Still No Baby

I realize that long absences from blogging may make some people think that I’ve had the baby. Sadly, that is not the case.

Although I haven’t hit my due date (February 7th) – the countdown is definitely on. And I am now in operation natural induction right now.

I had my 39 week appointment with my OB/GYN on Monday and she noted that I am still only 1 cm dilated. This really isn’t that big of a deal since women can not be dilated until the day they deliver. But it is nice to know that my body is at least somewhat prepping for birth. I’m also 25% effaced (I don’t know if this is a good or bad number at this point) but that my cervix is still “firm”. It was not soft enough to chat about induction just yet.

Now here’s where I worry (oh who am I kidding – I worry about everything medically related). I had a LEEP procedure performed a little over 6 years ago. This means that I’ve had some of my cervical tissue removed. How this complicates things is that my OB isn’t sure if my cervix is firm from scar tissue.

My OB said plenty of women are able to deliver vaginally after a LEEP and that oftentimes, this will break up the scar tissue. However, there are also instances where the scar tissue prevents a woman’s cervix from dilating and they need a c-section.

So now I’m in fear of a c-section. It is always a possibility but for me, I fear that it is a bigger possibility. My OB said my best chance at avoiding a c-section is going into labor naturally but that she doesn’t want me to go beyond 41 weeks pregnant. So that means that if I haven’t gone into labor on the 7th, I’ll be talking induction with her. And I really really don’t want that. (and yes, I am perfectly aware of the many successful births that were induced. I’m not judging YOU if you were induced but this is something that I don’t want. I’m kind of crazy when it comes to chemicals… just ask my husband. Plus hearing that it increases my chance for a c-section scares the pants off of me.)

I bumped up my chiropractor appointment yesterday in hopes of having her induce me via acupressure. She did some accupressure and also handed me a print-out of some natural induction methods. She said she couldn’t condone the enema or any of the herbal remedies but suggested I try most of the other items. She also suggested sitting on an exercise ball and bouncing around a bit (but nothing crazy). She said that this motion helps to put pressure on my cervix from the babies head bouncing down. I’ll try ANYTHING.

And I have.

Eating pineapples like its my job? Check.
Primrose Oil? Check.
Walking? Check.
Naughty stuff? Check.
Raspberry Leaf Tea? Check.

I’ve been feeling a bit crampy all day (all over crampy, ab tightness and it feels like perhaps they’re sore from doing 1000 crunches). I wonder if this is in my head but I really really want to go into labor naturally.

COME ON BABY! What are you waiting for?

Any recommendations for inducing labor?

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

7 responses to “Still No Baby

  1. From what I hear, most labor induction things will only work when your body is pretty much ready to go into labor anyway (softened cervix being part of it). I would ask why she wants you to be induced at 41 weeks, if it gets to that point. Most women can safely go to 42 weeks (and some beyond, although the numbers get a little more drastic after that point). Also, you do not have to get induced if you don’t want to. You can just tell them you aren’t going to do it. They aren’t going to come to your house and force you. ;-)
    All that being said, I would keep up with the naughty stuff, because I hear that works best. Also, lots and lots of walking. Both things you are already doing, I know. Sorry I’m not more help! Hopefully the way you are feeling is an indication that things are moving along, and you won’t need to worry about it for much longer!
    Good luck!

  2. Definitely naughty things. Go for it.

  3. According to Teen Mom, driving your hoopty over speed bumps at 30 mph helps. They’re the experts, right?

  4. Definitely keep up with the naughty stuff. It can’t hurt, right? And it’ll be a while. At least that’s what I was told.

  5. I agree with Becky – but you already know how I feel about being induced at 41 weeks. And I agree that really these things might help prep things for labor, but seriously it’s just up to your baby and body.

    And I’m hoping for Feb 6th – that is Luca’s 6th month bday and I would love for the girls to have a day to celebrate together!

  6. Eggplant Parmesan! Ok this is a wives tale but it’s good.

  7. I’m pretty sure this whole time I thought your due date was Feb 17. And so your guessing game thing, my guess was Feb 10. I thought I was being generous, a week early and all. But turns out I guessed you’d go late, and for that I apologize! I hope I don’t win the game and I hope you have this baby soon. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

