Anthropomorphism

Anthropomorphism is probably one of my favorite words.  It was introduced to me in graduate school and its definition is what made me fall in love with it.  Why?  because I am totally guilty of anthropomorphizing everything.  Just ask Jeremy about my brave little toaster oven that I was practically in tears over giving away.  Or when I bought a new car – I cried saying goodbye to my old car.  I actually took a minute, alone in the car, to say a proper goodbye.

Attribution of human motivation, characteristics, or behavior to inanimate objects, animals, or natural phenomena.

As I was walking into work this morning (and for the last few mornings), I’ve been walking by a grouping of trees filled with birds:

A picture of trees with a ton of birds in them.

Its not a clear picture (it was 5:30am and I was taking it with my phone) so its hard to see the birds in the trees.  But there are a TON of birds.  There are so many birds that I won’t walk UNDER the trees because I’m sure I’ll get pooped on.

However, what I love about this walk (aside from the potential danger of being pooped on – it keeps me on my toes) is how LOUD the birds are.  Its like there is some sort of bird convention or family reunion happening in these trees and the birds are just trying to talk over one another. 

Sadly – it brightens up my day… just thinking about birds gabbing and gossiping to each other.

And perhaps I’ve shed some light on why I’m a crazy vegetarian?

2 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

2 responses to “Anthropomorphism

  1. Hahahaha I anthropomorphize everything too :) My sister thinks it’s hilarious. Good to know I’m not the only one!

    I’m glad I’m not the only one either!

  2. To defend my other carnivorous brethren, it’s not like we eat cute little birdies. Just ugly, stupid ones.

    Haha! well as long as its only the stupid ones… :-)

Leave a Reply

