V-Day Recap

Oh Valentine’s Day… I know that everyone hates this holiday but I won’t lie – I enjoy any holiday that requires Jeremy to do something special for me.  (Though some could argue he should do something special for me every day).  I know V-day is a 2-way street but I’m lucky to have a husband that doesn’t give a crap about getting anything.

A week or so before V-day (and before the big snow) – I asked if we were exchanging gifts.  I was truly okay with not exchanging gifts but was surprised when J-bird gave the green light. 

I, not so subtlety, left a catalog laying around with a few items of interest circled.  Jeremy didn’t give me any hints.  I usually just buy him some candy and call it a day.

Jeremy had to work on V-day but I woke up to him making me pancakes (yippee!) and a cute homemade card about how “Snow-em-gee” prevented him from getting a card and a gift… and then some sappy message about love.

I gave him a card with 2 dogs on the cover that stated “Love means…”  (open card) “Never having to say, “who farted?”

He also clipped a picture of my gift:

A silver cocktail ring that I’ve been drooling over for a few months.  It isn’t here yet (it is on backorder) but I was filled with warm fuzzies knowing that my husband knew the thing I wanted most.  Actually, to quote him “you’ve been talking about a stupid cocktail ring for a few months now.  I knew what you wanted.”

Aw.

And here’s a picture of Emily watching me eat because this is the face I always see whenever I’m eating.  My dogs are beggars!  It doesn’t help that I usually give them little nibbles of food (I’m a terrible dog owner) but how can you say no to this face?

Later that night we went out to dinner at an asian tapas restaurant in Fell’s Point called Sam’s Kid.  They don’t have a website (or I would have linked them) but it was good.  They had kimchi (a popular Korean side dish) so I will def. go back.  And they had sparkling sake!  I’d never heard of such a thing but it was delightful.

Then we had broomball. 

What a random day.

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

7 responses to “V-Day Recap

  1. omg, i love surprise jewelry! he did so good! that ring is gorgeous!

    Thanks! I love it.

  2. My BF always scolds me for giving nibbles of food to our dog…but seriously, I feel actual guilty feelings for eating food in front of her.

    I know other dogs have to search for food in the wild and manage just fine…but lucky for my dog, one look w/ those puppy eyes and she’s got a bite of what I’m having. I know, I know, I’m a bad dog owner as well.

    I’m so glad I’m not alone. I totally feel guilty sometimes… like they’re starving and I’m being cruel by not sharing the love!

  3. That sounds like a nice, relaxing VDay. Also, I love that you used “snow-em-gee”. (PS: I heard a new one, Snowtorious BIG!)

    I have never been to Sam’s Kid. Where is it in Fells? I would love to check it out.

    Sam’s Kid is right between Jimmy’s and Maggie Moos in Broadway. Try it!

    Snowtorious BIG? I love it!

  4. Well done, Mr Kim, well done!

  5. Why the hell is J have to work?! Ugh! Sorry…DIdn’t mean to start on a sour note..

    But I’m glad you had a great day! And it’s always a plus when you actually get something you want. :-)

    I wish I got something I wanted everyday!

  6. I can dig it…

    Well when J becomes a rich lawyer and isn’t confined to his current enslavement, then you should be good to go! LOL

    I still can’t believe he had to work on a Sunday. As if! LOL (I’m still bitter for him as you can see…lol)

    You really are! And don’t worry – I was plenty bitter for the both of us.

  7. He’s a good man, Charlie Brown.

    Agreed!

Leave a Reply

