Hurting All Over: My First Pilates Experience

While I’ve come to terms with the fact that I will not have complete my 101 in 1001 items, I did manage to cross another item off of my list this weekend:

83. Take a pilates class at an authentic pilates studio

I purchased a Groupon for 3 mat classes and 1 30-minute private lesson at a Pilates studio in Baltimore called Inline Private Training.

With the 101 deadline looming (and the fact that the Groupons all have expiration dates) – I convinced 2 girlfriends to take the Saturday morning mat class (because I can’t do anything alone).

The studio itself was very cool.  It was an open loft space with basic gym equipment, scary pilates machines and an area where you can do the mat exercises.

I loved the instructor.  He was funny, tough and helpful (who knew I had such poor form?).  Oh and they played a lot of Michael Jackson in the studio.

We used this this torture device: The Pilates Ring

One of the moves that nearly killed me was squeezing the ring between my left knee and right elbow and crunching (pulsing)… but that was it.  He has us lift our other leg, straight out and at a 45 degree angle from the floor.  UGH.

So, I am hurting in places that I haven’t felt pain in a looong time.  My upper abs (mostly around my ribs) are killing me… like it hurts to take a deep breath kind of pain.  My ass?  Hurts.  My hips?  Hurt. 

But I am so going back this Saturday.

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

7 responses to “Hurting All Over: My First Pilates Experience

  1. pilates definitely hurts, which is probably why I dont do it very often. Anything having to do with my core – i dont like. It is a shame because that is where I need the most work!

    On a side note – met with Maria and Drew Sunday. Thanks so much for the recommendation – they are super talented and very nice!

    I’m so glad that you liked them! They are awesome.

  2. theresa

    my abs hurt esp. when i laugh, not to mention my thighs and hips. i thought i was in such random pain b/c i’m so out of shape compared to you and k but it is nice to hear that i wasn’t the only one who thought it was hard!

    You definitely aren’t alone. Ready for more torture this Saturday? :-)

  3. I would think Pilates would be right up your alley. It’s intense!

    Don’t get me wrong – I liked it! Its been awhile since a workout has left me feeling that sore.

  4. Kt

    I LOVE pilates! I want to go! I think they just have to do adjustment positions for my big belly.

    You should come with us! I’ll send you the info.

  5. Vonni

    Who knew that little plastic ring could become such a torture device? I know the pain of which you speak. Yoga/pilates…it’s all pain the next day. :)

    And why do we torture ourselves? :-)

  6. Various dance teachers along the way have been into the Pilates thing, so I know how torturous they can be. I still have nightmares about the 100.

    The 100 is intense!

  7. Priyanka

    Wow! I had no idea… feels so good to know that the pain is SHARED! Heh! Thought it was just me being out of shape.

Leave a Reply

