Pee Diddy

Sorry – no video of Jeremy trying to catch Emily’s pee.  The Wednesday night, I decided that I should probably help Jeremy with the pee catching task since I leave the house much earlier than he does so helping him Thursday wouldn’t have been an option.

It was dark so I took a flashlight.  Jeremy took a ladle.

As Emily would walk onto the grass and start to sniff (signs that she’s getting ready to go) – Jeremy would step closer to her with ladle in hand.

And it always freaked her out.  She’s sniff, start to squat and Jeremy would step closer and she’d jump and run away.

I told Jeremy he had to catch her once she was peeing and then just said something like, “Give me the damn ladle.”

About a minute later, Em squated and I quickly moved the ladle under her “stream” and caught her pee. 

Success!

Jeremy help out the little tupperware container and I poured Em’s pee into it.  Jeremy gagged the entire time.  (Really?  You pick up their poop but their pee makees you gag? Amateur.)

At this point, I declared while waving my arms that “I am the PEE MASTER!”.  I also forgot that I had a ladle that had just caught urine.

Wouldn’t you know – I flung Em’s pee all over myself.

Whatev – I’m still the pee master.  Or Pee Diddy as a co-worker so cleverly stated.

We picked Emily and Petie up last night and it was heartbreaking.  Jeremy got the call that Petie needed to have 4 teeth pulled, not just the one we had anticipated.  Jeremy got another call later stating that Petie came out of the anesthesia quickly and was very alert.  All good signs for a 12 year old dog.

When we picked them up, they were shaking badly.  They had adorable little Halloween handkerchiefs around their necks but that didn’t mask their horribly swollen mouths and tear soaked faces.

And yes – my dogs were crying.  I don’t mean whimpering.  I mean tears were rolling out of their eyes.  Okay – I’m exaggerating but Petie had a giant tear come out of his eye and Em’s eyes were completely soaked.  Can you guess what happened next?  Yes, I cried. 

I’m going to be the weeniest mother.

Aanywho – the vet said that they could only have soft food and that we weren’t allowed to let them chew on any toys (common sense).  She warned that they may bleed but not to freak out (unless it is gushing but she said that probably won’t happen).

After paying the $2,150 bill (another heartbreaking moment for me) – we left.  Em and Petie whimpered the entire way home.  The whimpered when we got home.  And Emily cried off and on all night.

Jeremy worked from home today to make sure the dogs are okay.  He called me at work to let me know that Petie had apparently bled on our sheets.  Not terribly… but enough to make my heart sink a little more.

So there you have it.  They’re okay albeit mad at us for putting them through the torture.  I tried to take a picture of them to show how swollen their mouths were but they started to cry so we stopped.  They don’t really like getting their picture taken in general so I’m sure after having endured a traumatizing day – the last thing they needed was a giant camera in their faces.

Because of that, I’m going to post cute pictures of them…

My babies.

5 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

5 responses to “Pee Diddy

  1. This whole thing is so sad! The poor puppies, the expensive bill, the flinging pee. :(

    I know! Although I’m hoping for a fast recovery. While the dogs didn’t showcase their new mouth, on the chart of Petie’s teeth (given to us by the vet) – it appears he’ll have a giant gap in his mouth. I hope the gap is cute and not pitiful.

  2. mainlyclearskies

    Poor pups! And poor mom! Hope they heal well – and quickly!

    Thank you!

  3. Jen

    Ugh, poor doggies! My dog had a small front bottom tooth removed because it was loose, and I cried when I saw her. It’s so hard to see them suffer, and they probably can’t get pain meds, right? I hope they heal up soon.

    It is SO tough because there’s nothing you can do. But they did get pain meds!

  4. Corinne Bowen

    So sorry to hear about your pup!

    I’m also a Charm City vegan and a friend of Al:) I love the pic of you and your husband on your About page!

    Its nice to meet (or get a comment from) a charm city vegan! And thanks!

  5. See, this is why I’m never having kids. Pets are plenty expensive. (And they don’t talk back. Though they do pee on the bed. Though I guess kids do that, too.) Still not having kids.

    Seriously! Jeremy looked at me and said, “and you wanted a third dog?!” We’re not even talking about kids here…

Leave a Reply

