Some Additional Thoughts on the Birth

After chatting about my birth story with some people, I realized I forgot to mention a few things from the birth that made me laugh. Seriously, labor & delivery were much easier than I expected.

Apparently when I pooped on the table, I looked at Jeremy and grunted, “I farted” mid-push. I have no recollection of saying this but it was apparent that the fart was a poop.

The OB/gyn declared that the umbilical cord was wrapped around the baby’s neck twice. That was not funny but the doc quickly pulled an Edward Scissorhands and cut the cord. What WAS funny was the OB/gyn telling me that I had a really long umbilical cord and then demonstrating this by holding the cord in both hands with his arms completely stretched out. It was kind of gross and strange. Jeremy said that not only was the cord wrapped around baby girl’s neck, but that her entire body was wrapped in the cord. She was apparently doing somersaults in my womb.

After baby girl was born, I quickly pushed out the placenta. It was like giving birth to a jellyfish. It wasn’t painful, just very very weird. The OB/gyn asked if we wanted to see it and before we had a chance to say, “no thanks”, he held it up. I responded, “that’s disgusting” because it was. It looked like a bloody jellyfish. I don’t understand people that save their placentas…

Lastly, I completely forgot to give baby girl’s birth stats. She was born February 5th at 11:11 am weighing 8 lbs 6 oz and was 21 inches long. My mom’s reaction? “Whoa – that’s a big baby.”

11 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

11 responses to “Some Additional Thoughts on the Birth

  1. 11:11! Your wish came true. :)

  2. Debra always says, “It’s 11:11, make a wish!”

  3. Heather

    I am loving this birthing stories. Thanks for being real. I hope you are enjoying your new life with baby :)

  4. Sarah

    Weird…exactly the same birth weight and length as my little guy!

  5. I want you to know that the “pop” from the epidural is still haunting me. Your girl is adorable – congratulations again!

  6. Dude, some people plant their placentas or take it home to make soup. NASTYYYYYY!

  7. Your daughter is adorable! Also, thanks for sharing your birth story. I always find it interesting to read about other people’s experiences. I’m glad yours was a good one!

  8. Quinn

    Wow – Charlotte’s a full pound less and I thought that was huge! I feel like I could co-author a book with you – you the V-side of deliver and me the C-side. I think the main theme for all pregnancies is how you lose all modesty you may possess. Never in my life did I think I would be ok with G seeing me in a pad and disposable mesh underwear, but how quickly a baby changes all that…

    So fun reading all your stories! Seriously – we need a baby’s day out in a couple weeks to swap tales.

  9. WHOA. I have never had a baby and all of that sounds like quite the adventure. I am glad it was a fairly easy delivery for you, but you are in shape and I totally expected you to be fine. :) I love that Baby Girl is an 11:11 baby; so sweet.

  10. Found you via Swistle… Just wanted to add (I work as a doula and teach child birth classes) that babies with really long cords usually have them wrapped around their necks/bodies. This is for their own good and for their own safety as a cord wrapped around the neck is no biggie, but a long cord that comes down before baby and gets pinned between baby’s head and the pubic born is very scary and life threatening. So your smart smart girl wrapped herself up as a precaution! The more you know!

    She looks amazing. Way to go.

  11. 1) Not only do some people save the placentas, but some of them also eat them. Mull that one over.

    2) Who won the baby birth pool? Because I’m pretty sure you all owe me money.

Leave a Reply

