My Iron Girl Experience

What can I say about my experience?  I’ll try to keep this relatively brief.  I went into the triathlon completely naive to what it really takes to complete a swim, bike and run.  I really thought that my running would carry me through the event. 

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The morning of the race, we woke up at 4am.  All of the meetings stressed the importance of getting there as soon as possible (gates opened at 5am).  I packed my stuff the night before based on suggestions from the meetings (extra water bottles to rinse my feet, lots of towels, energy foods, etc).

I didn’t eat much the morning of – I had a banana and a bagel with peanut butter.  I drank lots of water.  I went to the bathroom 100 times.

When I got to my bike (I had racked it the night before), I realized that the tires were low.  I didn’t know how to pump them (the bike wasn’t mine).  I start to panic a little.  Some ladies around me agree that my bike needs air badly and point me in the direction of the bike assistance folks.  THANK GOD.  They pump my tires and I got there before the line became insane.

I am body marked.  Butterflies are fluttering in my stomach.  Either that or my intestines were freaking out.

Time FLIES by in the morning.  Before I know it, the Pro/Elite swim wave begins (and it has been delayed 25 minutes). 

This picture doesn’t do them justice.  These women were ripped.  Insane. 

My in-laws came shortly thereafter and we watched as the first pro/elite triathlete finishes her swim.  It hadn’t even been 15 minutes.

At this time, I also realize that my trisuit happens to be really popular.  I see it EVERYWHERE. 

I keep staring at women’s calves to see who is in my age group.  I am often intimidated, sometimes relieved but always nervous.

By the time I line up for my swim, I want to puke. 

The swim was an in water start.  I was in the middle of the pack and knew that as a courtesy I should stay towards the back of the swimmers since I’m not a strong swimmer.  I didn’t realize that I’d be treading water for 3 f’n minutes. 

My concerns about the swim were getting worse.  The turnaround point looked like it was a million miles away.  Then the countdown began.  5… 4… 3… 2… 1… GO!

I take a few strokes…

and then I freak the fuck out. 

I was paralyzed with this fear of drowning.  I could hardly move.  The idea of putting my head under water makes me feel like I’m drowning.

But could I quit now?  I just started!

So I ended up side stroking and back stroking about 90% of the entire swim.  Ridiculous.  I try the breast stroke a few times only to realize that putting my head under water AT ALL causes immense fear and anxiety.

I am nearly the last person in my wave to exit.  It took me 36:16 to complete the swim.  Other women I knew that competed beat me by at least 10 minutes or more.  WTF.

I was so relieved to finish.  But I was NOT prepared for how awful my body would feel going from the water to my bike.

There were a TON of great supporters along the way that got me going.  Hearing my family cheer me on (I couldn’t believe I could hear them!) really pushed me to go go go!

Trying to rinse my feet off from grass and dirt, then dry them enough to put socks on was no easy task.  Neither was trying to FIND the damn bike.  I had gone to great lengths to memorize where my bike was but was so out of it by the time the swim ended that I wandered around for a minute… and was apparently always near the bike.  My transition time was 5:20.  Reeee-diculous.

And I’m off!

I was slightly relieved to be sitting but was a bit discouraged to see a ton of women ENTERING the park after completing their ride.  I was so far behind.

And now enter the part where I begin to loathe Columbia, Maryland.  Who knew there were so many STEEP hills?  I definitely made up for some lost time during the ride and managed to pass quite a few people. 

All along the way, I was amazed at the fantastic support from spectators and other racers.  Everyone had words of encouragement.  It really helped.

But by the end of the ride, I could feel every rock and bump in the road in my butt.  I’m almost crying in pain.

But despite my pain, I managed to muster a dorky smile for my family.  Seriously – their cheers really lifted my spirits and gave me the boost I needed.  Plus it made me realize that they were watching me.  I couldn’t quit or admit pain at this point.

I finished the bike in 1:21:07.  Not too shabby.

My transition from the bike to run is 2:50.  Seriously – what the hell was I doing?  Other women finished their transitions in under 2 minutes.  Was I having a picnic?  Geez…

Then the run. 

I was NOT prepared for how my legs would feel.  I felt like gumby.  My brain was telling my legs to move but my legs were thinking, “go fuck yourself”.  I am crying inside as I take each step…

But then I see Jeremy.  He was like a ninja with the camera.  Him calling my name picked up my spirits and the fact that he was photographing this part made me not want to look like a complete douche and keep running.

This is when I see Smack!  Crap – more people are watching me.  I have to keep moving!

Factor was also cheering me on.  His sister and cousin were also competing and were incidentally in my swim wave!  I’m sure they beat the crap out of me though.  Did I mention that I almost DIED in the swim?

Hi, Guys!

So, even though I ran 10 miles the week of… and I had been running 3-5 miles at least 3 times a week for the last month… didn’t mean that I’d be able to run after a long bike ride.

