New Job, New Attitude

 

This month is my birthday month and I’d be lying if I said I was in a bit of a funk about it. 

However – I started a new job this month.  I’m still working for the same company but I moved to a new group into a higher position (yay promotion!).  And the best part?  I’m working in downtown Baltimore!  No longer am I driving 30 miles to get to work.  Now I drive like 5.  It is awesome.

I’m pretty stoked about my new downtown digs but I am also fearful for my waistline (hello amazing lunch options!) and my wallet (hello shopping!).  I’m still getting adjusted to my new office location but wanted to share some highlights from my first week…

I moved into a position left open from a woman who left the company.  This means that she left all her stuff behind (and I wasn’t anticipating that).  Lots of binders, supplies and papers.  As I was shuffling through some of the papers (I was going to throw them out), I came across this:

Image of a page from a desk calendar

(click to enlarge)

It made me laugh out loud because I had all of these notions that the downtown office was more “stuffy” and uptight.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  While some folks here are uber professional, I’m finding that most people are nice, chatty and funny.  That note put me at ease (although I’m not one to leave my underwear anywhere but my house… that just gives me the heeby jeebies).

I’ve been learning the personalities and quirks of everyone on my new team but it seems the biggest challenge will be for me… when football season rolls around.  Despite working on a team of mostly women – everyone here is a HUGE football fan.  btw – I totally realize that assuming women don’t like football is a stereotype but sometimes stereotypes are born from truth.  You know what I mean!

I’m really liking it over here and just as I was basking in the glow of my ridiculously shortened commute – one of my coworkers brought me a red velvet cupcake this morning:

Image of a red velvet cupcake
Happy Friday!

5 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

5 responses to “New Job, New Attitude

  1. Meredith

    You forgot to mention being close to your awesome friends who are totally willing to meet for lunch and/or shopping on any given day :-)

    Glad you’re enjoying the new place. The shortened commute alone is bask-worthy!

    YES! We should plan a lunch soon!

  2. Congratulations on the promotion and change in location! Sounds like an awesome new setup. That road trip tip made me laugh out loud – does anyone really do that? I mean, yes, I brought some “disposable” clothes and shoes on my Euro trip knowing I’d be doing some shopping, but I certainly wasn’t planning to purposefully LEAVE my clothes in public places!

    Right? I think I’m just too cheap to leave clothes in public places. I want my stuff back! :-)

  3. I am super jealous. I have always wanted to work in the city to shorten my commute! congrats on the promotion.

    Thanks!

  4. Vonni

    I think that’s a great idea for a road trip. But then again I’ve bought more clothes than I can count on road trips for a variety of reasons. Congrats on the promotion and shortened commute. When you get to a walk by of the coffee maker in the morning on you way to commute let me know. And this just makes me wish I lived in B’more more. :)

    Thanks!

    As for road trips… I am the worst packer for any vacation. I overpack like a mofo…

  5. Sounds like you’re in a great office! But here’s hoping your predecessor didn’t leave behind a Welcome gift of her own!

    That would be creepy if she did!

Leave a Reply

