Awkward Grownup at a Birthday Party

That was me yesterday – the awkward grownup at a birthday party.

My nephew (in-law) turned 2 this month and his birthday party was yesterday.  He’s super cute and amazingly polite (nothing is sweeter than hearing a 2 year old say “thank you”).

While the party wasn’t spilling over with children – there were approximately 4 kids (around the age of 2), their parents, my in-laws and basically just about everyone there was a parent or at least good with children.

Then there was me.  I am incredibly awkward around small children.  I think they’re cute but I just don’t know how to interact with them.  I think I spent most of the party standing against a wall not interacting with the kids because I just felt so weird.

I also strained my lower back muscle a couple of weeks ago (playing broomball) and it apparently hasn’t really healed.  I don’t think my continuing to work out and taking yoga has helped (in fact, my Chiropractor told me to STOP THE YOGA!) but I hate sitting still.

So – I spent the party standing againt the wall because I’m awkward with kids, I couldn’t bend down to pick up the dogs or anything… but then…

My sister-in-law was bouncing her son up and down.  He was loving life and then she said, “Aunt Kim wants to bounce you!”

And what was I going to say?  All eyes were on me!  I didn’t want to be an asshole so I bounced him.  And it was cute and fun!  But it hurt like hell.  And holy moly – what a workout.

I often wonder if I could ever be a mom.  It seems to come so naturally to some girls — they play with kids and it doesn’t seem forced or weird.  Me?  I don’t know what to do.

So bouncing my nephew?  While super cute and adorable — it caused another back spasm. 

I don’t think I’m cut out for this shit.  Maybe motherhood isn’t for me.

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

8 responses to “Awkward Grownup at a Birthday Party

  1. I am not good with children either. I always speak to them like they are adults (“Hey kiddo, did you hear about the Large Hadron Collider?”). I am not (at all!) ready to be a mother, but I assume that being a mother to your own child is much different than being a grownup bouncing another person’s child on your knee. If you are ready for kids, don’t second-guess yourself….you have a great family already (with Jeremy and the two dogs, of course) that I think you could definitely make it work!

    Thanks! And I’m with you – I enjoy chatting with them like they’re adults (and when you can hold a sort of convo with them).

    My mom keeps telling me that it’ll come naturally if I have kids but I think she says that so I WILL have kids.

  2. Meredith

    Just hire someone to bounce your kids :-)

    I get what you’re saying and I’ve known people who didn’t feel that immediate ‘oh this is the greatest thing on earth’ sensation when their children were born. It was more like ‘oh shit now what do i do’ which is how I picture myself when / if my time comes. But I do think that when it’s your own you will feel differently, or at least that’s my hope!

    That’s my hope too!

  3. My bff was never the one to pick up a baby, oodle over it, make squishy sounds with him/her, and play patty-cake. She was never one to get on the floor and play with the kids. She was more the type that would rather avoid them because she felt so awkward with them. Then…she had one of her own. She’s still not the uber creative mom, but she is a great mom. She’s a lot better at it than she ever imagined because she, like you, felt extremely awkward around children and she really just wasn’t into kids. She also feels that her husband balances out the equation and she learns from him. He’s super creative with the kids and my friend has learned from him how to get down on the floor and play without overthinking it. I think having your own children is definitely different.

    Thank you for this!

  4. Kt

    Generally, I am pretty obsessed with kids. But there are some kids who I’ve felt awkward around, and I think it mostly has to do with the situation. If everyone else around me seems SO much more natural, I automatically feel awkward. Also, if I’m dressed up and not in the mood, I’ll feel awkward. It all is about the atmosphere for me, because trying to interact with little kids means I have to come down to their level – and that can be awkward!

    I also think it’s probably different once you have your own, or once you are around a friend’s kid quite often (maybe like with ours – but no pressure there!).

    Haha! I think I just need more exposure to interacting with little kids. But it seems I’ll be getting some based on the fact that everyone is pregnant! :-)

  5. angelina

    ~*kim. seriously~you’ll be fine! the fact that you’re already worried shows how much you even care! and honestly…i’ve known so many women in your shoes who were scared they wouldnt be good parents…scared they wouldnt wake up in the middle of the night to hear their babies crying (some were REAL heavy sleepers!), but once they had their own, their maternal instincts just kicked in and it was so natural! just wait…before no time, you’ll be bouncing babies left and right!

    Haha – thanks! And I’m not worried about NOT hearing a baby cry, I’m more worried about not wanting to get out of bed and pretending to sleep so that Jeremy gets up. haha!

  6. I totally understand! I get bored with babies really quickly. Once they can talk, I’m good, but before that – not so much. And I feel like that really should not be the case – shouldn’t we be biologically programmed to want to coo at babies or something?

    That’s exactly what I was thinking! I thought we were hardwired for this stuff.

  7. I’m SO awkward around kids. And I hate the situations when people look at you expectantly, like, come on, play with him or something. Um… what should I do?

    It’s totally different with my nieces and nephews though. I have no hesitation with them, and love spending time with them. I’m think I’m Super Aunt, but I still don’t think that guarantees anything about motherhood.

    Yes! What is it with everyone staring at you? I feel like I’m being critiqued on my interactions.

  8. Krista

    Motherhood is definitely not for me. I enjoy my sleep and disposable income too much. ;-) Not to mention, I’m with you when it comes to feeling awkward around kids…I never know what to say to them or what will come out of *their* mouths! They pretty much scare me. haha! Plus, I figure this world is overpopulated enough that it won’t miss me not bringing another body into it. I’m content with my furry daughter. :-)

    I’m pretty happy with my furry kids as well. And I didn’t even think about the disposable income aspect of non-parenthood!

Leave a Reply

