My Not Fun Registering Experience

I remember registering for my wedding a few years ago and it was fun.  A lot of fun.  At one place, we even got to enjoy champagne while registering.

Registering for your first baby at a baby superstore (Babies R Us) is the opposite of fun.  It sucks.  It sucks balls.

Unfortunately for us, Babies R Us is the only big baby retailer near us.  I loathe this store.  The tons of baby showers I’ve attended and my experience in picking up a shower present have made me hate Babies R Us.  There is JUST SO MUCH STUFF and I feel like it is everywhere. 

However, while we had a small window of free time between Jeremy’s studies, our house work and whatever else we’ll be doing over the next couple of weekends to get our house in shape – I wanted to register.  I figured the process would take under an hour.

We arrived at BRU around 7pm on a Saturday night.  Yes, this is how we spent our Saturday evening.  Don’t be jealous.  We had just purchased a BOB Revolution stroller from REI (they were having a 15% BOB strollers sale and I had given up on trying to find a used one on Craigslist.  Seriously – those things are like GOLD on there.  I contacted a women like 25 minutes after she posted her Bob stroller and someone had already reached out to her!  Crazy.  But I digress…).

I was surprised to see 2 couples ahead of us chatting with the employee manning the registration desk.  Seriously?  It is a Saturday night.  We waited for about 10 minutes and then it was our turn.  The employee was super nice but I think BRU is running a scheme on parents-to-be.  They hand you a “checklist” of must-have baby items and it is INSANE.

There are items on there that you will not be needing for a few months, maybe even a year.  I live in a shoebox!  My space is limited and precious.

Jeremy and I approached registering with the “less is more” approach.  We just wanted the basics.  We weren’t going to be dazzled by the crap.  But holy fuck – when you walk up and down the aisles, it is hard to keep your thoughts straight.

How many receiving blankets do you need?  How many crib sheets?  What about bottles?  Everyone registers for those Sleep Sacks so clearly we need one.  Or two?  I don’t know!  And swaddle stuff.  What swing is worth it?  What playpen?  AAAAHHHHHH!  I almost had a breakdown a few times.

Still – I thought we did a decent job.  We turned in our registry gun at the same time as another girl (whose family seriously smelled like they had been chain smoking for the last 20 years in a broken down car or something… I could smell them a few aisles over and always had to walk away). 

The registry employee looked as us and said, “you have 84 items” and then looked at the other girl and said, “wow – you guys have 165 items!”  Who needs 165 things?!

I’ve since gone back through our registry to add some things and change some things based on reviews in Baby Bargains, online and through friends.

We don’t have a “theme” to the nursery.  And while we know we’re having a baby girl – we both tend to be drawn to the neutral stuff… or the blue stuff.  Can I just say that I hate that blue = boy.  I like blue.  Last I checked, I had a vagina. 

If I had to do this all over again, I don’t know how I’d do it differently.  I think, as a store, I’d offer treats to the pregnant ladies to make their experience more enjoyable.  Instead I was offered printed cards that I could hand out to friends & family indicating where I registered.  Really, BRU?  While I guffawed at that, the couple ahead of us asked for 15 sheets (there were 16 cards per sheet).  WTF?  I need friends like that.  But seriously – that seems a bit douchey, no?  Handing out a bunch of cards to your friends & family and saying, “here – buy me stuff… but this time I won’t be paying for a large catered party with an open bar”.

I also registered on Amazon.com as well because they carried some stuff that I love but that was not available at BRU.  Online registering is awesome but I know the chances of getting a gift via Amazon are pretty slim.  However, I use Amazon wish lists to keep track of things I read about that I want to check out later.  My wish list is full of books and music.  Anywho…

For any parents out there – any “must have” items that you suggest I should add?  Any nonsense items that most rookies as for (and receive) but never use?

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

7 responses to “My Not Fun Registering Experience

  1. I hate BRU too. I have purchased so many baby gifts from there (yes the little card was included in the invitation to the shower), and am so burned out that I just buy a gift card now. Even that is painful.

    I’m glad you’re registered, though, and most people are happy to have a list from which to choose.

