Neti Pot Fail

Since my husband’s allergies are out of control this season (as are apparently everyone else in Maryland this season), I suggested that he try the famed “Neti Pot“.  For those of you who have no idea what a neti pot is,

A neti pot is a container designed to rinse the nasal cavity. You might use a neti pot to treat nasal allergies, sinus problems or colds. In fact, some neti pot enthusiasts say that regular use of a neti pot is more effective for nasal allergy and sinus symptoms than are over-the-counter medications. First, fill the neti pot with warm salt water or an over-the-counter saline nasal solution. Then tilt your head over the sink, place the spout of the neti pot in the upper nostril and gently pour in the water. As you pour, the salt water will flow through your nasal cavity and out the lower nostril. Repeat on the other side.

Source

My husband tried it on Sunday with good results.  I didn’t watch him (because who really wants to watch their loved on pour water into their nose… or watch water pour out of their nose).  Now I kind of wished I would have and taken a picture.  So here’s a picture I pulled off of Google:

Image of a woman using a neti pot.

Jeremy has since used the neti pot several more times.

Despite not having allergies, I thought I’d give it a shot.  I’m sure my nasal cavity could use a good rinse (since I’ve never rinsed it before).

I read the instructions, I prepared the solution, I poured it into the neti pot and…

WHAT.THE.FUCK?!

I basically poured a bunch of lukewarm water into my nasal cavity and IT DIDN’T GO ANYWHERE!  Some if it dripped into my throat so I knew to lean forward a bit…

BUT WATER NEVER ESCAPED. 

Every since my failed experiment, I feel like I can’t hear out of my left ear and my head hurts. 

Stupid neti pot.

I’m trying it again this week.  I will not be defeated by a ceramic pot!  So all you neti pot fans, what the fuck am I doing wrong?

10 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

10 responses to “Neti Pot Fail

  1. Neti pots freak me out. My friend Shannon swears by them, but I just can’t get behind it. And now, having read your experience, I don’t think I’ll be trying.

    I know a lot of people that swear by them!

  2. Try to relax and breath through your mouth. Do not hold your breath and if possible make the sound KHA…KHA… That’s what everyone told me to do. It seemed to work pretty well.

    I actually don’t like the pot itself. I prefer the bottle thingy: http://www.neilmed.com/usa/sinusrinse.php. I think it allows you to control the pressure better. Maybe that would be a better alternative for you.

    My friend uses the bottle thing and likes it.

    I’m going to try making that sound though before I completely give up on it.

  3. Kt

    I use Sinusrinse and love it. I use it whenever I feel things getting congested in there! Hadn’t tried it for my allergies though – might have to do this tonight!

    I have to look that up!

  4. I’ve never tried it, but I’ve thought about it for a while. I have awful allergies, although my Zyrtec/Flonase combo does pretty well.

    My husband was doing a Zyrtec/Benedryl cycles for awhile with good results. Zyrtec in the day, Benedryl at night.

  5. I’m afraid I would drown with the net pot.

    Yeah – I can’t imagine you being a big fan of the neti pot.

  6. I’m going to go ahead and say that your problem is that you’re trying to pour water up your nose.

    I’m not sure why – but I laughed so hard that I nearly cried at this comment. It is so true and yet I’m so determined to pour water into my nose.

  7. angelina

    ~*hmm…i think i’m going to have to agree with MonsteRawr! maybe instead of the neti pot…u should go the opposite way and consider a colon cleanse? LOL! i seriously hear its good for you though!

    A colon cleanse?! Have you lost your mind?! haha…

  8. shalc

    You need to breathe. Use water that’s a little warm, too.

  9. drfrank7

    A recent study presented at the American College of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology meeting found that neti-pot actually increases your risk of sinus infection. Additionally, stopping neti-pot use was associated with a 62% decrease in sinus infections. The authors pointed out that neti-pots do provide relief of bothersome sinus symptoms, but that chronic use may wash away some of our bodies natural mucosal defenses and increase your risk of infection. Over time, constant use of the salt water in neti pots dries out the membrane of the sinuses. Moist sinuses are essential for our immune system to work and overly dry membranes prevent our immune systems from working optimally.

    We know for example that excessive mucous secretion such as a runny nose is often a protective response to prevent dust and allergens entering the lungs and sinuses. Our body’s mucous flow acts like a cleaner this way washing away pollen, dirt and irritants. Mucus, which naturally occurs in your sinuses, contains powerful antimicrobial agents that have antibacterial, antifungal and antiviral activity—washing out all of the mucus leaves your sinuses defenseless against any new pathogens. So in a certain sense, just like drugs, the neti pot is suppressing the symptoms rather than removing the cause of the problem.

    Antibiotics are not effective either against sinus infections since antibiotics are not secreted in the nasal cavities and so cannot to help eliminate bacteria colonized in the nostrils.

    Many types of nasal sprays such as Afrin cause a vicious cycle of addiction. Thus medication can actually make chronic sinus pain and pressure worse and not better.

    One major key to treating long term bacterial sinus infections lies in treating biofilms. A discussion of the importance of biofilms in sinus infections can be found on our website’s blog page. http://wp.me/pmQ8F-2q

  10. marty

    Ya, stinks. Been on neti pot for 6 months. Helpful, but maybe gives 2-5 hours of relief. But, big relief if suffering. It helps, most times, but something is causing it. Get a pro involved.

Leave a Reply

