Blank canvas (How I Feel Completely Overwhelmed When it Comes to Decorating the Nursery)

As I mentioned the other day, we had some professional painters come to our house to paint our bedroom, the bathroom and the future nursery.  We’ve hired these guys before and they did a phenomenal job with our hallway so it was a no-brainer to hire them again for the rooms.  As I have gotten older, I’ve learned that there are a few things that I’ll willing to pay money for and painting is one of them.  I loathe painting.

I spent the first half of the day hiding in my basement like a weenie because I didn’t want to seem like I was bothering the painters… the painters that I was paying.  The really awful part was the fact that I spent a good chunk of the day completely dehydrated because I didn’t want to have to pee.  We only have 1 bathroom and I didn’t want to go upstairs.  It wasn’t a good day.

I’ll post before and after pictures of the paint but just know that these guys did a kick-ass job.  Not only did they caulk, spackle and sand the walls (on top of what Jeremy had already done), they banged out the job in 8 hours and it would have easily taken me & Jeremy a month to complete. 

We’re having our carpets cleaned this weekend and then we’re officially in reorganizing/redecorating our room and decorating the nursery mode.

The nursery is blue with white trim.  I love white trim.  I don’t understand off-white trim.  White trim just looks so clean and crisp.  Because I love how light and airy the room now feels, we also wanted to go with white furniture.  We have SO MUCH dark wood furniture in our house that we really need to lighten things up in the rooms.

I think we’re going with this crib:

It has a matching dresser/changing table but we’re not going to get it… mostly because it has more dark wood features and it costs more than the damn crib.  Seriously – just slap the word “baby” in front of furniture and it automatically increases the price by a few hundred dollars.  I don’t understand it.  Babies are small and don’t need furniture!

I’ve recently become obsessed with Owls.  I know that it is becoming a trendy nursery theme but I don’t care.  They are so cute and it all stemmed from this bedding:

Anyways – I’ve been scouring Etsy for some great nursery art and am completely overwhelmed by the fantastic selections.  I wish you could set up a registry on Etsy!

I stumbled across this Etsy shop and pretty much want to buy every print.

Like this one

And this one

But then I’m also in love with this print:

It manages to tie my love of French with a cute baby theme.  I realize these aren’t owls and that’s probably a good thing.

I also love this:

And being the dachshund lover that I am, I couldn’t resist this:

I am seriously overwhelmed.  I want to cover every square inch of the walls with cute prints!  We still haven’t even 100% determined the furniture or the layout. 

Anyways – I figured blogging out my new obsession might help to get it out of my system.  Are there any fantastic prints you want to share?

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

4 responses to “Blank canvas (How I Feel Completely Overwhelmed When it Comes to Decorating the Nursery)

  1. Love love love your choice for decor. We have white furniture in Toby’s room and I love how light and airy his room is. I want to hug you for painting your baby girl’s room blue… I also believe that pink is totally overdone. Don’t be surprised at the amount of pink you’re going to get as gifts. It’s like retailers/people are incapable of making something in another color for a girl!

    I’m no help with fighting Etsy addictions. I’m not going to post cute prints for you because you’ve obviously not needed help finding them ;) You’re now giving me an excuse to sew an owl pillow I’ve been wanting to make but have no use for!

  2. Kt

    Love the blue and white theme!

  3. If we were going to have a girl I was going to paint her room blue with white furniture! I love the way it looks.
    My bff has the Dwell Studio Owl bedding and it is so gorgeous.

    I can’t help you with the etsy love either..I could have easily dropped $600 on Wall art. I ended up making my own because I knew once I started I wouldn’t be able to stop.

    It’s not wall art but let me introduce you to Edna Mae Baby..
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/58996135/girl-baby-book-girl-modern-baby-memory
    $70 on a baby book..yeah I did that..but its SO gorgeous (and they have an owl theme..that’s what I got).

  4. I love the pink birdie print. And the nice thing about decorating for the Peanut is that it’s not like he can complain that it’s not “him”.

Leave a Reply

