Taking My Mind Off of Things

Because I’m trying to think about anything OTHER than the impending great blizzard of Baltimore (starting tomorrow!), or the fact that I keep forgetting things (because all I think about is how the weather is going to fuck up my weekend)… here are some things I’ve been focusing on lately:

  1. Weezer’s “If You’re Wondering If I Want You” song.  I am in love with this song right now.  I listen to it on repeat on the way home from work. 
  2. Neko Case’s “The Pharaohs”.  This is another song that I am in love with.  There is something about Neko’s voice that is so beautiful.  I’ve been listening to her album, Middle Cyclone, everyday for the last 2 weeks.
  3. My list of tights that I want/need.  Yes, you read that correctly.  I am making a list of the TIGHTS I need.  WTF?  So far?  Nude pantyhose (I just got a giant run in the only pair I owned), black opaque tights (because I put a giant hole in the ones I had), black sheer tights (again, another run), black patterned tights (I snagged the patterned tights on something and there is a hole) and teal tights.  The teal tights were shown with a dress that I just bought and I loved the way the 2 items looked paired together so I’ve been thinking about teal tights for a week.  But seriously – I’m making a list of the tights I want.  I need a hobby.
  4. I’ve recently purchased random ass shit on the web and most of the packages are at my parents’ house.  I’m contemplating driving down to get them tonight because I won’t be driving through a blizzard for them.  I ordered Food, Inc. on dvd, a super cute dress and new gray boots.  I think online shopping will be the death of me.  How did I buy anything before such technology?
  5. I am so f’n excited about LOST!

I DVR’ed it and have been foaming at the mouth to watch it.  I have to wait for Jeremy to have some free time so we can watch it together.  I think that was one of our wedding vows.  “I promise to honor and love you.  I promise to always wait to watch new episodes of Lost with you…” or something like that.  Who knows – that was 3 years ago.  The wedding is a bit of a blur.

So there it is… things I’m obsessing over as of late.  How are things with you?

6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles, Charm City Kim Shops

6 responses to “Taking My Mind Off of Things

  1. So I am also in love with Neko Case. She is amazing! Additionally, I love LOST too. I am still in the middle of Season 5 so did not feel right watching the season premiere, but I am planning to catch up so I can have a LOST series finale party. (Can you say Dharma Initiative labels on EVERYTHING?!) I hope you find a great hobby, although blogging about mundane things is kinda a great hobby!

    I love that idea (of a Lost series finale party)!

  2. I like tights because then when I get home, I can take off my skirt and run around in tights and not feel naked. Nobody else likes it when I wear tights, because doing so makes me think I’m a dancer again, which means that I run around throwing my leg in the air and accidentally upsetting the cats’ food/water dishes. But you can totally wear them, because I bet doing so doesn’t mean that you break everything in the kitchen. You’re so awesome…

    I never even thought of doing that! That is brilliant! I’ve always secretly wanted to be a dancer.

  3. angelina

    ~*kim! i just saw food, inc. eeeek! you’re already a healthy eater, but this one might push you over the edge! it’s a very interesting (and disturbing) movie to watch. i hope it doesnt stop you from meeting me for dinner next week! cant wait<3

    I’ve already seen Food, Inc! So its already reinforced my crazy eating habits. :-)

  4. I’m so glad tights are back. I really hate pantyhose, but you can wear tights even if you have completely forgotten to shave for two weeks and no one notices.

    Yes! I LOVE tights for that very reason. Unfortunately, pantyhose are also a necessity in the corporate world.

  5. LOST was pretty good – it didn’t disappoint. If you haven’t watched it yet you should have PLENTY of time this weekend ;)

    I watched it last night. It was SO good and confusing/frustrating all at the same time.

  6. OK. Not that I needed more reasons for us to be friends, but….
    1. I LOVE tights.
    2. I LOVE LOST.
    3. I LOVE Neko Case. Her voice turns me inside-out. And I think Middle Cyclone is her best record to date.

    … and this is why I read your blog! :-)

Leave a Reply

