiculously sunny (well, as ridiculous as the sun can be).  I didn’t have my “waterboy” (instead – he decided to run with me only to crap out because he desperately needed to replace his running shoes and therefore couldn’t take the excruciating knee pain) and well, I discovered that my Nike+ has been shortchanging me this entire time.

That Garmin forerunner watch?  A-maz-ing.  Once I reached 6 miles (according to the watch), I hit the playback on my iPod only to be horrified to hear it say that I ran 6.67 miles.  Maybe that’s why the 10-miler wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be.

I still run with both gadgets though because I like to pit them against each other as though it is a contest.  I trust the Garmin’s results more than the Nike+ so my running has basically turned into a game of “how far off will my Nike+ be today?”

However, running with the iPod strapped to my arm, the Nike+, the Garmin watch and the heartstrap as well as the Spibelt holding my cell phone (in case of emergencies) makes me feel like the frickin’ Bionic Woman.  It is strange to be hooked up to so many different things yet I can’t imagine letting go of any of them.  Leaving the house without my cell phone actually sends me into a panic.  And yet – if an unknown number calls me, I won’t answer it.  I want to be able to call people whenever I want to… not have them call me whenever THEY want to.

Anywho.

I’ve been running in some extreme heat and humidity this week.  While 3 miles is still quite doable – the idea of running the 7 miles that I need to tomorrow fills me with dread.  And then I look at the training guide and see that the following weekend, I’ll be running 9… and then at some point, I’ll run 20.  20.  That is more than 3 hours of consecutive running.  I don’t even think I can SHOP that long without some sort of coffee, snack and pee break (all in that order).  I feel like I am about to embark upon an uphill battle.

And yet – it just feels so cool to say that I am training for a marathon.

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

4 responses to “An Uphill Battle

  1. taraSG

    It’s really cool that you’re training for a marathon! I want to start training for another half but I don’t think I have it in me to ever run a full lol.

    I know what you mean about feeling all wired up during a run. I’m super jealous of your forerunner. For now I’m just using a Nike+ and a heart-rate monitor. (I wish Nike+ would incorporate a HRM…)

    Good luck with your training!!

    I highly recommend the forerunner!

  2. Wow. You go on vacation to the Outer Banks and the first post you put up is about running???

    Haha! I know, I know. But a vacation was NOT going to get in the way of my training.

  3. At least you have convenient means of strapping all your fancy gadgets to your body; I just shove them all down my cleavage.
    I know it’s going to be hard, but I think I speak for all you loyal followers when I say that we have faith in your. Keep kicking ass, lady!

    At least you HAVE cleavage! :-) And thank you!

  4. Stacy

    Brings back the memories! I remember running the 18 mile run – it was probably the biggest accomplishment I had ever made! (I’d say the whole marathon was but I didn’t make it that far! I woke up the morning after the 18 miler with a fractured shin!)

    Keep running earlier in the am to beat the heat!

    And maybe for your second marathon…I’ll join you – if my legs will make it!

    You made it to 18 miles?!

    I remember you hurting yourself… and I am so scared of that happening to me. But I will definitely hold you to running a marathon together (if I’m up for it!) :-)

Leave a Reply

