Paranoid?

Around 11:30pm last night, Jeremy hopped out of bed in a frenzy.  The dogs were barking wildly and I was sitting in bed thinking, “What the f…?  Am I dreaming?”

I couldn’t tell if Jeremy had opened the front door or what.  It got eerily silent for a minute only to be followed by our storm door opening and another man’s voice. 

My first thought was that a neighbor was bothering us but I couldn’t tell what was being said.  But then I heard the word “detective” and was instantly transported into an epsidode of Law & Order.

Dum-Dum (the Law & Order sound… I have no idea how to spell it)

I heard some other mumblings like, “Your house was given to us…”, “Do you know [insert names I never heard before]“. 

I came downstairs and saw 2 police detectives.  One of them apologized for waking me up (I must have looked ROUGH) and proceeded to show Jeremy pictures of people.  Jeremy said he didn’t recognize a woman but the man in the photo looked familiar.

I looked at the photo and instantly recognized the man.  He was 2 doors down from us and I saw him that day staring me down when I was getting out of my car.

We pointed them to that house and shut the door.

Now I’m concerned.  Detectives indicate something serious, right?  This isn’t some domestic disturbance or 911 phone call.  This is an investigation.  Is this couple like a modern day Bonnie & Clyde?  Did I just set myself up to become a victim?!

I’m sort of freaking out.  I’m sure I’m being a little paranoid here but some things that are freaky are:

- I had never seen that dude before until yesterday and now detectives are looking for him?  Scary dude stared me down.

- The detectives didn’t accidentally get our house number wrong.  Jeremy said the detectives had notes about our house number and the color of our door.  Why would someone give them this information?  Are we being targeted for something?

I am freaking out.  Anyone want to sleep over with a shotgun?  Anyone own a taser?  All I have is pepper spray…

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

8 responses to “Paranoid?

  1. You need to call your local precinct to follow up. Ask them for more information and ask them if you need to provide any more information. There is no reason to be left in the dark about this.

    Are you sure you don’t want to just sleepover? :-) Good call though – I don’t know why I didn’t think of that.

  2. Kt

    That would totally freak me out! And why were the detectives there that late?!

    Right?! Ugh… do you and Ian want to sleep over tonight?

  3. Meredith

    That’s unsettling. I agree with the others. Definitely call and get more information. If the police are knocking on your door in the middle of the night, I’d be asking a lot of questions.

    I don’t have a taser but I have an alarm system and you’re more than welcome to my couch!

    Can you just call the police and ask? This is so not like a TV show right now. What would Law & Order do?

    And I might take you up on that!

  4. Wow! I don’t think you are being paranoid at all. That is seriously creepy.

    It is just another reason I hate my neighbors.

  5. Kt

    No I don’t think we want to sleep over there – but you and J and Petie and Emily are welcome to come join us. Or you may borrow Tessa for the night – she might scare them off :)

    Well what I didn’t announce to the blogosphere was that Jeremy was in Boston last night for work. I was alone! But I survived. :-)

  6. Oh hell no!! Kim you know my number so you call me if you need me! I have a lifetime ‘hood pass’ i.e. If those piss poor detectives don’t provide any additional info that gives you a peace of mind, I have my own methods! Hmph! I got your back girl. (Smile)

    On a lighter note, why are you so damn funny? I could stop laughing after reading you L&O sound effect comment…lol.. Hilarity!

    Ha! I didn’t even think about that! You should have slept over!! :-)

  7. UGH! That is super scary and you are not being paranoid.
    I would say call your local police precinct and ask for the police reports from your block. You might not be able to get information that is under investigation, but police reports are covered under the Freedom of Information Act and you are entitled to see them if you ask.
    And if the detectives come knockin’ at midnight again, I guess there are two things: insist they give you at least some information, and at least feel good that someone’s on whatever sketchiness is going down.
    If you lived here or I lived there I would let you sleep over!!! Or you could stay with my dad. He would beat them up.

    Good point that I can potentially take comfort in knowing that the police are sort of on top of whatever criminal activity may be occurring…

  8. No, but I highly suggest that you take to sitting in a lawn chair in the front yard with a sawed-off shotgun. Just in case Creepers McSketchypants gets any ideas.

    I like that idea! and having a lawn chair in front of my house would actually blend in with some of my neighbor’s decor.

Leave a Reply

