Daily Archives: October 2, 2009

Injured Reserved

First I’d like to announce that I have not become a victim of neighborhood crime just yet.  And now that Jeremy is back, I feel comfortable in saying that I was freaking out so much because Jeremy was in Boston for work (and that rarely happens).  It just figured that he’d be out of town the day after come crazy criminal activity.

Wait – what am I saying?  We live in Baltimore.  Someone was just shot at the nudie bar that is 1/2 mile from our house.   Crazy criminal activity happens all the time.

Aaanywho… I don’t know if I have the nerve to call up my local police precinct to find out the details.  Many of you said I should and I even got some advice from a pal’s ex-cop co-worker who said the same thing.  We’ll see. 

What I really want to talk about is the fact that I am currently not running.  If you follow my tweets, you’ll know that I’ve been nursing a knee injury since last weekend.  And by knee injury, its really just my IT band that is inflamed and causing lots of pain in my knee when I try to run, walk up and down stairs or I assume any sort of impactful activity.  Walking has been okay.

It started last week.  Actually – my knee had been feeling a little stiff as the training continued.  Last week, after my 7 mile run – I felt particularly sore.  I could still walk though.  As the day wore on, my hip started to hurt very badly and I worried that it was a stress fracture.  Still – I tried to run 4 miles the next day with lots of pain 2 miles in.  You’d think that would have stopped me from attempting the 15 mile training run on Saturday but it didn’t.  I’m a bit stubborn.

I managed to run 10 miles in dull pain only to then experience the sheer pain of being stabbed in my knee.  Or at least what I imagine being stabbed in the knee must feel like because I was in some serious pain.  Still.  I needed to cover the distance so I walked another 4 miles.  But then I couldn’t really walk the rest of the day.  Or the following day.

Before you ask, no I have not been to a doctor.  This is all self-diagnosed.  Yes, I probably should go to a doctor but you know what?  I don’t want to.  Jeremy had these same symptoms a few months ago and all he was prescribed was some ice, ibuprofen and a few PT exercises (actually, quite a few PT sessions at $20 a pop).  Oh and no running for a long time. 

I don’t have a long time.  In fact, this week off of running is killing me.  I’m in a funk.  I’m depressed.  I’m worried that this is setting me back from being ready for the marathon in time.

I also want to point out that the fact that I’ve actually decided to rest instead of running through lots of pain says a lot about me.  I normally push myself through pain because I’m convinced that by stopping, I’ll lose all motivation to workout and all my endurance will go out the window.

Anywho.  One of the blogs I read posted some PT exercises with a foam roller.  The timing couldn’t have been more perfect and we actually have a foam roller from Jeremy’s PT.

I’ve been using the foam roller religiously.  Well, as religiously as a heathen can be.

While it isn’t exactly a pleasurable experience, my knee feels like new afterwards and lasts for awhile.

I ice my knee.

I’ve been taken ibuprofen (as much as I hate it).

I was really hoping that I’d be better in a week but with the Baltimore Half Marathon next Saturday (10/10), I really shouldn’t push myself next week.  I’m skipping my 16 mile training run tomorrow and I’m upset about it.  I’m also probably going to skip running all week next week (4 miles, 8 miles and 4 miles) just to be sure that I can do the Baltimore Half marathon on Saturday.

I was hoping to finish the half marathon in under 2:20 but now I just hope to finish without crying from pain.

The only good news with skipping my 16 mile training run tomorrow is that now I can actually have a drink (or two or ten…) at Amy and Eric’s wedding this evening.  (Congrats to the couple!)  My only fear now is that I’ll drink lots, think my knee is brand new and try one of my many awesome dance moves (that contributed to me straining a back muscle).  Oy.

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs