The Question Women Generally Don’t Want to be Asked

Lots of random things that could probably stand on their own but my short attention span and inability to write eloquent or witty posts has forced me to pull everything together in a single mangled entry fit for a hyperactive person.

1.  I’m officially in the halfway point of my marathon training.  I even said the phrase, “Oh – I only have to run 10 miles on Saturday” last week.  Only ten miles.  Holy shit – I never thought I’d see the day where 10 miles seems like an achievable and not painful thing to do. 

This past Saturday was the Baltimore Marathon supported course run where a 20 mile and 10 mile course was mapped and set up with water/nutrition stops along the way.  It was crazy hilly and some parts of the course ran through areas of the city that I generally see on the news (when someone is shot). 

I had some knee pain starting on Wednesday after my 7 mile run.  I thought that I probably needed new shoes but didn’t have an opportunity to pick up a pair Friday night before the 10 miler.  I took precautions and iced my knee for a few days, took some ibuprofen and even wore my knee sleeve.  I felt good through the run and realized at one point that my pace had increased about 30 seconds faster than my normal pace.  I didn’t want to die.  My legs weren’t exhausted.  However, after 8.5 miles – I felt like someone punched me in the knee.  I may have even whimpers.  I ended up doing a walk/jog for the remaining mileage but still managed to complete the course 1 minute faster than my 10-miler race time in June.

2.  Jeremy still annoys me with his endurance.  He hasn’t run a long distance SINCE the Baltimore 10-miler in June due to some IT band issues but decided after lots of physical therapy that he’d give this run a shot.  He still finished 20 minutes ahead of me, ran a more difficult course (he took a wrong turn and hit some steep hills towards the end) and felt that his run was “so slow”.

3.  We ran the Fort McHenry Tunnel Run 5k on Sunday.  I thought I’d keep pace with Meredith but holy crap – that girl is fast.  My “keeping pace” with her meant that I’d trail her by 2 minutes.  Oh well.  I managed to average a 9:27 min/mile pace.

And running through a tunnel isn’t fun.  It was hot as balls in there.  Jeremy reported feeling claustrophobic about a mile into the tunnel.  I didn’t feel claustrophic.  In fact, the tunnel seemed much larger running through it than when I drive through it.  I just couldn’t get over the stagnant, humid air. 

4.  The graduate school that I attend generally gets high marks for their IT program.  They’re usually identified as a “hot school” or ranked pretty decently against other universities.  This should make me feel good about being in the program, right?  No, it doesn’t.  I can’t get over the number of idiots in my classes.  Or the number of pompous douchebags that just like to hear their own voices.

I gave a presentation last week on a study of incorporating “social search” technologies into basic search programs (like Google) and someone asked me how I thought this would impact stalking.  Yes, you read that right.  HOW DID I THINK THIS WOULD IMPACT STALKING?  What.the.f.  I looked at the guy, blinked a few times and then said, “um – well stalking is generally done alone.  I don’t think people collaborate with their friends and colleagues to aid them in stalking.  Sir – are you a stalker?”  God, I hope not because if he is – I’m pretty sure I’m going to end up stabbed one day after class.

5.  And last but not least I was asked the dreaded question yesterday by a co-worker.  “Are you pregnant?”  I gasped.  My soul died a little.  I am not pregnant.  In fact, I’ve been running my ass off for the last 9 weeks.  Am I pregnant?!  Upon the look of horror on my face, the woman said, “You’re just normally so skinny.  Your dress is just poufing a lot.”  POUFING?! 

The funny thing is (well as funny as being asked if you are with child when you are NOT) is the dress is actually the smallest size dress I own.  When I tried it on and looked at the tag, I actually felt a moment of triumph.  I did a happy dance.  And now I view it as a maternity dress.  Awe-some.

I should have taken a photo of me wearing it and posted it.  It is not a babydoll dress or anything like that.  Sweet Jesus – who asks that question?  I thought we, as a society, were trained to never ask a woman that question unless you see the baby crowning out of her vag.  Or if she is wearing a “bun in the oven” shirt.

