Do You Want to Touch My Monkey?

Apparently my brain thought I was capable of following through with all of my Baltimore-centric plans more than reality dictated.

What happened?  Frickin’ Sock Monkey Saturday happened.  For some reason, I thought that I’d be able to stitch a sock monkey in about an hour.  Theresa thought she’d make at least 2 before we left.

Nearly 3.5 hours later… with the threat of the event closing, I finished my sock monkey.  Sadly – Theresa didn’t even finish hers.  Making sock monkeys is way harder than I thought it would be!  By the time we finished, we were starving (it was 3pm) and I couldn’t think of where I wanted to eat near MICA.

So we skipped the MICA Art Market and headed to the Squidfire Art Mart in Canton (at DuBurns) because it was located near Pasta Mista and all we could really think about was fooooooood. 

Anywho - I was hoping I’d not only finish a fantastic sock monkey, but that I’d be able to dress him in some fabulous attire.  Um… about that?  This is what you get.  Jeremy wanted a monkey with an eye patch and I really wanted to deliver.  I guess I could still follow through.

sock monkey 007

sock monkey 006

sock monkey 005
I thought the sock monkey could use another monkey friend.

Now I need a name for my sock monkey.

Btw – I realize that I’m closing in on 30 and I’ve got 2 stuffed monkeys on my wine tower.  And?

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Plays

7 responses to “Do You Want to Touch My Monkey?

  1. Jan

    Oh, you made a marvelous sock monkey! Of course I think all sock monkeys are marvelous. And don’t worry about being almost 30 and having 2 stuffed animals. I’m nearing 60 and currently have 14 permanent sock monkey residents and another 15-20 that are just passing through.

    Visit the gang at Sock Monkey Ranch sometime.

    Grandma Jan
    Resident Grandma at SMR
    http://www.sockmonkeyranch.com

    PS – your monkey looks like a “Herbert” to me.

    I love it! A Sock Monkey Ranch! Thanks for the link and for the monkey name. :-)

  2. Vonni

    Hey I think its great. I’m closing in on 40 and have Gumby and Pokey and Dastardly and Muttley on my desk. Along with Kung Fu Panda. LOL…toys are great! Wish I’d come to make sock monkeys.

    Yes! I love it. And I haven’t even mentioned the toys on my desk at work. I’ve got Pearl from Finding Nemo, Lilo & Stitch AND a bunch of the MetLife Snoopy dolls…

    And you totally should have come to sock monkey saturday. It was intense!

  3. I’m closing in on 40 and I still have Hot Wheels on my desk. What’s it to ya’?

    And don’t forget about your license plate cover. “My Other Car is a Hot Wheels”. I love it!

  4. Actually that monkey is kind of awesome. I suggest Elroy. Or Dirk.

    Ooh – those are both good names. I loved The Jetsons so Elroy is pretty badass… but I like the way Dirk sounds. I think Dirk wins!

  5. I love the monkeys! I put up a shelf I found at a yard sale and then realized normal people put things on shelves. My answer? Windup toys. Because there’s no reason to take anything too seriously. :)

    Windup toys? I love it!!

  6. Let me start by saying excellent post. Im unsure if it has been talked about, however when using Chrome I can never get the entire site to load without refreshing several times. Could just be my laptop. Thanks

  7. kids love stuffed animal because they are very cute and soft to touch “

Leave a Reply

