Cooking Up a Storm

I refuse to call the crazy snow storm in Baltimore “snowmageddon” or “snowpocalypse”.  Why?  I’m a party pooper.

So – being stuck in the house has forced me to cook more than usual.  Lately – I’ve relegated cooking to Sundays only but being trapped in my house has forced my hand to be a little more creative.

Lucky for us – we had a surprisingly amount of good things in our house.

First up, Chickpea Blondies.  I was surprised that we had all of the ingredients but I’m happy that we did.  I don’t remember where I originally saw the link to this recipe, but here is the recipe.

Ingredients

I was excited that I finally got to use my 6-cup food processor.  It has been in the box for almost a year.  We have a mini food processor that has been sufficient but for this recipe, I needed something bigger.

I was also excited to use this little guy:
Great Kitchen Gadget

It is a Pampered Chef measuring cup thingamabob.  I was sold on it because it was great for peanut butter.  I bought it almost a year ago and never used it!  Apparently this snow storm has gotten me to use some of my impulse purchases.

Now I guess I should use that stupid cookie press I got from Crate & Barrel…

Finished product:
Chickpea Blondies

They were surprisingly good.  I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about chickpeas as a dessert-type treat.  The peanut butter and fruit spread are what made this delightful.

I also found out that we had a lot of soups in the house.  I busted out the organic red pepper & tomato soup (sorry – no picture).  We didn’t have any bread and I really really wanted some tortilla chips so I made my own chips.

I cut, coated in olive oil and baked some whole wheat tortilla wraps (at 400 degrees for about 10 min):
Homemade Tortilla Chips

These were really good.  They weren’t exactly like chips but they had a nice crisp crunch and were obviously much healthier.  I’ll probably opt to do this more often. 

I was also able to finish off the homemade hummus I made last week (sorry – no picture).

Lastly, I’ve been catching up on reading magazines.  This Bean & Vegetable recipe caught my eye in Runner’s World and so we made that last night with a few tweaks:
Bean and Vegetable Chili

I didn’t take pictures during the prep work and forgot about it until this morning (hence it in a tupperware bowl instead of a pretty bowl).

We nixed the meat, added more carrots, substituted the eggplants with yellow squash (because the grocery store didn’t have any eggplants) and added wine to the sauce.  It was amazing.

And since we had to walk to the grocery store yesterday for “essentials”, we also picked up these:
Survival Essentials

According to my husband, Berger cookies were essential to winter storm survival. 

Sadly – these are almost all gone.  In one day.  Yowza!

Because Baltimore is predicted to get even more snow – we’re making another trip to the grocery store for actual essentials.  Fun fun!

6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Eats

6 responses to “Cooking Up a Storm

  1. fromatopink

    Love me some Berger cookies. I might have to take a walk down to the nearby 7-Eleven…

    I picked up 2 more boxes today!

  2. Kt

    I need to go too but I still can’t get out! And the boy is out work and there’s no way I’m walking all the way there and back with groceries. I might have to beg Ian to take me when he gets home.

    Ian was able to get to work? I am impressed!

  3. Impressed with your creativity; I certainly do not have that skill. I am running low on food at home, and am concerned with what we might be eating. YIKES!

    Thank you!! Hopefully you’ll be able to flex your creativity. :-)

  4. Isn’t playing with new cooking toys fun? I have to say, I’ve always wanted one of those plunger thingies.
    (Also, try not to die in the snow, mmkay? I’ll still need something to read when I get home from work.)

    I highly recommend the plunger thing!

    And don’t worry – I’m not leaving my house. I’m going a bit stir crazy but its not worth dying in the snow. :-)

  5. Vonni

    I’m with you on the cooking. So far I’ve make white chicken chili (which I’m going to make vegetarian next time), chicken stir fry, brownies, breakfast crap, beef stew and I think there is a grilled cheese and tomato soup in my future and homemade chicken noodle tomorrow. Wow, I eat a lot of chicken. Cluck cluck!

    Ooh – grilled cheese and tomato soup sounds amazing! I think that will be in my future as well. :-)

  6. Berger cookies are DEFINITELY a Baltimore snowstorm essential. Love the recipes, I may try some of them myself! Although, I am actually snows in at work, so I do not have access to a kitchen at the moment.

    Also, instead of “Snowmageddon” or “Snowpocalypse”, I opt for “Snow-em-gee!”

    You’re snowed in at work?! Yikes!

    And “Snow-em-gee”? I love it!

Leave a Reply

