My Birthday Gifts

Sorry for  the long absence… there have been a few things I wanted to post about (camping and my bday trip to the Poconos) but I haven’t uploaded the pictures and have been way too lazy to even bother.

However, to circumvent this – I took some pictures with my cell phone so I’d have something to share with my 10 readers.  You’re welcome.

As you recall – I turned 30 last week.  However, if you ask my mother, she’ll tell you I turned 31.  Despite me doing the math – she still firmly believes that I am 31.  Anywho.

I’ve been a bit of a curmudgeon this month about my birthday.  I was feeling old and lame and just didn’t really want to make a big deal out of turning 30 (although had you asked me last year – I totally expected a giant surprise party with an 80s prom theme). 

I took some days off of work because I refuse to work on my birthday.  Jeremy took the same days off.  I had no plans.  I really thought I was just going to lounge around and maybe even hit up the pool or something.  But Jeremy definitely surprised me on the morning of my birthday.

First – he gave me this…

An image of earrings.

I was quite surprised to get such nice earrings… especially since when he asked for my birthday wish list, I had things like a netbook, a juicer, a sewing machine and random books.  When he handed me the small box, I looked at him and asked, “Are you proposing… again?”

He said that he wanted to get me something that would last a long time and not just a few years like the items I had on my birthday wish list.  Now I have fancy earrings.  Wahoo!

Then he handed me a red folder and said, “are you ready to see what I have planned for today?” and this is what I saw:

an image of the birthday note.

In case you can’t read it, it says

Have you ever wanted to sleep in a round bed???

Have you ever wanted to swim in a heart shaped pool???

Have you ever wanted to bathe in a chmpagne glass???

If you answered yes to any of these questions then it is your lucky day…

and if you answered no to all of these questions it is your un-lucky day

I hope you’re ready to party like its 1980!

Jeremy had booked a 2 night stay in the cheesiest hotel in the Poconos!  And our trip to the Poconos deserves its own post (I have lots of pictures of the resort) but it was hilarious.  Here’s a quick snapshot of one of our room’s amenities:

Image of a heart-shaped pool

That’s right – there was a heart-shaped pool IN OUR ROOM.

The last gift…(actually, it was the first thing he gave me but in the interest of this blog it made more sense to post this picture last) was a t-shirt that Jeremy had customized for me…

If you can’t read it, it says

I’m not fat… I’m growing a baby

Happy birthday to me!

30 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds, Charm City Kim Rambles

30 responses to “My Birthday Gifts

  1. Wait, you’re pregnant? When did you make this announcement? I must be under a rock.

    P.S. Happy Belated Birthday! I’m glad you enjoyed yourself!

    I guess this post was my official announcement… so you definitely weren’t living under a rock! :-)

  2. hiliv

    You need to cross off the last item in your 101 in 1001! How exciting!

    Good catch! I forgot about that list item!

  3. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!

    So excited for you!!! You guys are going to be amazing parents!

    xoxo

    Thank you! And words cannot begin to describe how difficult it is to NOT blog about this! I’m so glad I can now.

  4. hiliv

    Haha um clearly I’m a little OCD. Congrats!

    You’re just observant! :-)

  5. Kt

    Yippee! So glad the news is out in the open. Seriously so excited for you guys.

    Thank you!

  6. krista

    Wow! So you’re going to have an actual BIRTH-day in a few months!! ;-)

    Crazy, isn’t it??

  7. Oh my goodness! You sneaky sneaky! Congrats! :)

    Haha! Thank you… and it was SO HARD to not blog about this earlier!

  8. omg – CONGRATS!

    Thank you!

  9. Meredith

    I was wondering when you were going to spill the beans…I mean I’ve known for a whole three days now…ha! Congrats again to you and Jeremy. Such exciting news!! I love the shirt! And I cannot wait to read all about your trip and see the fantastic photos!

    Thank you! And hey – you knew 3 days ahead of a lot of people!

  10. sjmonk5

    YES!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so freakin’ excited for you guys!

    Aw – thanks!

  11. Awww! Congrats!

    That t-shirt was the perfect way to make the announcement.

    Also – look at that, according to your comments section you have 11 readers, not 10 :)

    I’m pretty excited that it seems I have more than 10 readers!

    And thank you. :-)

  12. KristyD

    So, I have been reading your blog for months, came across it from MV’s blog who photographed one of my friends. As a fellow runner, photographer, foodie, etc. I really enjoy your humor! Just wanted to say congrats on the baby news, I also just found out I am expecting on Feb 10. So congratulations all the way from Saint Louis!!!

    Thank you for commenting! And don’t you just love MV?

    I’m due on Feb 7th! We’re so close!

  13. Mary

    Congratulations! That is so so so exciting! Happy Birthday to you!

    Thank you!

  14. Congratulations and Happy Birthday! Lots of good things happening!

    Thank you!

  15. Oh you sneaky thing. I actually stared at the shirt like “What? When? How?” and then thought “wait, I know HOW” Congrats!!!!!

    Haha!! Thanks! :-)

  16. angelina

    ~*yay! so it’s officially announced now?!? This means we can chat about ur baby out loud!!! I’m so happy for u guys! Ur baby can call me *auntie c-boogie! Love ya girly!

    I like the sound of auntie c-boogie! I think I’ll teach my child to refer to ALL asians as chinaboogies.

  17. AH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Oh my goodness!!!!!! I’m so happy for you two!! When are you due?!?!?!?
    (I hope you can get a clear picture of my excitement..I’m not sure if I’ve used enough exclamation points).

    Hahaha!! I’m due on Feb 7th. And can I just say that Jenn & I were DYING when we saw what you had posted on her FB status when she announced her pregnancy. :-)

  18. Sarah

    Congratulations Kim!! And happy birthday as well!

    Thank you!

  19. Julia

    Happy Birthday from a fellow 1980 baby! I heart your blog! It makes me smile! :) Congrats on your baby announcement! That is one awesome shirt!

    1980 was a good year! :-)

    And thank you!

  20. CT

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you!
    Also, I’m not pregnant but I still totally want that shirt. It’s adorable!

    Thank you! Now I just need you to start offering pregnancy massages! :-)

  21. I just saw this short online a week ago and thought- toooo cute.

    Big congrats to your little family!

    Thank you!

  22. OMG. OMG!

    Congratulations!!!!!!!! So excited for you!No wonder your postings have been light…you’ve been keeping a secret!!

    Tell us more!!! How have you been feeling? 30 is going to be an amazing year for you.

    Haha! It is hard to blog about other things when this news is basically my life these days!!

    And thank you! I’ve been feeling pretty good for the last few weeks but there were a few weeks where I felt like I’d been hit by a car!

  23. I believe I am going to open up a psychic hotline! That’s so cute that you’re both having babies close together! Aunt Cathy must be thrilled!!

    You really should! And I love that we’re having babies so close together. Its great to be able to share this experience with someone AND to have a veteran that I can ask all of my naive questions to!

  24. You know, when I said either quit writing tweets that make me think you’re preggers or be preggers? I didn’t think you’d take me seriously.

    But freakin’ congratulations, you MILF! They’ll be such pretty babies…

    When you wrote that – I was dying to say something. But thank you!

  25. Ahhh!!!!! Yay!!! Congratulations! That’s so awesome!

    Thank you!

  26. CT

    I do offer pregnancy massage! I just don’t charge extra for it so it’s not listed as a separate service :) Let me know when you reach your second trimester and I’d be happy to help you and Charm City Baby stay nice and relaxed! Congrats again!

    Excellent! Thanks, Claire!

  27. Dude, I leave the internet for three days and you get knocked up! I found out on twitter when you linked to your FAQs about your pregnancy post. My jaw dropped!

    Congratulations – I’m so thrilled for you two!

    Haha – yeah, I didn’t really make a big official announcement or anything. But thank you!! :-)

  28. Vonni

    Holy crap! This is what happens when I leave the interwebs for a quick vacay! Congratulations! Now this also explains why Jeremy was sooo hungover and you were driving. LOL

  29. You’re pregnant?!!!! :-)

    Work is so boring now that you’re gone.

  30. Congratulations!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

