Bake Off!

My department at work is hosting a “team building” function this week.  The function includes recreational sports/activities (no thanks), a trivia contest (yes please) and a bake-off.

Being the incredibly competitive person I am… strike that.  Being the UN-athletic incredibly competitive person that I am, I entered the bake-off.  I had recently come across a vegan dessert that looked amazing (vegan fruit tart) and decided to try my hand at baking something pretty.  This also gave me the opportunity to use the tart pan that I HAD to have when I was getting married… and have never used in the 3 years I’ve been married.

Because I’d never made this dessert before, I did a trial run last week.  My tester was Jeremy.

I mixed the crust in my food processor:
Vegan Tart Crust

I smooshed the crust into the pan:
Vegan Tart Crust - ready for filling

Vegan gelatin / fruit topping (what makes it vegan is the Agar flakes… and you find this in the Asian food aisle in Whole Foods. Or at least that was what a very frustrated Jeremy told me when I asked him to pick up the ingredients at the grocery store last week.):
Vegan gelatin stuff

Assembly (the fun part… although slicing the fruit wasn’t fun):
Assembling the Vegan Tart

Assembling the Vegan Tart

Vegan Tart - pre gelatin

The gelatin topping makes everything so shiny…
Vegan Fruit Tart - post gelatin

Vegan Fruit Tart

Want a slice?
Yum!

Think I have a shot at winning? I doubt I’ll win on flavor (although the verdict from Jeremy was that it was VERY good… but I’m going against a Mississippi Mud Pie and chocolate always wins over fruit). But I think I have a good shot at presentation.

What would you enter into a bake off?

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Eats

8 responses to “Bake Off!

  1. that looks amazing! one question tho … how the f*ck did you get it out of the tart pan?

    With my crouching tiger, hidden dragon moves.

    … or a tart pan that has a removable bottom so that you can easily slide a tart out of it. :-)

  2. ah, ok. i’ve never had the luxury of a tart pan … i suppose i should get married so i can get one.

    i have, however, used a springform pan for cheesecakes and i’m assuming the same principle applies. regardless, it looks AMAZING!

    i’d be willing to be a guinea pig in the future.

    Yes – the same principles apply.

    And I will keep you in mind for future baking endeavors!

  3. YUM!

    I’ve only been in one bake-off, which was at my work, too. I made this: http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1613,146175-229199,00.html mainly for the “wow” factor. I served it in a saran-wrap lined new clay pot. I also made smaller flowers and a mini white picket fence. I was all about the presentation.

    I won. Heh.

    You need to post a picture!

  4. Meredith

    That looks amazing! A tart pan with a removable bottom…who knew? :-) Good luck…kick some co-worker butt!

    Thanks!

  5. It certainly is pretty looking, and I’m sure the kiwi/peach/blueberry combination is yummy.

    I would make my Dad’s Zebra Cheesecake, either in its original milk/white chocolate version or my variation, raspberry/white chocolate. Either way, it’s beautiful to look at and the taste is amazing!

    Holy hell that sounds amazing!

  6. It looks so yummy! Good luck – though chocolate still may win out.

    Thanks! And you were right…

  7. One of my favorite flavors is Dorito. And peanut butter. And chocolate. Maybe not all together.

    Oooh – I love all of those. I bet putting them together wouldn’t be half bad.

Leave a Reply