  2. Have you considered checking out your favorite stores and seeing if they offer baby items AND an online registry? I did online registries with Target where people could shop in store or online and I liked that much better. I am not a fan of BRU’s process because they are out to intimidate people to register for more than needed (ex: Wow – you have 165 items!). As far as the essentials, don’t feel bad for including diapers on your registry. Trust me, getting diapers (in any size) at a shower is a huge benefit. I didn’t have to buy any for at least a month with all three of mine. Crib sheets, I had 4. That meant doing laundry more often but 4 was just enough. You could always shoot for 7. The crib padding underneath the sheet is a must. I had 3 of those and they were wonderful because I didn’t have to clean those as often. The sacks are great for infants but once they start crawling you don’t want those. I think I had about 5 because mine didn’t wear them all the time. If you are bf’ing, a pump might be good to have on hand. Which means bottles. Those you will want a lot of those. I had about 5 or 6 small ones of those. Also a thermometer, some diaper rash cream (Bordeaux’s butt paste is best), and plenty of socks. Socks disappear like crazy too so have at least a dozen pairs to start. Oh and back to bottles, 2 bottle brushes! Pacifiers are ok but I wouldn’t put those on a registry. Mostly because some babies don’t take them (my older two never did) and they are inexpensive that if you need one you can get one. A baby tub and some gentle soap. A pack or two of the baby washcloths that are uber soft for their skin. Some babies also need baby laundry soap. All of mine would get rashes on their bottom if I used regular detergent. Not all babies have that problem so only get one small box of it and wait and see. Worst case scenario, you don’t use it and can pass it on to someone else. Oh and a bumper pad or two to keep those arms free from the bars. My SIL didn’t have one and her poor daughter got stuck one day.

    Things that can wait are baby feeding sets and toys that involve a lot of crawling. You can put on their the little things that hang from a baby carrier and small rattles to get her interested. You can include them on the registry but they won’t be used for awhile. You can also always include gift cards on the registry that can be used later on for things you will need. Just check on the fees for cards. You don’t want one that gets eaten up in fees if you don’t use it for a long time. Oh AND get the hand socks. Their nails grow really fast and it keeps them from scratching their face. And little baby nail clippers!

    Oh and take into consideration small board books that you all can read to her. I read to all three of mine from the moment they were out the womb and all three have had a huge vocabulary at a young age and learned to read quite quickly. You don’t have to have many on hand and they are small enough not to take up that much room.

    It’s been a long time since I did this so I might have missed a few things lol.

  3. The key to showering, getting dressed and having some breakfast for us was the bouncy chair. I wouldn’t invest in a swing until you know your baby’s preference. Toby HATED the swing but the vibrating bouncy chair? HEAVEN. I would stick him in there, put him by the shower so I could take a shower in peace knowing he was right there. Also, the bouncy chair takes up less space! A boppy pillow is also a must… that’s the only place Toby would fall asleep for naps.

    Things we wish we would have NOT registered for:

    –a travel system.. we ended up getting a snap and go stroller that was lighter and more convenient… the car seat just snapped on to it. The stroller that came with the travel system was WAY too bulky so we ended up getting something else when he outgrew the infant seat.

    –a pack n play. I think we used it all of two times. Unless you plan to travel a lot, it’s really not that useful.

    –blankets. We got like 50 of them and used maybe two.

    –bottle warmer. Use warm/hot water… works the same.

    –wipes warmer… really?

    –baby bath products. You need to test this out for yourself. We got TONS of products and Toby was allergic to every single one. You’re better off registering for all natural products that you know will be safe.

    –a baby bathrobe. I have NO idea what I was thinking on this one. When will you have you baby lounging after a bath?

  4. Big ass bottle of vodka for you and Daddy. (After the peanut is born, of course.)

  5. Sorry to come back and comment. I saw you registered for gdiapers. One of my good friends is a cloth diaper queen so I feel like I’ve cloth diapered along with her. Watch out for the cost of gdiapers! You’re not really saving money if you have to keep buying inserts! For the amount of money you spend on gdiapers and disposable inserts (that you have to keep buying), you can get awesome cloth diapers and inserts that are not disposable and can be reused. If cost is not an issue then go for it! ;)

  6. Kt

    Just sent you a list!

  7. 2 things that aren’t really about registering but I find helpful: Amazon has a program called Amazon Mom that you can sign up for once your daughter is here; it gives you free Amazon Prime membership for 3 months, and they extend it one month for every order of $25 or more from the baby section of Amazon, up to 1 year. The Prime membership applies to all purchases, though, so you can get free shipping on everything!
    Also, I don’t know if they have it in your area, but Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library is a great program; they send your baby 1 book per month until they are 5 years old. They are age appropriate (so far we have been getting board books), and cute. And it’s free! If you google “Imagination Library” the website will come up. There were a couple locations in Maryland (under affiliates in the about us section), but I’m not sure if you live in either one.
    Good luck! I remember registering. It was way more stressful than wedding registering. And you are right (on your most recent entry); everyone uses different things. We use a TON of blankets and burp cloths, but the poster above doesn’t use many blankets at all.
    Oh, and check with your health insurance company; mine paid for a breast pump (double electric, cost usually around $200)! Some won’t, but mine did with a prescription from my doctor (written before my baby was even born). A huge savings, and it’s been great for pumping at work/building up my stored supply at home.

Leave a Reply

