Nerd

As I’ve said many times… this is my LAST semester in graduate school.  Hallelujah! 

So far – I’ve managed to maintain a 4.0 GPA.  I’m kind of impressed with myself since I still feel like a total phoney when it comes to the field of Information Technology.  I’m also impressed because I have dealt with turds in just about every class I’ve taken that threaten my sanity and my patience.

I didn’t think the 4.0 GPA was a big deal because honestly – it hasn’t been that difficult.  However, in chatting with some other students this semester – I’ve realized that apparently not everyone gets straight A’s.  Who knew?

I’ve recently been getting tons of e-mails from my school inviting me to corporate visibility days.  The e-mails all start with the same message in the beginning that state something like, “Congratulations!  [Corporation] has identified you as a student they’d like to meet at their upcoming Corporate Visibility Day at [school].”

I really thought just about everyone got that.  Apparently not.

I also recently received an invitation to join some national honor society.  The invitation stated, “You worked hard to be in the top 15% of your university class, and hard work should have its rewards.  Because of your academic excellence, you are invited to join the world’s premier collegiate honor society…”.

Up until that point, I really didn’t give a shit about my GPA.  I just wanted to pass my classes and get reimbursed for my tuition. 

But now?  Now I want to graduate with a 4.0.  The competitive nature in me has set in and I want to be amongst the top students in my class.  Will this get me anything?  Nope.  But dammit, I want it.

I recently got a 74% on a mid-term and found myself freaking out over it.  When did I care?  Honestly – I can get two C’s this semester and STILL graduate.  Shouldn’t I be slacking? 

That C got my ass in gear and I’ve been studying, taking control in my groups when I need to  and talking to my professors about my grades.  When did I become such a nerd?

5 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

5 responses to “Nerd

  1. Stacy

    Hahaha I love your competitiveness!

    I think I need a life!

  2. Kt

    Dork. No, but that is awesome!

    I really am – but thank you! :-)

  3. That’s awesome!!

    Thanks!

  4. I was the same way. Sort of. I didn’t quite have a 4.0, but I wanted to do well. I kept saying “Oh it doesn’t matter, I just need to pass.” But really I couldn’t accept anything less than an A-.

    Which really, other than getting into an honor’s society, it did me no good.

    I’m glad I’m not alone.

  5. I graduated with my BA with a 3.97. Never thought about it at all until I went to take a class pass fail and wrote that the lowest grade I would accept was an A-. The registrar looked at my GPA and said, “An A- will mess up your whole GPA.” I was a neurotic grade freak after that. It’s funny how stuff like that can set you off.

    3.97? That is impressive!

Leave a Reply

