Daily Archives: August 9, 2010

Turkeys & Tacos? (or “My Trip to the Turks & Caicos”)

We just returned from what may be our last vacation in a very long while.  Some may consider this a “baby moon” but we really just needed a damn vacation before the madness of Jeremy’s semester starts up again and then I plop out a bambino.

This trip was originally supposed to take place in Napa Valley where my gorgeous cousin Ji just got hitched (she got married yesterday).  I was super stoked when we received her invite and I saw where it would be.  Jeremy and I promptly took the time off of work and then started looking into planning the trip…

… and then I found out I was pregnant.  Now here’s the downside of pregnancy.  You can’t drink.  That is some bullshit, right?  Apparently drinking + pregnancy = defected babies.  Or something like that.  I love watching movies that take place in the 40s & 50s and they feature pregnant women chain smoking and sipping on brandy. 

Anywho.  I love my cousin and I’d still LOVE to go to Napa Valley, but we couldn’t justify the price tag of the trip when I couldn’t even enjoy some vino.  I told my cousin and apologized profusely (and hope that the sweet new blender we sent them makes up for it).

I figured with the pregnancy – we weren’t going to do anything but Jeremy had a different idea.  He pitched the fact that we already had the time off and that this may be the last vacation we have together… just the two of us (we can make it if we trrrrryyy… go ahead and say “just the two of us” and not hum that damn song).  He began looking at last minute deals to the Caribbean and we booked a trip to Turks & Caicos.

And holy shit – I love that place.  I’ve only been to a few places in the Caribbean but Turks & Caicos (or Turkeys and Tacos as Jeremy likes to call it… won’t he make a swell dad?) is hands down the best place we’ve gone.  It was apparently their low season (since its hurricane season) and we loved it.  There were still people there (and lots of babies… and they are super cute in their little swim wear and hats) but overall it was just the perfect amount of crowd and quiet we wanted.

So here’s a picture montage…

The view from our balcony (we stayed in an “ocean view” suite with a full kitchen)

It wasn’t the swankiest place we’ve ever stayed but we loved the fact that it had a full kitchen.  There was a grocery store about a mile down the road so we were able to buy food to prep (and as a vegetarian… this was amazing).

This was also the first tropical/beachy trip we’ve taken where I haven’t ended up with heat rash.  I basically parked myself under an umbrella for most of the time and wore some crazy, super thick, chemical-free SPF (it was 20% zinc oxide so it didn’t rub in totally… so I was a nice shade of white).

The place had Hobie Cats and kayaks that you could check out for free.  We kayaked for about 20 minutes until I realized it was too much work.  And the day we finally took out the Hobie Cat there was NO wind.  We caught a gust of wind and I sailed us pretty far from shore.  And then we were stuck.  And then Jeremy got pissed and accused me of trying to kill us.  We obviously made it back to shore.

They had several pools at The Royal West Indies (where we stayed) and Jeremy enjoyed himself in the kiddie pool.

Us at sunset.  This was apparently a very popular time for people to snap photos on the beach.  We saw a few couples setting up posed photos laying on the beach and one guy was even (what appeared to be) professionally photographing his very pregnant wife. 

I saw quite a few pregnant women on this vacation and also quite a few infants.  I’m not sure if I’m just more aware of them now but I felt like they were frickin’ everywhere. 

It rained every day that we were there for only about 10 minutes each time.  The weather was probably around 90 degrees everyday but oy, the humidity.  But it was awesome.  The people were friendly.  The resort was great.  We were conveniently located near a grocery store and other restaurants.  I highly recommend this place.

Now back to the grind…

1 Comment

Filed under Charm City Kim Travels