Follow Me During My Marathon!

Inspired by Lauren‘s post to follow her during the Philly marathon (she’s another Baltimore blogger that’s running Philly… although she’ll be running it MUCH faster than I am), I thought I’d share the same information with my faithful readers.

The Philadelphia Marathon is offering something called F.U.N. Runner Tracking:

This exciting feature allows friends and family who are not running to track their favorite runners on the course and receive split times and finish information instantly via pager, text message or e-mail. Check back on our website closer to race day and sign up for F.U.N. Runner tracking.

If you’re interested in checking out my split times (or just to make sure I finished the damn marathon) – my bib number is 8920.  I laughed out loud when I saw that I originally predicted that I’d finish the marathon between 4:16-4:30 because as of right now, I’m sure I’ll be posting a 6+ hour finish time.

But to the haters of my slow-pokiness, I challenge you to physically exert yourself for over 6 hours.  When you’re done, we’ll talk about how awful your legs feel and how you’d love nothing more than an ICE bath and to poop (but not at the same time because who wants to sit in a tub with poop?).  Thankyouverymuch.

I will have my cell phone with me (mostly in case of an emergency or in case I can’t find Jeremy at the finish line)  and am contemplating tweeting during my run.  I should probably focus more on the fact that I’m participating in my FIRST marathon. 

Running a marathon was something that I never dreamed would be possiblein my life.  Although I am ill-prepared due to injury – I am still going to go for it and give it everything I’ve got.  I will leave my heart on that course.  Perhaps tweeting isn’t wise.  But if you have my number – feel free to send me encouraging messages!  :-)

My awesomely amazing marathon friend sent me this bit of advice:

Have good mental attitude and just try to relax which I know sounds crazy. A lot of things will be going through your head and sometimes I feel like on race day as you cross the start line everything kind of settles and you can just enjoy your run.  
Remember your mental capability is stronger than your physical.
That’s my goal.  To finish and to just enjoy the fact that I’m doing something I once deemed impossible.

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

7 responses to “Follow Me During My Marathon!

  1. Wishing you happy feet on Sunday! You’ve been battling injury and that is a free pass to enjoy your first marathon without stress over time and the constant checking of your splits. I say leave the watch at home and soak in every minute of this once-in-a-lifetime experience (you only have one first!). I had a great marathon experience in Philly last year – I hope you have the same. Can’t wait to here how it goes, either via tweets or your race report.

    That’s a great idea. I was contemplating taking my watch but I don’t want to get caught up in the time.

    And thanks for the well wishes!

  2. Thanks for the mention! Glad it is up, but I just went there and you had to search for people by First and Last Name. I didnt see an option to search by BIB, which is weird.

    I saw that too! And for some strange reason, I don’t want to post my last name on this blog. :-)

  3. yeah – I just updated my blog and did, but ONLY because my last name is one of the most common ones around. I figure I am safe…well, I hope.

    Hahaha – You’ll be fine. I’m more leary of posting my full name because I don’t want someone to Google it and find my blog. Not that this blog is particularly scandalous…

  4. you are going to do awesome! tweet me when you get to the start line and maybe we can meet up!! :)

    Definitely! although I have a crap phone where I can’t actually view twitter… so I’ll figure something out!

  5. I’ve run a couple of marathons without a watch (once intentionally once because it failed me) and it is liberating!

    Just a heads up, from one anonymous blogger to another … folks can often easily get your full name from your bib number, if they are so inclined.

    That’s how I feel when I forget my cell phone. I panic at first but then feel liberated.

    As for my name… I’m fully aware. :-) I just don’t want to type my full name on this blog because the power of Google scares me! I don’t want anyone to google my name and find this blog (despite it not being scandalous). Call me crazy…

  6. You can do it! You can do it! And if you don’t, it’s OK. There will be another time.

    I don’t have your number, so I’ll have to send you mental text messages. Make sure to tune in.

    Thank you! And I will be mentally tuning in. :-)

  7. Very wise. The weirdest google searches send people to my blog so I cringe at what might happen if my name were involved.

Leave a Reply

