DVR – the best and worst thing that has happened to me

I have recently found myself talking about television an obscene amount of time. 

And I’ve realized that I watch way too much fucking TV. 

Once upon a time, I had a life.

Now?  My life is rule by my TV.  And I definitely don’t watch it live anymore.  I digitally record a TON of shows and spend hours after work unwinding by watching my shows… spend hours on the weekend watching shows… spend too much time talking about shows… UGH.

So I’m going to list all of the shows I currently DVR so that I can potentially shock myself out of watching so much damn TV (or perhaps start a lively dialog about any of the shows).  Keep in mind that these are only the shows I’m currently watching.  Bravo, Style and E!  all have shows that have irregular seasons… (wow, I can’t believe I just typed that as though this makes my TV watching any more sane):

  1. Amazing Race (CBS)
  2. Ruby (Style)
  3. Kimora: Life in the Fab Lane (Style)
  4. Rachael Ray (ABC)
  5. Oprah (NBC) – not all of her shows…
  6. How I Met Your Mother (CBS)
  7. The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
  8. Accidentally on Purpose (CBS)
  9. RuPaul’s Drag Race (Logo)
  10. LOST (ABC) – I’m secretly happy this show is over so I can stop watching it
  11. Glee (Fox)
  12. Modern Family (ABC)
  13. Cougartown (ABC)
  14. Chuck (NBC)
  15. Parenthood (NBC)
  16. The Real Housewives of New York (I watch all of these… except for Orange County)
  17. Project Runway (Lifetime)
  18. Models of the Runway (Lifetime)
  19. The Office (NBC)
  20. Community (NBC)
  21. 30 Rock (NBC)
  22. Parks and Recreation (NBC)
  23. Grey’s Anatomy (ABC)
  24. Private Practice (ABC)
  25. Fringe (Fox)
  26. House (Fox)
  27. Bones (Fox)
  28. Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution (ABC)

Sadly – I know I’m forgetting a few.

I need a life!  What do you watch?

12 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

12 responses to “DVR – the best and worst thing that has happened to me

  1. Kt

    I’m sitting here in shock at how much time you have to watch these many shows…and I’m slightly jealous that you have that time!

    We watch: Amazing Race, Biggest Loser, Grey’s Anatomy. We do not have DVR by choice. Otherwise, we just catch episodes here and there of different shows if we have time.

    Its because I am finished with school, have a husband in law school (in the evening) and therefore, have free time. ANd I have no life!!

  2. Ann Marie

    I love LOST, Glee, Parks & Recreation, 30 Rock, The Office, Parenthood, Modern Family How I Met Your Mother and The Wire (even though it’s over, I’m still catching up)…

    I watch teevee fairly frequently, but feel as if it is justified, as I am always working or in school.

    So, I have to go…Glee is about to come on. :]

    Oooh – The Wire is SO GOOD!

  3. I watch:

    NFL Games
    NHL Games
    Women’s Beach Volleyball
    30 Rock
    Holmes On Homes
    Life (on Discovery)

    I’m watching Arrested Development even though it’s no longer on the air.

    Yesterday I watched Romantically Challenged. It’s borderline, but it did have some funny parts.

    Ha – J LOVED Jolmes on Holmes!

  4. Sarah

    What is Models of the Runway? I think I would love that…

    I record Chelsea Handler, the Soup, How I Met Your Mother, Rules of Engagement, American Idol (boring this year), Modern Family, Cougartown, Desperate Housewives, Saturday Night Live, Parks & Rec, the Office, Southland…and I sadly watch a bunch of other dumb stuff whenever it’s on and I don’t feel like watching the dvr (Friends reruns, the Kardashians, etc). I clearly watch too much tv as well!

    Ha! I love Keeping Up with the Kardashians!

    Models of the Runway is a 30 minute show that follows the models used in Project Runway since they’re essentially competing as well (for a spread in Marie Claire magazing).

  5. I love that DVR lets me watch my favorite shows without worry about being home or finished dinner, but you’re right- it’s definitely increased my tv watching!!! My faves are probably Big Bang Theory, the Office, and House, but my DVR has MUCH more in it haha.

    I have so much in my DVR, that I think it probably thinks I’m a loser! :-)

  6. Stacy

    Hahaha – Jon DVR’s a ton of shows and watches on his spare time. But I only have him DVR Grey’s anatomy and Bones for me! But I couldn’t tell you if I miss an episode or not! And when I do watch it, I just watch it and don’t fast forward – it drives Jon nuts, but I really hardly watch tv, and when I do I guess I just don’t really pay attention! Whoops.

