Nervous Nelly

This is it.  The marathon is in 2 days.  The marathon that I haven’t trained well for and that I fear will turn me off of running altogether. 

My stomach is getting gurgly like it does when I’m nervous.  I have to remember to pick up some Immodium AD! 

I’ve been staring at the course map today and reading everything I can about this marathon.  I think that I made a good choice in having Philly be my first marathon.  It’s a great city and it sounds like there is a ton of crowd support along the way.  And hello?  You start AND end at the Rocky steps (although Jeremy will probably have to carry me up the steps).

I totally slacked when it came to making a fun t-shirt (and voting seems to have stalled anyways with a tie between 2 slogans).  I wanted to pick up a light purple technical shirt to match my compression sleeves but really?  Why do I even care? 

I started to put together a “marathon mix” on my iPod but after adding all the songs I loved, I saw that the mix was 13 hrs.  If I’m still walking after 13 hours, please put me out of my misery (especially since the course will have long shut down). 

I feel so excited, nervous and unprepared all at once.  I’m stoked that some friends are coming up to support me (despite my warnings of a loooong finish time).  My friend joked that if they get THAT bored, they could catch a movie and still make it back in time to see me finish.  Ha!

I’ve thought about tweeting my journey but I can’t even walk and text.  Tweet and run?  I’ll end up in a manhole!

Everyone has been wishing me lots of luck.  I’m icing my knee as we speak.  And my nervous stomach has had me in the bathroom every half hour.  TMI?  Yes.

I truly hope that I can enjoy this course despite my unideal training and injury.  I hope that the beauty of the city, the cheers from the crowds and just the feeling of following through with a goal I thought I’d never set will fill me with an overwhelming sense of AWESOMENESS.  I hope that this experience is magical and that maybe, just maybe, I’ll attempt another marathon.

10 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

10 responses to “Nervous Nelly

  1. i just absolutely can’t wait for you to do this! i can’t wait to congratulate you and to tell you that i just KNEW you could do this. you’re going to have so many emotions once you cross the line and just know that you pushed yourself to achieve this amazing goal! so proud of you and you should be too!!!!!!!! xoxoxo

    Aw – thank you so much!

  2. loved reading this. my stomach gets the same way. people at my work are probably wondering why I have been running to the bathroom every 5 seconds.

    so honestly – I got chills reading about you finishing your first marathon. Who cares when you cross because when you do, it will be one of the best feelings in the world. The feeling of crossing that finish line is why I keep coming back.

    Ha! I’m glad I’m not alone with the bathroom issues. I usually end up making 2-3 port-a-pot stops BEFORE racing! It doesn’t matter if its a 5k or not.

    And I totally agree! While I haven’t done a marathon (clearly), I do love the feeling of crossing a finish line at any race.

  3. kyla

    Good luck! No matter what, try to find that happy place where you can enjoy the fact that you are involved in such a neat thing! I know you will make it, no matter what and you will be proud of yourself no matter what, because you have accomplished something for YOURSELF!!!
    Enjoy, have a beer after and take an ice bath :-)

    Thank you! I think I’m going to have to print off these e-mails and read them when I’m feeling really down during the run!

  4. Maritza

    I know you will do great!!! I am inspired by your perseverance and tenacity. Keep that positive attitude and it will carry you across the finish line. Good luck!!!!

    Thank you so much!

  5. sarah

    Good luck Kim!!! I’m excited for you – you can do it! Looking forward to your race report as well!

    Thank you! I’m hoping my race report isn’t just a bunch of statements of, “I thought I was going to die.” :-)

  6. Best of luck to you! Just that you are doing it shows great strength both physically and mentally. Whatever the finish time, you did it, you tried your absolute best, and then you can rest. Rest your mind and body. Can’t wait to read about the experience!

    Thank you! And I definitely cannot wait until I can REST! :-)

  7. Good luck, and you CAN do this!

    Also, did you know that you can pre-emptively take Immodium safely? Well, you can. So pop two before the race.

    This message brought to you from the girl with IBS.

    I did, and you’re right – it worked! :-)

  8. hope you did good! i cant wait to hear about it!

    I survived! Post pending on the experience. :-)

  9. YOU DID IT!!!! I’m so proud!

    Thank you!

  10. And… how did it go?

    I survived! Don’t worry – I’ll write up my recap today. :-)

Leave a Reply

