My New Best Friends

This past weekend, I had the pleasure of hanging out with a group of friends that I absolutely adore and never really hang out with often.  This is mostly due to my being a complete lame-o when it comes to going out.  I’ve seriously turned into a senior citizen.  I go to bed early.  I eat dinner early.  I get angry with my neighborhood kids (and sometimes even shake my fist at them).

Anywho – Jamie hosted a party at his house and it was one of the few times I went to something like this without Jeremy.  And?  Well – it meant that I wasn’t drinking because I was driving.  Jeremy is usually my DD. 

I got to see some of my usual faves (and spent a good portion of the evening attached at the hip to Geoff).  I was stoked when Vonni was there and she told me that she reads my blog!  I get really excited when people I know read my blog.  Don’t ask.  Most of my friends hardly leave comments so I have no idea who reads this and who doesn’t.  Hi Vonni!

I was introduced to a couple that I’ve never met before (but learned that they lived in the same building as a friend of mine).  They seemed very nice and when the topic turned to the “what do you do for a living?” (a horribly boring question, I know – but sometimes I don’t know what to ask a person) – I was told a nurse and psychiatrist.

While this may not interest ANYONE else, my immediate reaction was:
OHMYGODSHUTUPTHATISSOCOOL.

I then asked, “what type of psychiatry?”

Response: “Child psychiatry”.  My response?
YOUHAVEMYDREAMJOBYOUAREMYNEWBESTFRIEND!

Its tough to play it cool in these situations.  First of all – can we say power couple?  I have lots of weird medical questions so knowing a nurse (that would clearly not make me feel like an idiot if I asked questions relating to the color of poop) is amazing.

But then to have a CHILD PSYCHIATRIST?  Blogosphere, you have no idea.  Once upon a time, I was working towards being a child (or clinical) psychiatrist.  It was and still kind of is my dream job.  I started down the psychology major in undergrad until I realized:
(1) I hated school
(2) I’d have to stay in school for a ridiculously long time then go to MED school to make it in this field
(3) I really really hated school

In chatting with my dad, he urged me to go down the IT path so that’s just what I did.  I switched majors and now work in the boring IT field instead of the amazingly awesome Psychology field.  I have a minor in Psych (that’s how far I got in the program).

Upon pouring my heart out to my new BFFs, they encouraged me to still follow my dream (and the nurse even planned out how I could go into clinical psychology through the nurse path… and let me tell you, I am THISCLOSE to actually doing it).  And the psychiatrist?  He told me that I could come and observe one day!

I almost shit myself.

But I didn’t.  I’m pretty sure that would have resulted in him taking back his offer.

As for my dream of psychiatry?  Well – I really do just hate school THAT much that I can’t even fathom going back.  I’m really just hoping that Jeremy graduates law school, makes some awesome lawyer connections, gets a ridiculously high paying job in the UK and we can move.

A girl can dream.

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

8 responses to “My New Best Friends

  1. I am a psych major, so I totally know what you mean about nerding out. I am so in love with the field of psych and get so excited when other people are also. IT is a great field, don’t knock it, but hey–do something that you love. Glad you had a great time at your get-together.

    I love psych. It is so fascinating and it never gets boring. IT… well, it can be interesting but not what I do.

  2. fromatopink

    I can totally relate to that feeling – it’s like having a career crush! (If that makes sense.) Is there a way to fulfill that passion of yours but on a level that doesn’t need as much schooling? (P.S. Your sense of humor cracks me up.)

    Career crush! I love that… that is TOTALLY what I have (and I have that with a lot of people). As for the career path – the nursing route actually was a lot less schooling than I thought it would be (especially since I already have my degrees) but I just don’t think I have it in me.

    And thank you!

  3. Aw, fun! Psychology was my first major, but I was turned off by my first psych class — I blame the teacher.

    And GEOFF! I’ve been wondering about him! So glad he’s on Twitter!

    OOh – I hate bad teachers.

    As for Geoff – yes, he’s on Twitter! I convinced him that the internet NEEDS him (although I couldn’t convince him to blog again).

  4. Aaaaahahaha! You’re adorable, like a puppy.

    I think you would be a great kiddy therapist. Plus, while you’re there, you can dish out a little much-needed therapy to the rest of a crazies.

    Thank you and thank you!

    I think everyone needs a therapist in their life… whether they’re actually going to see one professionally or they have a friend that can dish the therapy (for free!). :-)

  5. Meredith

    I don’t think I have any career crushes but I always feel like everyone has better benefits than me…more time off, flex time, summer hours, whatever the case may be! I sit at my desk all day looking at people jogging by my window wondering what they do for a living that they can go for a 2pm run!

    Maybe you can be a dog psychiatrist instead. It’s probably less education than dealing with children and you can do way less damage :-)

    OMG – don’t get me started on envying people with awesome flex time, summer hours, perks, etc.

    As for the dog psych – I kind of like that idea!

  6. Wow! That is a good combo of friends to have. :)

    I am totally geriatric lately. I think I’d prefer to hibernate in the winter.

    It is totally the winter that is making me NOT want to go out! I need warm weather, STAT!

  7. I have a career crush on the dog walkers. That is seriously my dream job, so I keep hoping Kevin will jump a few hundred feet up the career ladder in the next few months, so I can quit my finance job and walk dogs. hey, it could happen!

    and my couch is SO much more comfortable then the bar stools in most Canton establishments, so I understand not wanting to go out.

    Yes! I have a career crush on dog walkers too!

  8. maybe you’ll like school better if it’s a career you’re passionate about? you already have a connection and a possible mentor. i say look into it :)

    oh – and if you move to the UK, we’re totally coming to visit.

    This is true. Although medicine requires science. Me and science are not friends.

    I think if we moved, we’d invite everyone to come visit us!

Leave a Reply

