The Money Pit (aka my house)

June is not shaping up to be a good month for us. 

While we both loving living in Baltimore City – we would like to move.  We long for a yard and more space.  However with the current state of the market and my piece of shit neighbors – we know we won’t be able to sell our house.  Plus with Jeremy still in school – we don’t want to leave just yet.

But we know that there are things we’ll need to do to our house just to make it sellable.  We decided to tackle a few of the things this summer.  What originally started with us just needing to replace our basement carpet has turned into a need for demolition, waterproofing and now a new sewage pipe.

FML.

We knew the waterproofing was going to need to get done.  We had 2 companies come out to check out our basement and give us a quote.  We settled with B-Dry because we had friends that used them with good results (plus they have a commercial that promotes them as one of the few trustworthy companies featured on Dateline).  They said they’d need us to remove the bottom half of our front wall in the basement (including the studs) and they’d jackhammer down the center of our basement to the back wall and then install a sump pump.

Cost?  $6700.

We had to move a bunch of our basement furniture upstairs so our house is a wreck.  For anyone that knows me – this disorder is MAKING ME CRAZY.  

They came out on Monday.  Jeremy said the guys were fantastic.  About mid-day they noted that our sewage pipe was leaking.  This came to light after Jeremy flushed the toilet.  He immediately thought they damaged the pipe and insisted on calling out a plumber.

He called several plumbers until one company said they could send someone within the hour.

The plumber’s visit resulted in the following:

  • the discovery that the sewage pipe leak was not a result of B-Dry.  It was clearly damaged prior to us moving in and someone did a shit job trying to “plug” it. 
  • our pipes were not “up to code”
    • the main surge line must sit vertically… not at the slight angle it is right now
    • the washer drain line was installed incorrectly (whatever that means)
  • our water heater was not “up to code”
    • our water heater resides in a closet that is not properly vented
    • our water heater is missing a pan
    • we have several pipes that run out of the water heater that are plastic when they should be metal
    • our refrigerator ice maker is hooked to the water heater and that is totally incorrect

Just to get everything “up to code” – $1700.  To fix the sewage leak?  Well that requires the following:

  • Installing an entirely new sewage line to connect to the city’s lines
  • Demo’ing our backyard (jackhammering through the concrete) to replace the line
  • taking down our back fence so they can get the damn back hoe (?) into our back yard to tear it up

That quote?  $7600.

FML.

The plumbing was all unexpected.  WTF?!  I guess we’re not going on another vacation for the next few years.  And it almost feels like all of these events are coming up where we either need $$ or we need our house to be in shape for people to actually come over.  Shoot me now.

Words cannot begin to express the amount of stress I am feeling.  I feel sick.  But here are some crappy cell phone pictures of our basement for your viewing pleasure:

We at “Charm City Kim” are currently accepting donations ranging from…

  • Taking my place at a bachelorette party this weekend (only $50)
  • Hosting a party including
    • Food
    • drink
    • Cleanup

And cash is always welcome.  :-)

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

7 responses to “The Money Pit (aka my house)

  1. Noooooooooooooooooo….

    [taking a breath]

    oooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

    I feel sick on your behalf, Kim.

    Thank you! I think yesterday I was at my wit’s end. I’m feeling less dramatic today but oy. I just want to yell, “COME ON!!” at this situation.

  2. Holy ass crackers! Looks like somewhere along the line, someone fucked up hardcore. You need to submit yourself for the Holmes on Homes guy, the one in overalls who comes in and fixes all your bad construction and re-lays your foundation while he’s in there. Plus, then you’d be on tv. And I could watch and be all like, “Look! On tv! That’s my friend!” Except I never watch that show, so I’d probably miss it.

    I watch that show all the time (actually my husband does). I think he only films in Canada. Dammit!

  3. Meredith

    Holy ass crackers…I love that! :-)

    But your home issues suck ass. I feel like every time you try to do something in the house that one thing snowballs into five things and it’s always way more time and way more money than anticipated. The joys of home ownership :-( I wish I had some good connections for you and could get you better rates to do the work but the contractors I work with don’t do residential.

    Where should I send my check? :-)

    Dammit! Are you sure they aren’t willing to do residential? :-)

  4. Is this posting eligible for Failblog?

    It should be… mostly about how our home inspector FAILED to catch any of these problems! WTF?!

  5. oh no. what a mess. I am SO sorry. I am planning to print out these pictures and compare to how the set up is in our basement, so thank you for that!

    Definitely take a look – I’m wondering if this is a common Baltimore rowhome rehab thing…

  6. Wow. Just wow. First of all, I would call your asshat home inspector and let him know all this. Preferably send him this blog post with the photos.

    Second, the more I read your post, the sicker I felt. That is a LOT of money. I am SO sorry. I would have had a nervous breakdown that lasted for weeks.

    ALTHOUGH, if you really want to scrape to see the good side, the new home inspector probably would have spotted all this for the person buying your home and then you would have moved up in the world and would have had a real financial fix on your hands.

    Also, some of that stuff sounds wildly unsafe. So I’m glad that even if you’re broke, at least you won’t die in a fire?

    Sending non-hugs support to you.

    First – thank you for the non-hugs support! :-)

    And you’re right… the expense sucks but we know that when we go to sell the house, if we HADN’T addressed these issues, the new home inspector would probably catch it all. Oh well!

  7. Pingback: Plumbing Update « Charm City Kim

Leave a Reply

