My Husband the Boy Scout

Despite being together for nearly 6 years (over 3 being married) – my husband still surprises me from time to time with his knowledge and skills in specific areas.

Example – he has a freakish knowledge about cars.  I’m not even kidding.  He knows more things about makes and models of old cars than I think is healthy.  I think that is an entirely different post.

This post is about how his spending 1 month (or some ridiculously short amount of time) in the Boy Scouts as a wee lad has really shaped some of his adult skillsets.  He has an incredible sense of direction.  Freakish almost.  We can be driving through a new city and while I am completely turned around and lost, he knows exactly where to go (or at least a good idea of how to get where we need to).  He pulled this skill out when we were driving through Edinburgh and got lost in the city.  Amazing.  And another reason I think we’d totally kick ass in the Amazing Race.

He can also read maps.  Isn’t it amazing how things like a GPS system or Google Maps has rendered most people my age and younger incapable of reading old school maps?  My husband can read them.

Anywho.  Last week we were in the Outer Banks (surprise!  bet you didn’t know we went on vacation).  On the last night, we all decided to have a little fire to make smores.  My husband busted out his sweet Boy Scout skills and made an awesome fire that lasted much longer than I wanted.  I bring to you lots of boring photos of a fire!  Enjoy!

Starting a fire

I realize he is sort of cheating by using a lighter but I was still impressed with his wood stacking skills.

Roasting marshmallows

Roasting marshmallows

Now a bunch of random pictures of twirling burning marshmallow roasting sticks at night with the camera  flash turned off:

Oh… we amuse ourselves so easily.

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Travels

4 responses to “My Husband the Boy Scout

  1. Have you ever looked into signing up for Amazing Race? My mom & BF are determined to get on the show and it’s a pretty sweet deal all around (even if you are the first ones kicked off!)

    I have but I always seem to miss the submission deadline!

  2. Meredith

    I knew you were on vacation :-)
    Hope you had a fantastic trip!!

    It was marvelous!

  3. Um, clearly you would kick ass at Amazing Race! He’s good with directions, and you’re Super Woman. Dominate!

    Right? I really need to get on the ball with this.

  4. I’m amazed that everyone doesn’t get lost in Baltimore with all those crazy streets that go east\west, and those other crazy streets that go north\south, and that darn sun, which we know has nothing to do with direction. It’s a complicated city.

    I’m sensing some sarcasm here. :-)

Leave a Reply

