Cabin Fever and the Attack of…

… Snowzilla!

That is what I am calling this ridiculous “record-setting” snowstorm.  I’m tired of hearing “snowmageddon” and “snowpacalyse” (although I am now a fan of snow-em-gee!)… but I feel like this snow is like a fucking monster that is forcing people to run and hide.

… hence my cabin fever.  I can’t STAND to be stuck in the house like this!

Yesterday I ventured out to get a pedicure.  I realize it is bizarre to want a pedicure in the middle of winter (who is really looking at my feet?) – but I just had to leave the house.  With the impending snowstorm forecast, I knew it was my last chance to leave the house for a few days.

I called the nail salon around 11am and they told me that they were open but were planning to close early.  When I asked when, they said “around 2-3pm”. 

I pulled on my long underwear and snowboarding pants and ventured down (about 1.5 miles) to get a pedi.  I scooped up Theresa on the way and we were set.  While the side roads were not driveable, they were walkable.

And wouldn’t you fucking know… the nail salon was closed.  AT 1pm!  I couldn’t fault them – I could understand wanting to scoot early to avoid the traffic.  But what the hell?!

I also figured it was my last chance to go to the grocery store.  Even though Jeremy and I hit up the store the day before, we could only purchase as much as we were comfortable carrying back (1.5 miles) to the house.  I thought I’d pick up whatever we didn’t get the first trip.

Jeremy’s request?  2 more boxes of Berger cookies!  I’m glad his priorities are straight.

I was amazed by some of the stuff that had been cleared out of the grocery store.  Apparently the weather freaked everyone out into buying all of the potatoes, bagged salads and shredded cheese.  That sounds like a super fucked up salad to me.

But thankfully, they were well stocked on Berger cookies.  And Twizzlers.  I have my priorities too, you know.

I also stopped by the Wine store to pick up beer for Jeremy. 

So, I had a backpack full of food, a grocery bag full of food and another bag with beer.  I was a damn pack mule.  And the fact that I got beer for Jeremy should earn me “wife of the year”.  I think I’ve just fulfilled my Valentine’s Day gift to my hubs.

I didn’t take any pics today (of the additional snow and crazy wind gusts) but here are a few from yesterday:

That is a picture of our back “yard” taken yesterday morning.  Because of the dogs, we have to dig out a patch for them to do their business.  That mountain of snow has grown exponentially since last night’s storm.  If I was a Doozer,  I’d have the time of my life sledding down it.

Baltimore Winter Storm 2010

Here is Jeremy posing on one of the many unplowed side streets.  I don’t think people outside of the city truly understand the magnitude of the snow on the streets!

I haven’t ventured outside AT ALL today.  Looking outside and seeing the wind blowing around like crazy (and hearing that Maryland has basically “shut down”) is enough to keep me indoors.

Thank goodness for Netflix “watch instantly” and Playstation 3.  We’ve been watching Dexter Season 1.  LOVE IT!

11 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

11 responses to “Cabin Fever and the Attack of…

  1. fromatopink

    People outside the city really DON’T understand what it’s like here IN the city. It’s frustrating. I think the surrounding counties have had an easier time being plowed out – the city has too many little streets and they just aren’t getting plowed. Grrr. I feel ya on the cabin fever. I wish all the Bmore bloggers were in walking distance!

    Seriously! It would be a great time for a Baltimore blogger meetup!

  2. Sarah

    Now I want Berger cookies! I’m in Canton too, I wonder when the Safeway will be open? I am so bored and tired of being inside…

    Me too! I think I’m venturing out today but we’ll see. I’m more shocked that the company I work for is still open…

  3. Do you have your Netflix stream into the PS3? My husband mentioned he was going to try it out…and now I want him to!

    Do it! Its awesome!

  4. This post is really freakin hysterical! You really do have cabin fever!

    Haha – I am going crazy over here.

  5. I won’t complain about my neighborhood. Our HOA hires a private company to keep us plowed. The guys do an awesome job, even if our fees are going to go up next year. I HATE that my neighbors just throw their snow back into the street. I am not sure if you know, but if you and your neighbors flood 311 with calls, it might help you get plowed sooner. Just thought that might help. Good luck getting plowed out!

    Thanks for the tip!

    And about people throwing snow back into the street… I don’t get it either! How do people not see this as a problem when they are shoveling their cars out?

  6. There really is SO much snow down here. Once it all melts – we are most definitely going to have problems with flooding.

    Tomorrow is a big day. I am going to attempt to drive into work for the first time in a week. I am SO excited to get out of the house just to go to work and that is sad!

    Even sadder is the fact that I’m jealous that you’re leaving your house!

  7. Meredith

    Did you happen to swing by the frozen foods section in Safeway? In both the Target and Weis by my house this week, the frozen pizza sections were barren. I’m not sure what about 3′ of snow makes people think frozen pizza. I was worried about having cereal and food on hand that didn’t need to be heated in case of a power outage!

    I contemplated the frozen pizzas (they were looking a little sparse).

    And Jeremy said the same thing about not buying food that requires power (in the case of an outage)!

  8. Kevin

    Good to see you’re still alive and keeping up with the blog. That wind was no joke.

    Thanks! Glad you’re still reading.

  9. smack

    if you were a Doozer, I’d kidnap you and keep you in my bed side cabinet!!

    I’d hope you’d let me out of the cabinet to play.

  10. That is the best photo of your husband you have ever posted! :)

    haha – thanks!

  11. you’re such a good wife. i wouldn’t have been able to carry all of that in the snow. j looks so happy in that shot!

    I AM a good wife, thank you. :-)

Leave a Reply