11 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

11 responses to “The Question Women Generally Don’t Want to be Asked

  1. I had a similar experience just last week: http://myrunshorts.com/2009/09/18/cups-and-cakes/

    Rule #1 – don’t ask if you aren’t sure.

    p.s. Love you event a month countdown. I’m all about challenges like that.

    Oh no! Seriously – I just thought it was an unspoken rule that you just don’t ask. Oy!

    And thanks. The event a month keeps me motivated.

  2. Kt

    Ugh – that is the WORST question. I’ve been asked that a few times over the past year thanks to my lovely weight gain – and every time I feel a mixture of wanting to punch the person and wanting to burst into tears all at the same time. Fun times.

    And you absolutely do not look pregnant.

    What is wrong with people?! I mean, I really just thought everyone knew better than to ask.

    If we are together and someone asks one of us if we’re pregnant, I will punch them in the face.

    And thank you.

  3. LOL@the”are you pregnant” question. As someone who has been pregnant and truly still has a giant gut, I would still be horrified.

    I wouldn’t think much of it. Some people have no class.

    You are running like a monster, yet you are still trying to keep up. Ha! So now when I am running a 12-minute mile and trying to keep up with the 11-minute mile people, I won’t feel bad. Guess we all just want to be better.

    I think that’s so true. I think I should just be happy covering the mileage I’m covering yet for some short distances, I really try to push myself and usually fail. :-)

  4. For real. There needs to be contractions and breaking water before I’ll even think to ask if there’s a baby on board.

    I know!

  5. Meredith

    Yay me! :-) Really the only reason I had such a good time was my overwhelming desire to get the eff out of that damn tunnel. I was in dire need of fresh air.

    Isn’t that an unwritten female law, that you do not mention the ‘p’ word unless you are 99% certain? I had someone in a bar ask me that one and I said no but I plan on throwing this shirt away the second I get home!

    Ha! I’m so torn about that dress. I love it so much. I refuse to throw it away!

  6. Who. The fuck. Asks that? One time my friend said to a waitress, who was clearly pregnant, “when are you due?” And she answered because she was so clearly pregnant. But I was like “Amber! I can’t believe you asked her that! What if she wasn’t?”

    Amber said that once your a mom you just know when other people are pregnant, and I called bullshit. You NEVER know for sure, and even if you think you know, shut your mouth. Always. What a dumb dumb question.

    Right? And I totally disagree about that. My mom asked a friend of mine if she was pregnant and she was NOT. Yikes. Luckily my friend knows that my mom lacks a filter and pointed out she was wearing one of her old maternity shirts. But still.

  7. No! You can’t ask if someone is pregnant! That’s terrible!

    And there’s no way you did look pregnant. She must have an eye condition.

    Thank you. I told a co-worker who thought that the person was just being mean.

    I really need to post a picture of me in that dress.

  8. lol 10 miles! I can’t get up to a mile in a whole summer. I suck. I want to be a runner, I just need someone next to me so I can have this silent little competetion in my head where I can’t allow myself to look like a big weenie in front of said person. Sadly, that person does not exist in my life. I admire your determination and hard work!

    Pregnant?! Someone seriously asked that? Yeesh!

    Believe me, if I can do it… ANYONE can do it. This is coming from a girl who once faked an asthma attack to get out of running 2 miles. :-)

  9. Z

    Oh, the dreaded baby question. GAH!

    But as for the running – AWESOME! And I agree with the other commenters, what with all that running, I’m sure you look amazing, and she was just jealous :)

    Thank you!

  10. Who DOES that? Seriously, you’ve got to be 9 months pregnant and rubbing your belly every 3 minutes before I’ll ask.
    Also? Never. Ever. Underestimate the number of douche bags at any given educational institution. You could go to a community college in the middle of the forest it North Dakota, and there would still be three douche bags sitting in the campus coffee shop comparing the asshole apps on their iPhones.

    I think there are probably douchebags everywhere. Its just a given. While sometimes I think my city is full of them, I’m sure there is an equally amount at any other city. Its unfortunate and entertaining all at once.

  11. Pingback: Fashion Bump Watch – September 8, 2010 « Charm City Kim

Leave a Reply