    I too though am shocked at your list! AND that a DVR can hold so much!

    You don’t fast forward? That would drive me nuts too! :-)

    And I suspect that you’re filled with more horror and pity than shock. I need a life!

  7. angelina

    ~*wow kim! thats quite a list! but at least you can say you’re in the loop with all the shows! whenever someone mentions a show to me…i’m always lost!

    and fyi~you have a life! its awesome that you can live your life AND DVR all these goodies! who says you cant have it all.

    Ha! Thanks for the reassurance. I love that having a life and a bajillion DVR’ed shows can be considered “having it all”. :-)

  8. I am bad at remembering when shows are on. Right now I love the last season of LOST, Parenthood, Modern Family (but I can never remember when it’s on), the Office, Parks & Recreation. I love things like Antiques Roadshow (yep, I’m a dork), and other news shows. I try to catch Chelsea Lately or Daily Show or Colbert Report at night. I love Oprah but I don’t have DVR so I don’t see her much. We watch a lot of stuff on streaming Netflix.

    We streamed the first 2 seasons of Dexter through Netflix and I was really really disappointed to see that Season 3 wasn’t available for streaming.

  9. Meredith

    Every time I cut out a show from my DVR I quickly find something to replace it with! I am devoted to Glee, Project Runway, Survivor and Top Chef Masters. My DVR is currently holding about 20 episodes of True Life, lots of 16 and Pregnant, Sober House, Intervention, What Not to Wear, Hoarders and various music things I taped off Palladia. I save those things for days when I have hours of housework to do and just let them run since they don’t require my full attention!

    I didn’t even mention What Not to Wear… :-)

  10. The DVR certainly is dangerous. We end out watching a lot of shows that we wouldn’t normally simply because we can.

    Our huge weakness was Clean House on Style, (I don’t get it either,) and I liked to watch Ruby, if only because it inspired me to go exercise. Unfortunately, our cable company is a bitch and moved Style to digital cable only. I also like to watch anything that is a cooking competition or involving small children in too much makeup.

    What I’m really bad about, though, is on my days off I’ll turn on Bravo and leave it on all day while I putter around the house doing chores. As a result, I know waaaaaaay too much about the housewives, all Top Chef episodes, and all the various competition shows. (My favorite for a while was Shear Genius, totally dug Brig.)

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that I, too, watch entirely too much tv.

    I LOVE Bravo shows… Shear Genius (I was also a Brig fan), Top Chef, all the housewives…

  11. I went two whole years (and then some) without having tv. I mean, I had a tv, but I didn’t have any channels. So, if I did watch anything, I had to buy the complete season.

    Anyway, since I moved last year and I have a new man, I watch all kinds of tv. Though I am not a diehard who would not live if I miss a show. I can’t even keep track of the show schedules which makes missing shows inevitable. But these are some of the shows I like:

    • Amazing Race (watch this pretty religiously)
    • How I Met Your Mother (sometimes…sometimes I find it just plain stupid)
    • The Big Bang Theory
    • Accidentally on Purpose
    • Fringe (occasional…)
    • Bones (I heart Bones. She intelligent and lacks social skills which is how I feel most days.)
    • FlashForward
    • NCIS (I heart Gibbs. I have a thing for old guys I guess.)
    • Criminal Minds (I have a thing for psychological and behavioral analysis.)
    • Gary Unmarried
    • Law & Order: SVU
    • Hell’s Kitchen
    • Royal Pains
    • Keeping Up with the Kardashians

    I watch a few of those (Law & Order) when I’m just flipping through channels… but I can’t commit to DVR’ing them. :-)

  12. I am so with you. I love our DVR. I had a minor meltdown when our new DVR started to suck balls and missed recording my shows.

    We watch: Bones, Burn Notice, The Bachelor, Chuck, NCIS, Fringe, Glee, White Collar, Psych, Life Unexpected, Human Target, Accidentally on Purpose, Modern Family, The Office, In Plain Sight, Community, Parenthood, and Justified. Ridiculous!

    I watch at home alone a lot too (like now, when Sean’s working a 72)!

    Sadly – I had to cut Justified because I had way too many other shows!! But I did like it.

Leave a Reply