Also at this point, families are walking along the path leaving the park.  I’m not surrounded by other runners (and that is what usually gets me going in races).  The competitors near me are all walking.  I jog about 1/2 mile and realize that I just.can’t.do.it.  I start to walk.  I pick it up to a power walk.  I decide to walk up every hill and run the rest.

I finished the run in 35:44.  Not great but not terrible.

Towards the end of the run, the path was surrounded by spectators and Iron Girls.  They were so encouraging.  Every race bib had the racer’s name printed largely enough for others to read so each cheer was personalized.  “Kim – you’re almost there!”  “Kim – you’ve got this… you can do it!” 

As dorky as this sounds – it was awesome.  It was motivating.  It was fabulous.

And I’m so glad that its over.

My overall finish time was 2:41:14.  I really wanted to finish in 2:30.  Maybe next year?  Who knows. 

But I’m glad I didn’t quit.

17 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

17 responses to “My Iron Girl Experience

  1. Kt

    Congrats! So proud that you pushed through and finished! And me and Ian’s family will be there cheering you on in a few months.

    I’m going to be honest – I am VERY concerned about the marathon. I feel like I’m entering into these crazy events thinking I can do these things. UGH. Maybe I’m worried because I’m sick… but I am excited to there will be people at the marathon that I know!

  2. congrats! thats so awesome! i am totally inspired and love the pics!

    You could TOTALLY do a triathlon! Now that you’re in Philly – you should look into SheRox!

  3. taraSG

    That is amazing!! Congrats :)

    Thank you!

  4. Congratulations on finishing! What a great accomplishment!

    Thank you! I’m trying to feel proud of just finishing instead of obsessing over my time.

  5. Meredith

    Kim you should be so proud of accomplishing something that most of us won’t even dare to attempt in our lifetime. You are in inspiration! See you in Philly (on the sidelines with a cheesesteak but I’ll be there no less!)

    Well thank you! And are you really coming to Philly?! That’s really exciting!

  6. Rock on girl. Maybe it didn’t go quite how you hoped, but damn, you did it! I’m so impressed.

    Well thank you. I am now completely convinced that if I can finish a triathlon, anyone can.

  7. sjmonk5

    YAH!!!! Awesome job…I’m so proud of you!

    Aw – thanks. stacy – I think you could totally do Iron Girl.

  8. Kim is it bad that I started tearing up like a proud parent when I saw your pictures? SOrry. It’s that time of month and I’m a bit emotional. LMAO I am so proud of you!

    You so have to do it next year! This feet you got your feet wet (literally) and next year it will be the official takeover! (Smile)

    So what was the fastest time? Just curious

    Aaaawww! Thanks, CAG! That is so sweet. My brother told me the same thing (and he is NOT a crier). I’ll have to figure out what I want to do. At this point, I just want to concentrate on finishing that marathon! So we shall see.

    The fastest time was: 1:29:13

  9. Factor

    Good work! I was yelling for you too, but you were probably too sweaty to see us. Also, Columbia, MD is awesome. (ps, it’s the wrong Smack link:))
    :)

    Thanks! I remember seeing you right after the bike. I think I may have mumbled, “oh god…” You may have been the only person witnessing me in lots and lots of pain! How did your sister and cousin do? If I knew your sister, I would have looked out for her!

    And thanks for the heads up on the link. Updating now…

  10. I think it is fan -fucking- tastic that you even did it. I remember even my first 5k where I thought it was hell. Then it kept getting easier and smoother each time I did it, so what the hell? Sign up for another one!

    Thank you! And you know – I have that same viewpoint about 5ks. I was so scared of my first one and now I think they’re easy. Maybe I will sign up for another triathlon!

  11. Dude, I am so impressed. I am not even kidding. You wanted to die, but you did it!!! If I lived around there I would come cheer you on!
    PS: You would totally finish in 2:30 next year…you were nearly that this year and you know so much more now that you’ve done one, that everything will seem easier and you’ll be more prepared.

    I definitely learned a lot of things that I wished I would have known beforehand… so you’re very right. I am very close to talking myself into signing up for next year! I have another 3 months to think it over. :-)

  12. wow you did it ! it’s amazing what you have accomplished! and it was in columbia, thats my hometown! :) congrats girl, so happy and proud of you!

    Thanks!

  13. Congratulations! What an accomplishment. The fact that you finished is awesome and inspiring to me!

    I highly recommend this triathlon to every woman!

  14. Your recap so makes me want to do one! Except I am the worst swimmer ever…I won’t drown but I can’t swim a stroke! You’re so inspiring :) Great job!

    You should totally give it a try! I’m sure you’d do great. If I can survive the swim, I think anyone can (unless you really cannot swim).

  15. Chiming in super late, but I’m so very proud of you, Kim!!! I’m tired just reading your recap! :)

    Thank you!

  16. Julia

    I absolutley loved reading this! Let’s me know what I’m in for this August when I do my first triathlon at the Iron Girl event! I love the pictures too! Congratulations on completing it!!

    Thank you and best of luck at your event!

  17. Pingback: Reflection of my 20s Part 2 « Charm City Kim

Leave a Reply

