Daily Archives: July 16, 2010

Earthquakes and Why I Sometimes Think I’d be a Bad Mom

So apparently there was an earthquake in Maryland this morning.  I didn’t even notice.  The earthquake occurred at 5:04am.

I normally wake up at 5:15am every weekday morning (and yes, you read that correctly so hopefully this helps shed some light as to why I go to bed so early… or eat dinner at 5pm like a senior citizen) but this morning I woke up at 5:05am.  I was really irritated too because hello?  That was 10 more minutes of sleep I could have gotten but now I can’t really fall back asleep because I know my alarm will go off.

I didn’t hear or feel any shaking/rattling of the house but apparently Jeremy did.  I think that the earthquake probably woke me up but obviously not until after the fact.  I wonder if I’d be aware of a fire in my house before it reached my bedroom.  Would the smoke wake me?  Yikes.

In other “I slept through an earthquake” news – my dog, Petie, was apparently very sick last night.  Here is where I think I’d make a bad mom.  He hopped out of bed around 1am this morning.  I thought he was just hot but I heard him pacing the floor.  I got up and put him back in bed and he jumped back out again.  I’ve been exhausted lately and since I had a big meeting at work, I asked Jeremy to take Petie outside.

Apparently Petie had peed on the bedroom carpet, had diarrhea (outside) and puked.  I didn’t even realize the poor guy was in distress.  :-( 

The day can only get better, right?

Are you a light sleeper?

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles