Boring Flickr Pics

I take a lot of random and somewhat boring pictures and post them to my Flickr account.  I wonder what strangers think of my photostream.  Gee – this girl takes a lot of pictures of food and appliances… and of her frickin’ dogs.

Like I mentioned previously – I take these random and boring photos with the intent to blog about them but inevitably forget.  The ones that generally go the longest without mention are all of my food photos.  I had intended to post all of my recipes and whatnot because I’m a vegetarian and love to showcase that being a vegetarian doesn’t mean I eat boring and gross food (well… at least not all the time).  But I kind of stopped doing that mostly because I stopped cooking from any of my vegan cookbooks.  I don’t know what stopped me.  I was on such a roll… cooking a new recipe every Sunday.  But I just got tired of it.

Anywho.  Now I bring you pictures of food with brief descriptions.

I made this the other day with some of the CSA vegetables from Saturday’s pickup: zucchini and red onions.  Inspired by the “Vegan with a Vengeance” pizza sauce recipe, I used whole plum tomatoes, oregano, salt & pepper with the zucchini and red onions to make a homemade pasta sauce concoction.  I was proud of myself for doing this because I didn’t consult a recipe once. 

I realize that most people don’t need to consult a recipe everytime they cook but you have no idea how far I’ve come in terms of cooking.  Even Jeremy had to comment that I would not have been able to make such a dish (without a lot of help from him) 4 years ago… and probably not even 2 years ago. 

I’d also like to introduce everyone to my new best friend:

Mr. Ice Cream maker, blogosphere.  Blogosphere, Mr. Ice Cream Maker.

Mr. Ice Cream maker, blogosphere. Blogosphere, Mr. Ice Cream Maker.

I have always said that I’m a vegetarian who dips her toe into the vegan pool because I have not fully embraced the vegan diet.  For the last year or so, I’ve slowly started to cut things out of my diet (and life) to get me more in line with the vegan lifestyle.  One of the biggest challenges for me was cutting out ice cream.  I f’n love ice cream.  I would bathe in ice cream if it wouldn’t leave me so sticky.

So I looked up vegan ice cream recipes and found a ton.  I picked up my new best friend and experimented with my first vegan ice cream recipe: Strawberry ice cream.

First you need frozen strawberries.

Then you throw the frozen strawberries into the next best appliance (Mr. Blender).

Then you blend the frozen strawberries with sugar and soy milk.  It looks like a nice smoothie (and probably would have made for a good one).

I forgot to take a picture of the end result but it was good.  The consistency is different than regular store bought ice cream but I think that would have been the case with any ice cream made with that machine (their little instruction manual says so). 

Will this completely convert me?  I don’t know.  I need to step up my ice cream making and concoct the perfect chocolate and peanut butter vegan ice cream recipe and then I’ll let you guys know.

Last food photo of the day.  I’ve become obsessed with green monster drinks lately.  Since I’ve started my whole running/triathlon/marathon training kick, I’ve stumbled across a ton of great blogs dedicated to healthy living, exercising, etc.  Most of these bloggers raved about “green monsters” so I finally thought I’d give one a shot. 

I went to the green monster site and picked out the Blueberry-Banana recipe.  It calls for spinach, blueberries, 1 banana and milk.  easy peasy.  And delicious.

I also scooped in some AmazingGrass powder (for some extra nutrients).  I drank this drink almost every day last week.  It is surprisingly refreshing (I never thought spinach would be refreshing) and gave me a nice boost of energy.  I’m going to try to drink some before my 9 mile run tomorrow to see what that will do.

I’ve entered the part in my marathon training where I’m going to start experimenting with “fuel”.  A friend shared her Clif Bar Shot Bloks with me last week and I really enjoyed it (probably because it was like candy…).  I’m going to pick up some more today to see how it will impact my run.  Hopefully I won’t crap my pants.

I’m probably going to post a few more times today because I feel like I have a lot of things to write about.  Okay, not really but I do want to chat about my jury duty experience and my first exotic dance workout class.

2 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Eats

2 responses to “Boring Flickr Pics

  1. i loveeeeee green monsters with amazing grass! thats my go to drink too and it IS so refreshing :) love it

    Agreed!

  2. I think my favorite part is that your super-girl awesome energy drink was served in a PBR glass. Sweet, sweet irony.

    I’m glad you noticed! I wasn’t sure I should have pointed out the irony of my choice of glassware. You can’t go wrong with PBR.

Leave a Reply

