Movie Madness

This week has been a movie intensive week for me.  Between my need to watch 3 Netflix movies (so that I can get 3 new releases next week… don’t question it.  I have a system) and attending a movie “premiere” Thursday night… I think I’m movied out.

I had initially won free passes to see The Young Victoria Thursday night (courtesy of Atomic Popcorn). 

A dramatization of the turbulent first years of Queen Victoria’s rule, and her enduring romance with Prince Albert.

I love these types of movies so I was pretty stoked I could see it for free.  But then…

I won tickets to the Avatar premiere!  My department holiday lunch was on Thursday and there was a trivia contest.  The winners had their choice of FREE movie passes to see a number of movies with the catch that it was THAT night (Thursday).

Needless to say, my trivia team won (sadly without help from me) but I work with mostly parents… parents that did not have the luxury of seeing movies on Thursday nights.  Score for me!

In the future, Jake, a paraplegic war veteran, is brought to another planet, Pandora, which is inhabited by the Na’vi, a humanoid race with their own language and culture. Those from Earth find themselves at odds with each other and the local culture.

I’ll be honest – I am usually NOT into these types of movies.  Lots of special effects, weird blue people (described best by DC 101 as “blue Jar Jar Binks”) and war?  Not so much.  But the main star (Sam Worthington) is my boyfriend.  After watching another atypical movie (Terminator: Salvation) – I got all hot and bothered when I saw him so decided I would enjoy seeing him in 3D. 

This movie was ridiculously long (2 hr 40 min) but it didn’t feel long to me.  And those weird CGI blue people?  So frickin’ realistic.  I was very entertained by this movie.  I don’t know what else to say about this movie that hasn’t already been said. 

I then powered through a bunch of Netflix movies:

Taking Woodstock – A man working at his parents’ motel in the Catskills inadvertently sets in motion the generation-defining concert in the summer of 1969.  This movie starred Demetri Martin, Liev Schreiber, Emile Hirsch and many others. 

I thought it was entertaining.  It wasn’t the best movie I’ve ever seen nor was it particularly funny.  But it wasn’t awful.  I will say that I half watched it (I was working on my project paper) so perhaps I’m not the best person to review it.

Jeremy’s review? “Eh… it was okay.”  Basically – don’t go out of your way to rent it but if you happen to see it on TV, you might as well watch it.

G-ForceA specially trained squad of guinea pigs is dispatched to stop a diabolical billionaire from taking over the world.  Starring Zach Galifianakis, Will Arnett and with voices by Sam Rockwell, Penelope Cruz, Tracy Morgan and Nicholas Cage.

I’m not ashamed to admit that I rented this movie.  I love animals.  I thought it looked cute.  And dammit, it WAS cute.  I think Jeremy was a bit horrified that I made him watch it but I thought it was a great kids movie.  There were even a few adult jokes laced in (and I love it when a kids movie makes an effort to entertain adults).

My verdict?  If you have kids, rent this movie and you’ll enjoy it with them.

Inglorious Basterds - In Nazi-occupied France during World War II, a group of Jewish-American soldiers known as “The Basterds” are chosen specifically to spread fear throughout the Third Reich by scalping and brutally killing Nazis.  Starring Brad Pitt, Eli Roth, Diane Kruger and lots of other people…

I loved this movie.  I think if you’re a Quentin Tarantino, you will not be disappointed.  Very funny, very violent and very graphic.  I cringed a few times (watching people get scalped or having their heads bashed in with a baseball bat was gross). 

I also appreciated the reimagination of how WWII ended.  I think it would have made History class much more interesting.

My verdict?  Rent it. 

I also spent my snowed in weekend watching Season Three of The Wire.   I love their portrayal of Martin O’Malley (obviously played by the white womanizing politician).  Hilarious!

1 Comment

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

One response to “Movie Madness

  1. What’s a Quentin Tarantino? Perhaps I am one and don’t even realize it. :-)

    Nerd!

Leave a Reply

