My Accident Details

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that I was in a car accident on Friday.  And let me tell you how pissed off I am.  I’m pissed at myself.  I’m pissed at the situation.  And I’m sure as shit pissed at the other driver.

I haven’t been in a car accident in about 9 years.  You read that correctly.  I haven’t had a speeding ticket (outside of a speeding camera) in god knows how long.  I am a GOOD driver.  I even obey the hands-free law in Maryland (and let me tell you how many people I see on a daily basis that STILL talk on their cell phones in the car).

I’ve had my current car (2009 Honda Civic) for about a year and 3 months.  I had just gotten its 10k mile service done.  I just filled it with gas that day.

I had the day off of work and was hanging with my friend, Kt, that afternoon.  We decided to do dinner so I went back home to get Jeremy with the intent of then going back out to pick up a pizza and go back to Kt’s. 

It was a little after 6pm and traffic was backed up on my side of the road.  I live like 1/2 mile from Kt’s house but the main road to go back to my house tends to get backed up during rush hour.  I had noticed that there was NO traffic coming from the opposite direction.  I had also noticed a car parked at the bus stop for awhile (she had been stopped for several minutes).

As I got closer to the intersection where I needed to turn left, I noticed that the driver stopped at the bus stop had still not moved. 

Crime scene 1 (my car is the light blue one).

Like my sweet Paint skills?  Clearly I’m in the wrong profession.  I should be drawing crude digital images of crime scenes.

Once I got INTO the intersection, the light turned yellow.  And the other driver still had not moved.

At this point, it had taken a ridiculous amount of time to get to this point and it seemed clear to me that the other driver wasn’t moving.  I proceeded to turn left.

I was more than halfway through the damn intersection when I heard her GUN HER ENGINE.  I looked up and thought, “How does she not see me?!  Is she going to stop?!”

And she hit me.  She didn’t even BRAKE.  I was stunned.  My side airbag had deployed.  My thought is that she wasn’t paying attention to the road and that all she noticed was that the light had turned yellow so she went for it.

And for not traveling a far distance (and she couldn’t have been going faster than 10-15mph), this is the damage that was caused to my car:

I pulled over and she followed.  The first words out of her mouth were, “You ran a red light.”  Well, dumbass, if I ran the red light… SO DID YOU.  But I didn’t.  I pointed out that we both went for the yellow and that I thought she was stopped for good. 

She assured me that she was not injured and her Chevy Cobalt (it was a company car) – only had some damage to the bumper.  Both headlights were still intact and the woman swore she was fine. 

Jeremy insisted that we go to the hospital and I didn’t want to go.  I was STARVING.  He said he wouldn’t take me to get any food unless I at least called my doc’s after hours emergency line.  So I did.  I said, “My husband is making me call you but I was in a minor car accident.  I’m six months pregnant…”  I answered some questions regarding where I was hit and said there was no impact to my abdomen.  I still had to go to the labor & delivery triage.  BOO.

So we went and they monitored me.  When they first placed the heart thingamabob on my belly to check the baby, there was NOTHING.  And oh my f’n god I freaked.  I completely forgot about how my doc always has difficulty picking up the heartbeat because my little baby is apparently scared of soundwaves and moves AWAY from them as soon as she detects them.  All of that went out the window and all I could think was, “my impatience killed my baby”. 

The nurse called for a sonogram machine and assured me that she knew the baby was moving around in there (and btw – I hadn’t felt her move AT ALL).  As soon as they placed the wand on my belly – I saw baby girl and her strong heartbeat.  Thank you, jebus. 

So now I’m dealing with the bullshit of trying to get my car repaired.  And yes, while I am thankful that I am okay and REALLY thankful for the health of my baby – I’m still pissed.  Yes, cars are just material possessions that can be replaced but ARE YOU F’N KIDDING ME?  Ugh, this blow.

So I’ve spent the last few days in a foul mood just replaying all of the things I would have done differently that day to avoid that stupid accident.  I’m still driving my broken car to and from work (since I have no other option at the moment) and am in fear that my doors will fly open.  The latches are broken and my car is not registering that they’re shut.  Oh – and did you notice the large gaps into my car?   I duct taped them in the meantime but oy… what a frightening experience to drive to work. 

My car is getting its damage estimate tomorrow morning and I should be able to drop it off for repair.  I’m guessing that it’ll take roughly 3 weeks to repair my poor car. 

And while I don’t think I’m totally at fault for the accident – I know the woman is claiming that it was all my fault.  I’m worried about what this will do to my insurance rates!  They are awesome at the moment (and I even learned that I had some amazing good driver discount) and I really don’t want them to skyrocket. 

This isn’t my best blog post – and I’m not even sure I wrote clear sentences.  I’m just so mad!

10 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

10 responses to “My Accident Details

  1. Gah! Stupid woman! (Her, not you.)

  2. Gah. I hate people like that. I’m sorry dude. I’m glad you and the baby are ok. Sucks about your car though. I can’t even imagine. I just accidentally scraped the front bumper of my car with my garage door and I feel like the world is now coming to an end.

  3. So glad you’re ok!

    What a piece of crap driver she is. I’m pissed on your behalf. I hate idiot drivers.

  4. Meredith

    How were her first words not ‘OMG you’re pregnant’ and be concerned about your well being rather than immediately placing the blame? My parents were in an accident when my mother was 8 months pregnant with me and the kid who hit them was in total fear when he saw my preggo Mom get out of the car!

    Glad you and the peanut are okay though…that’s the most important thing!!

  5. Holy fucking ass crackers! What a bitch! She was stopped and suddenly gunned it; her fault. (Also, I totally would have pulled out the Pregnant Card for some sympathy.)

  6. I hate when they do that! When they automatically start explaining how this is all YOUR fault because they’re so scared of what will happen when really it was theirs.

    When I was in an accident last summer that was technically my fault, I apologized to the other driver and I admitted what happened to the police. And I walked away without a ticket – honesty works!

  7. Stupid accidents. Don’t beat yourself up. (She sounds like a psychopath.) Everything will get fixed and thank the jebus you and the baby are OK.

    HOWEVER, when I was in my huge-ass accident in January and the Frito Lay guy totaled my car, which was THREE MONTHS from being paid OFF…well, clearly I’m still pissed. So I feel you. I would be mad too. I still am!

    But you’re pregnant! Happy times, only happy times for happy baby! ;)

  8. Did you happen to get any witnesses that saw the whole thing? Given the central location of damage, she should be held at fault. If she had hit you up front by your tire, then it would come across as your fault. If you have witnesses, they help a lot!

  9. Quinn

    You poor thing! I know exactly how you feel – and I know how frustrating it is. Just keep remembering that you and baby are okay and that at the end of the day, there are just dumb people in this world.

  10. Oh no!

    Have you talked to your insurance yet? I hope they don’t find you at fault. I’m glad you went to the doctor – I think that’s pretty important when you’re pregnant!

Leave a Reply

