Daily Archives: June 23, 2010

Wedding Dress Blues

If you recall, last year I lent my wedding dress to one of my best friends’ brother’s fiance (wow, what a tongue twister).  They were footing the bill for their wedding and I felt a little bad for them.  I wanted to offer anything that would help them alleviate costs.

The bride-to-be is roughly the same size as me.  Though she has a tinier waist and slightly wider hips (basically – she’s more of an hourglass shape whereas I’m a rectangle) – we’re the same height.  I told her she would have to get it cleaned and she could go ahead and alter it if necessary.

The wedding was this past Saturday at Oregon Ridge Park.  If you recall, it was over 90 degrees on Saturday… and they had an outdoor ceremony.  Oh, and the reception hall?  It WAS NOT AIR CONDITIONED!  Anywho.

I ran into the mother of the bride who gushed about how stunning her daughter looked in my dress and that I was SO generous to let her wear it.  The groom also gushed and thanked me.  The bride-to-be actually bought me a small gift as a token of her appreciation!  It was all lovely.

But you know what?  I hated seeing someone else in my wedding dress.  I really did.  It made me cringe.  She looked fabulous but I couldn’t shake the whole, “that is MY dress” from my head.

Even better?  When we were going down the receiving line after the ceremony (which was adorable.  They had an awesome minister!) – the mother of the bride gushed again.

MOB: Didn’t she look stunning?

Me: Yes!  I even said to Jeremy, “was I that tiny on our wedding day?”

MOB: Oh, I’m sure you were stunning but [bride] had to get it taken in a lot.

Me: {silence}

I think the mother of the bride called me a heffer.  Jeremy laughed and I spent the rest of the evening feeling like a fatty.  I mean, who says that?!  Anywho – I thought I’d post some pictures (I blocked out their faces since I didn’t really get their permission to blog about their wedding) as well as 2 pictures of me in my wedding dress for comparison.

The bride:

My wedding dress on someone else

My wedding dress on someone else

And as if I needed another reason to post pictures of me on my wedding day… (I tried to find some in a similar pose):

I don’t think I look THAT much bigger than the bride in my own dress.  Geez.

AND I heard that she didn’t get anything taken in… WTF?!

13 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles