Answering the Basics (about my pregnancy)

Okay – so I’ve continued to be incredibly lazy this week and still have not uploaded my Poconos pictures.  That is what the weekend is for – I swear that post is coming.

But since making my big announcement the other day, I thought I’d answer some very basic questions that I’ve been asked.

When are you due?
February 7, 2011 (not sure why I felt inclined to include the year because if I delivered in 2012, this would be one hell of a pregnancy)

Was this planned?
Yes!  I’ve gotten quite a few, “was this a happy surprise or was this planned?”  I mean – I was surprised mostly because we had been trying since the end of last year.  I had reached a point where I thought I was infertile.  I also felt that God was playing a cruel joke on me because in the timeframe that we were trying, I found out that 4 girls were pregnant.  I heard about 4 others after my positive pregnancy test and I probably would have had a complete meltdown otherwise.

Incidentally – my sister-in-law is pregnant with baby #2 and she is 3 weeks ahead of me.  Another girlfriend (hi, Traci!) is also due 3 weeks ahead of me.  Its pretty exciting to be able to go through a pregnancy with friends (especially one that is a veteran… because I’ve been asking lots of questions).

I’m surprised at this news – you’ve always said you didn’t want kids.  What changed?
You know – this is a weird one for me.  I’m still terrified of babies.  I don’t know what to do with them.  But early last year, something changed in me and I just had a feeling that I wanted to be a mom and it was “time”.  I hate to say it was a biological clock thing because I don’t think that was it.  Jeremy and I had talked about being parents “someday”.  With him still in school – it seemed it wouldn’t happen for another 2 years.  I have other factors in my life (most notably aging parents with one that isn’t in the best of health) that perhaps set off my “clock”.

Are you going to find out the baby’s sex?
Heck yeah!  While I totally respect parents that wait for it to be a surprise in the delivery room, I just don’t operate that way.  If I have the ability to find out sooner – I will.  I am impatient.  And to me – its still a surprise.  I’m just going to be surprised at 18 weeks instead of at 40 weeks.

So while I respect those parents that choose to wait until 40 weeks, I hope they respect my decision to find out sooner.

Do you want a boy or a girl?
I know the appropriate answer is to say, “I just want a healthy baby” (even though I don’t know when selecting a particular gender and a baby’s health became a mutually exclusive thing).  Honestly – I’m hoping for a boy.  I know Jeremy’s hoping for a boy.  If we have a girl – I’ll still be thrilled (its not like I’ll give her away) but I do secretly want a boy.  Oh and if its a girl – I’ll never tell her that I wanted a boy.  :-)

I’ll blog about how we announced our news to our families and some other related stuff.  I also promise to not turn this into a pregnancy blog.  While I’m sure I’ll blog about it (how can I not?) – I recall losing a few readers during my marathon training.  I want to keep my readers!

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

4 responses to “Answering the Basics (about my pregnancy)

  1. Ugh, I need to pay more attention to blogs I follow! Congrats! Soooo exciting!

    Haha! No worries – I haven’t been keeping up with many or the blogs I follow either!

  2. Factor

    Does this mean that Jeremy can’t go boarding with me this winter? Just kidding! Congrats!

    He could still go with you… in fact, he SHOULD because I’m definitely not going to be able to do much. :-)

  3. Congratulations!! I totally missed the post saying you were preggers! That’s so amazing! I can’t wait to read all about your experiences on the blog~!

    Thank you!

  4. Can’t wait to hear more about the little Sea Monkey!

    Just do me favor, mm-kay? Make sure you write plenty of descriptions of how miserable the pregnancy is and how the birth totally decimates your body. I rely on those posts to strengthen my desire to never ever squeeze out a puppy of my own.

Leave a Reply

